5,605,438 Members 44,070 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Help!!! Panicked. Stuck at boot loop. May have bricked my phone?

Tip us?
 
muasxees
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 136
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Default [Q] Help!!! Panicked. Stuck at boot loop. May have bricked my phone?

Hi, I am new to the forum. And very new to rooting phone. And due to my lack of knowledge, here's the problem that I have as a result:

I have an UNFLASHABLE GSM unlocked galaxy nexus gt-i9250. Had it successfully rooted two days after I had it 3 weeks ago. I have flashed MIUI via CWM premium edition and it worked fine. I recently flashed AOKP Build 32 with the latest Leankernel baseband xx66 and have been running it fine for 4 days until now.

I just flashed [Amoled BLUE 2.2 for AOKP build 32] and stuck on boot loop for 2 hours now.

I made NANDROID of my rooted stock, but the problem is that I DID NOT have it saved on my Galaxy Nexus. What to do??? Please help.
 
Jubakuba
Old
(Last edited by Jubakuba; 21st April 2012 at 01:47 AM.)
#2  
Jubakuba's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3347
Posts: 2,062
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pueblo, Colorado

 
DONATE TO ME
You're fine buddy.

Boot into CWM...
(Power phone off by pulling battery. Power on with power+volume up+volume down)
Select the recovery option.

Wipe data (factory reset)
Flash ANY rom.

You'll boot right up.


Now move your nandroid to your phone and restore.

Edit:
Oh, and check my sig.
The second and third posts may be useful to you.
The Following User Says Thank You to Jubakuba For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
muasxees
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 136
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Thanks. I did everything you mentioned and still stuck in the AMOLED Blue theme anime boot loop.

So, another question that arises is how do I flash rom when I can't get past the boot loop with no NANDROID or backups stored in my Nexus?
 
Jubakuba
Old
#4  
Jubakuba's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3347
Posts: 2,062
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pueblo, Colorado

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by muasxees View Post
Thanks. I did everything you mentioned and still stuck in the AMOLED Blue theme anime boot loop.

So, another question that arises is how do I flash rom when I can't get past the boot loop with no NANDROID or backups stored in my Nexus?
You didn't do what I mentioned if you're asking how to flash the rom.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jubakuba View Post
Download the rom you'd like to try on your device.
Most roms also require you to install "gapps" as well.
You can find the correct ones for the rom you're using in the rom thread.
Make sure the Rom and Gapps are on your SD card.
Boot into ClockworkMod Recovery by turning your device completely off. Hold volume up, volume down, and power until the green Android with the open chest is displayed. Navigate to "Recovery Mode" with the volume buttons and select using the power button.
Remember to have a recent nandroid before continuing!
Navigate to "wipe data/factory reset" and select it. Select "yes."
Wait for the process to complete. This may take some time. Be patient!
Once complete: Navigate to "Install Zip from SD card" and "Choose zip from SD card."
Find the rom's .zip and install it. Once that completes install any applicable gapps' .zip.
Select the "Reboot" option.
Congratulations! Your phone should now boot into the custom rom!
Follow the prompts to re-activate your phone.
This post may help as well...
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...78&postcount=3
It describes getting your files transferred to your phone.
But if you have a rom .zip on there you don't need this.
 
muasxees
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 136
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Twin Cities, MN
I didn't asked for how to flash a rom. I asked how to bypass the boot loop. Argh...

Okay, I flashed Amoled blue for AOKP build 32. I get stuck on boot loop anime after flashing it via CWM. Yes, I did a cavlik cache wipe before the flash.

But I'm stuck on boot loop, why?
 
Jubakuba
Old
(Last edited by Jubakuba; 21st April 2012 at 04:10 AM.)
#6  
Jubakuba's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3347
Posts: 2,062
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pueblo, Colorado

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by muasxees View Post
I didn't asked for how to flash a rom. I asked how to bypass the boot loop. Argh...

Okay, I flashed Amoled blue for AOKP build 32. I get stuck on boot loop anime after flashing it via CWM. Yes, I did a cavlik cache wipe before the flash.

But I'm stuck on boot loop, why?
And I'm telling you how, mate.
Don't flash the theme.
Flash a ROM.
The theme isn't a full system...which is what you need.
And you need to wipe data.


Edit:
I'll take it by your lack of response that this fixed it.
You're welcome.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jubakuba For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
killyouridols
Old
#7  
killyouridols's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 117
Posts: 548
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Essex
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jubakuba View Post
And I'm telling you how, mate.
Don't flash the theme.
Flash a ROM.
The theme isn't a full system...which is what you need.
And you need to wipe data.


Edit:
I'll take it by your lack of response that this fixed it.
You're welcome.
I've added a thanks as the op may have missed it

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrynalyne View Post
As rooted users we have additional options.

Stock users are going to get backdoored without vaseline.
Phone: Samsung S4 GT-i9505
ROM : *6.4.2014* Samy Deluxe S4 ROM Galaxy S5 G by mrmad
Kernel: Jeboo Kernel V3


Wanna Donate? Tough, I dont have Paypal set-up and have done sod all TBH. Donate to one of the communties excellent Devs instead, make sure all the hard work is rewarded.
 
muasxees
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 136
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Twin Cities, MN
My phone is back to running Stock Android 4.0.4 ICS via Odin.
 
randpost
Old
#9  
randpost's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 225
Posts: 689
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Phoenix
Quote:
Originally Posted by killyouridols View Post
I've added a thanks as the op may have missed it

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA
Added a second thanks.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android App Review: Auto Config Free – XDA Developer TV

In this weeks episode of XDA Xposed Tuesday, we talked about customization of … more

Cloupload is a Beautiful and Fully Functional CloudApp Client for Android

If you’re a Mac OS X user who frequently uploads screenshots, … more

Microsoft Finally Brings Remote Desktop to Windows Phone

You may recall that back in October of last year, Microsoft released itsofficial … more

SideControl Gains New Powers through Xposed

You may recall that a little overa month ago, we first talked about SideCutsby XDA Forum … more