Post Reply

Losing GPS signal while navigating

25th May 2014, 07:27 PM   |  #1  
TopTomy's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Hi,

I have a strange issue with my Gnex.
I used to run CM11 nightlies on my device, but I noticed that the device loses GPS signal while navigating (using Waze for example) and then it takes like 3-4 more minutes (if at all) to recover the signal.

So to test it, I flashed stock back (rom, recovery, kernel).
but I still have this issue. I cannot navigate 5 minutes straight without losing the GPS signal.
I tried to run GPSFix, but it didn't really help.

Any idea/suggestions what can I do?
thanks guys!
27th May 2014, 05:09 AM   |  #2  
klobkelosh's Avatar
Senior Member
Phx, AZ
Thanks Meter: 412
 
1,281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopTomy

Hi,

I have a strange issue with my Gnex.
I used to run CM11 nightlies on my device, but I noticed that the device loses GPS signal while navigating (using Waze for example) and then it takes like 3-4 more minutes (if at all) to recover the signal.

So to test it, I flashed stock back (rom, recovery, kernel).
but I still have this issue. I cannot navigate 5 minutes straight without losing the GPS signal.
I tried to run GPSFix, but it didn't really help.

Any idea/suggestions what can I do?
thanks guys!

Is your device activated on a cell network? Gnex by default has assisted gps, so it needs a data connection to establish a fix. What you describe could happen as you leave Wi-Fi, have no signal, and it takes 3-4 minutes to grab the gps ephemeris data from satellites. Just a guess.

If this isn't your problem, have you tried using GPS status and toolbox app to Resetand redownload agps data?
28th May 2014, 06:50 AM   |  #3  
TopTomy's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by klobkelosh

Is your device activated on a cell network? Gnex by default has assisted gps, so it needs a data connection to establish a fix. What you describe could happen as you leave Wi-Fi, have no signal, and it takes 3-4 minutes to grab the gps ephemeris data from satellites. Just a guess.

If this isn't your problem, have you tried using GPS status and toolbox app to Resetand redownload agps data?

Hey, thx for the reply.
Yes, I have a 3G connection and WIFI turned off.
I tried the toolbox, used it to reset data etc - but it didn't help
29th May 2014, 07:55 PM   |  #4  
klobkelosh's Avatar
Senior Member
Phx, AZ
Thanks Meter: 412
 
1,281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Well, the only way to truly know would be to flash a stock image and see if that works. If it doesn't, then you have a hardware problem.
9th June 2014, 02:20 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Give GPS Test a go (search on Play store, I can't put external links here, it's the one from Chartcross Limited). It helped me a lot some time ago when I had your same problem.
Last edited by klingklang76; 9th June 2014 at 02:40 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes