5,604,730 Members 31,732 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to bypass Vodafone Romania block of Viber application?

Tip us?
 
Vladuu
Old
(Last edited by Vladuu; 10th July 2012 at 05:03 PM.)
#1  
Vladuu's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 71
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default [Q] How to bypass Vodafone Romania block of Viber application?

Hello.

I'm from Romania and i'm a subscriber of Vodafone Romania.

Viber works fine on my phone on every wifi I connected to, but when I activate the Mobile Internet it says that it is "currently unavailable and/or blocked". It seems that VIBER is blocked by Vodafone Romania and the only way I can use it with their Mobile Internet Service is to pay a tax of 3.13 Euros (3.8 dollars). In my opinion the fee for this service is abuzive and restrains the rights of its users.

From what I know Viber uses certain ports so it can make those VOIP calls and those are blocked by Vodafone.

My question is simple and I hope that some users from Romania and from other countries that are on Vodafone and have their Viber blocked can help with some tips and tricks on how to bypass the block.

Please refrain from answering to the question above with answers like "Change your carrier", "Use other VOIP apps instead", etc.

Let's hope we can find a way to deal with this problem,
Thank you.
DEVICE HISTORY
Nokia 2700 Classic | Sidekick LX 2009 | Nokia E61i | BlackBerry Bold 9000 | HTC Wildfire | HTC Desire S | Motorola Defy | Sony-Ericsson Xperia PLAY | HTC EVO 3D | Samsung Galaxy Nexus | HTC ONE X | Nokia Lumia 520

DragonBall Z HD Wallpapers for Samsung Galaxy Nexus
 
Gunthy`
Old
#2  
Gunthy`'s Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 84
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brussels
Default SSH tunnel

My carrier also blocks VOIP like Skype & others, and the only real way I've found to get around this is to tunnel the traffic through a VPN or an SSH tunnel.

Personally I'm using the SSHTunnel app to do this. Basically you set it up to connect to a server where you have a shell account. The app then allows you to select the apps you want to tunnel their traffic.

Of course the SSH daemon on the server needs to allow forwarding of traffic and you need a good connection on both your phone & on the server end for this to work properly without call quality degradation.
Galaxy Nexus
Bootloader: Unlocked
Recovery: ClockworkMod Touch
ROM: bigxie JB 4.1.1 JRO03C
Kernel: 3.0.31-Franco.kernel-nightly-217
________________________________

Motorola Xoom
Bootloader: Unlocked
Recovery: ClockworkMod
ROM: AOKP Milestone 5
Kernel: Stock
 
Vladuu
Old
#3  
Vladuu's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 71
Join Date: Feb 2011
Thanks for the reply, Gunthy` but unfortunately I don't own a server and I think it would cost more to buy one then to pay for the fee that Vodafone charges.
DEVICE HISTORY
Nokia 2700 Classic | Sidekick LX 2009 | Nokia E61i | BlackBerry Bold 9000 | HTC Wildfire | HTC Desire S | Motorola Defy | Sony-Ericsson Xperia PLAY | HTC EVO 3D | Samsung Galaxy Nexus | HTC ONE X | Nokia Lumia 520

DragonBall Z HD Wallpapers for Samsung Galaxy Nexus
 
Gunthy`
Old
#4  
Gunthy`'s Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 84
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brussels
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladuu View Post
Thanks for the reply, Gunthy` but unfortunately I don't own a server and I think it would cost more to buy one then to pay for the fee that Vodafone charges.
Yeah you're right there, although a good VPS doesn't have to cost a lot more than that. Also you can do more than just tunneling with something like that of course, so you get more value for your money.

If you have a good internet connection at home you could also use your own PC to set up the tunnel, you don't need to invest in renting a machine. Mind telling me what provider & plan you're on for your home connection? I'm quite familiar with Romanian providers so I could tell you if your current plan will allow that. Basically it mostly will depend on your upload speed. Naturally your PC needs to be up to the task as well...
 
Vladuu
Old
#5  
Vladuu's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 71
Join Date: Feb 2011
Well i have dual-care 2Ghz Windows 7 laptop at home and a 11MB/s download and 1MB/s upload connection from RDS.
Do you know how could i configure my computer tu use it as you said?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
DEVICE HISTORY
Nokia 2700 Classic | Sidekick LX 2009 | Nokia E61i | BlackBerry Bold 9000 | HTC Wildfire | HTC Desire S | Motorola Defy | Sony-Ericsson Xperia PLAY | HTC EVO 3D | Samsung Galaxy Nexus | HTC ONE X | Nokia Lumia 520

DragonBall Z HD Wallpapers for Samsung Galaxy Nexus
 
Gunthy`
Old
#6  
Gunthy`'s Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 84
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brussels
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladuu View Post
Well i have dual-care 2Ghz Windows 7 laptop at home and a 11MB/s download and 1MB/s upload connection from RDS.
Do you know how could i configure my computer tu use it as you said?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
Both your PC & your connection seem largely sufficient to do this. How exactly to set it up on Windows is something I'm not sure about (always done this with Linux ), but there is a an OpenSSH build for Windows, so you should be able to use that. Make sure you turn on port forwarding in the settings of the daemon, and forward the incoming SSH port on your router. SSH defaults to 22, but RDS might block that, so up it to something above port 1024 and it should work. Check out this guide, it seems pretty complete on first glance .
 
Vladuu
Old
#7  
Vladuu's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 71
Join Date: Feb 2011
Thanks for the useful info. I think it's a good ideea to use your personal computer in order to bypass the block. I will try this tomorrow and report back here on how it goes.

In the meantime, if someone else has some other tips please post them here.
DEVICE HISTORY
Nokia 2700 Classic | Sidekick LX 2009 | Nokia E61i | BlackBerry Bold 9000 | HTC Wildfire | HTC Desire S | Motorola Defy | Sony-Ericsson Xperia PLAY | HTC EVO 3D | Samsung Galaxy Nexus | HTC ONE X | Nokia Lumia 520

DragonBall Z HD Wallpapers for Samsung Galaxy Nexus
 
Viber Team
Old
#8  
Viber Team's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 514
Posts: 1,327
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Viber

Hi,

This is a member of the Viber R&D Team!


We have received various similar complaints from Viber users in your area of the world, and we have investigated this issue. It seems that the outgoing access to Viber and VoIP applications may have been blocked by your specific service provider [generally, this block is only on basic package plans].

Please check with your carrier, Viber will not be able to bypass your carrier's network blockage. It is in your carrier’s or country's decision which applications they wish to allow or block network connections to.

If you have any question about Viber - please feel free to ask.
Viber Team
An official representative of Viber Media (Viber app.)
 
Vladuu
Old
#9  
Vladuu's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 71
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viber Team View Post
Hi,

This is a member of the Viber R&D Team!


We have received various similar complaints from Viber users in your area of the world, and we have investigated this issue. It seems that the outgoing access to Viber and VoIP applications may have been blocked by your specific service provider [generally, this block is only on basic package plans].

Please check with your carrier, Viber will not be able to bypass your carrier's network blockage. It is in your carrier’s or country's decision which applications they wish to allow or block network connections to.

If you have any question about Viber - please feel free to ask.
Viber Team
Thank you for the answer and sorry for the very late answer.

Unfortunately the carrier (Vodafone) still doesn't want to open the ports for Viber, so I decided to ask for help from our national Consumer Protection Agency, because when I signed the contract with Vodafone they didn't tell me that the internet option I choosed doesn't offer me full access to the internet because some ports are blocked and I will need to pay extra if I would want to use them.

I wil update this thread when i have some moar news.

Oh, and if anybody has other ideas on how to bypass blocks like this please post them here.

Thank you.
DEVICE HISTORY
Nokia 2700 Classic | Sidekick LX 2009 | Nokia E61i | BlackBerry Bold 9000 | HTC Wildfire | HTC Desire S | Motorola Defy | Sony-Ericsson Xperia PLAY | HTC EVO 3D | Samsung Galaxy Nexus | HTC ONE X | Nokia Lumia 520

DragonBall Z HD Wallpapers for Samsung Galaxy Nexus
 
Viber Team
Old
#10  
Viber Team's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 514
Posts: 1,327
Join Date: Feb 2011
@Vladuu -
It is our pleasure to be here and assist.
We'll be waiting for news from you, and we hope those will be good news
An official representative of Viber Media (Viber app.)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes