Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,614 Members 44,065 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Help with apn settings on ATT

Tip us?
 
mattalter
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 75
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Help with apn settings on ATT

I have gone though all the posts that I can find about the right apn setting for a GN on ATT.

I have tried the following.

1. The default, Cingular 410. This gets me somewhat connected. I connect, but pings are way hight and speed is 1 MB down and if I am luck 500 Kb up.

2. I have tried pta / phone. Seems to connect but I can not get online.

I went to a ATT store and had them make sure I was provisioned for a HSDPA+ plan, with I think is the smartphone plan.

This sim came from a Vivid. So it was provisioned for LTE.

Any suggestions on what steps I need to take to get a reliable connection on my GN. Dam I like this phone, but bringing an unlocked phone to ATT is a pain...

Thanks
Matt
What phone I have had in the last few months, most recent first

Galaxy Nexus
HTC Vivid
Atirx 2
Iphone 4S
Iphone 4 with iOS5
Samsung Focus
Evo rooted
3GS with OS4
Pre
 
RogerPodacter
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 396
Posts: 5,578
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
You shouldnt have to setup anything. I popped in my att sim and all apn was automatically entered. Its a 5 year old sim.

What did you change?
Past projects
Github
My N1 Battery Project

Phone: Nexus 5
ROM: stock rooted
Recovery: CWM Touch
 
AbeMIH
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 19
Join Date: Sep 2011
My AT&T SGS2 (my Galaxy Nexus is T-Mobile) wasn't connecting to data although it had the correct APNs.

I called them and it turned out they needed to switch over the data plan to a "4G smartphone data plan" on their end (from a BlackBerry data plan that it had before). Your issue may be that you are still on the LTE plan. For the Galaxy Nexus, the correct plan would most likely be the 4G smartphone plan.

The APNs that I have on the SGS2:

Name: ATT PHONE
APN: Phone
MCC: 310
MNC: 410
APN type: internet

everything else is <Not set>

then I have a 2nd APN (which I guess is needed for MMS)

Name: ATT WAP
APN: wap.cingular
Proxy: wireless.cingular.com
Port: 80
MMSC: http://mmsc.cingular.com
MMS proxy: wireless.cingular.com
MMS port: 80
MCC: 310
MNC: 410
APN type: mms,supl

everything else is <Not set>

I have the ATT PHONE APN selected and everything works (including sending and receiving MMS) just fine.

Hope this helps
 
mattalter
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 75
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
No go.

I went to ATT and had them put me on a LTE plan.

Still no data.

I added variations of the pta apn and it alway reverts back to the cingular apn.



Quote:
Originally Posted by AbeMIH View Post
My AT&T SGS2 (my Galaxy Nexus is T-Mobile) wasn't connecting to data although it had the correct APNs.

I called them and it turned out they needed to switch over the data plan to a "4G smartphone data plan" on their end (from a BlackBerry data plan that it had before). Your issue may be that you are still on the LTE plan. For the Galaxy Nexus, the correct plan would most likely be the 4G smartphone plan.

The APNs that I have on the SGS2:

Name: ATT PHONE
APN: Phone
MCC: 310
MNC: 410
APN type: internet

everything else is <Not set>

then I have a 2nd APN (which I guess is needed for MMS)

Name: ATT WAP
APN: wap.cingular
Proxy: wireless.cingular.com
Port: 80
MMSC: http://mmsc.cingular.com
MMS proxy: wireless.cingular.com
MMS port: 80
MCC: 310
MNC: 410
APN type: mms,supl

everything else is <Not set>

I have the ATT PHONE APN selected and everything works (including sending and receiving MMS) just fine.

Hope this helps
What phone I have had in the last few months, most recent first

Galaxy Nexus
HTC Vivid
Atirx 2
Iphone 4S
Iphone 4 with iOS5
Samsung Focus
Evo rooted
3GS with OS4
Pre
 
jroyalty7
Old
#5  
jroyalty7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 382
Posts: 891
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Buffalo
From what I understand you do not want to be on a LTE plan as Gnex is not an LTE activated phone, this can cause spotty or zero coverage for data.
Make sure your on 4g smartphone data plan, maybe try a new sim card and then pop in these settings:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/arch...t-1149523.html
You should be good to then!
PS:
You only need the phone and mms apns!
Current Set-up:
Phone: AT&T SGS IV
Rom: Nottach Mint Jelly
Kernel: Ktoon TW JB 4.2.2
Baseband: I337UAMDL
Theme: Xposed Mod
Phones that came, flashed, and gone:
HTC Touch Pro, HTC Touch Pro 2, HTC HD7, LG G2X, SGSII, Motorola Atrix, Gnex, SGSIII, HTC One

If I get a million thanks my wife says I can have any phone I want! Hit thanks if you have a heart
 
AbeMIH
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 19
Join Date: Sep 2011
That's right, the GSM Galaxy Nexus doesn't have LTE. I'm certain changing the data plan to the 4G smartphone plan (non-LTE) will fix OP's issue.
 
mattalter
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 75
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
ATT won't put me on a 4g plan. They say the nexus is not reconized on the system and it defaults to a 3g plan.

They can not override it.

There only solution is for me to get another 4g phone that is att branded. Get 4g plan put on my account and then move that sim..

Dam, this sucks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AbeMIH View Post
That's right, the GSM Galaxy Nexus doesn't have LTE. I'm certain changing the data plan to the 4G smartphone plan (non-LTE) will fix OP's issue.
What phone I have had in the last few months, most recent first

Galaxy Nexus
HTC Vivid
Atirx 2
Iphone 4S
Iphone 4 with iOS5
Samsung Focus
Evo rooted
3GS with OS4
Pre
 
jroyalty7
Old
(Last edited by jroyalty7; 14th March 2012 at 09:29 PM.)
#8  
jroyalty7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 382
Posts: 891
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Buffalo
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattalter View Post
ATT won't put me on a 4g plan. They say the nexus is not reconized on the system and it defaults to a 3g plan.

They can not override it.

There only solution is for me to get another 4g phone that is att branded. Get 4g plan put on my account and then move that sim..

Dam, this sucks.
there's a whole thread about this but I'm mobile and can't search for it... title was something like here's how I got 4g on att us... google it! I read it called yesterday fought with them for an hour went to level 2 tech support finally got them to activate a matrix on my account by an imei I found on the internet *shhhhh they don't know that and had them reactivate my nexus. I gotta be honest though it did nothing for my speeds :/ but my plan is now data pro 2gigabytes for 4g smart phones!


Edit:
Found it
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2#post20055732
Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
Current Set-up:
Phone: AT&T SGS IV
Rom: Nottach Mint Jelly
Kernel: Ktoon TW JB 4.2.2
Baseband: I337UAMDL
Theme: Xposed Mod
Phones that came, flashed, and gone:
HTC Touch Pro, HTC Touch Pro 2, HTC HD7, LG G2X, SGSII, Motorola Atrix, Gnex, SGSIII, HTC One

If I get a million thanks my wife says I can have any phone I want! Hit thanks if you have a heart
 
mattalter
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 75
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
Default What worked kinda

http://gdgt.com/discuss/how-i-was-fi...axy-nexus-i8z/

I am now able to the 4g apn. But still very, very slow..
What phone I have had in the last few months, most recent first

Galaxy Nexus
HTC Vivid
Atirx 2
Iphone 4S
Iphone 4 with iOS5
Samsung Focus
Evo rooted
3GS with OS4
Pre
 
jroyalty7
Old
#10  
jroyalty7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 382
Posts: 891
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Buffalo
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattalter View Post
http://gdgt.com/discuss/how-i-was-fi...axy-nexus-i8z/

I am now able to the 4g apn. But still very, very slow..
Yep same issue for me my speeds have not changed... kinda pisses me off :banghead:
I've tried many apns and nothing gives me these double and triple speeds!!! I also have a 4g sin card but might try a new one just for the hell of it!

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
Current Set-up:
Phone: AT&T SGS IV
Rom: Nottach Mint Jelly
Kernel: Ktoon TW JB 4.2.2
Baseband: I337UAMDL
Theme: Xposed Mod
Phones that came, flashed, and gone:
HTC Touch Pro, HTC Touch Pro 2, HTC HD7, LG G2X, SGSII, Motorola Atrix, Gnex, SGSIII, HTC One

If I get a million thanks my wife says I can have any phone I want! Hit thanks if you have a heart

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes