FORUMS

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

Download Sony’s new AOSP-like concept for Xperia Z3

Over in our forums, Recognized Contributor Jozinek has posted a very … more

OnePlus 2 vs Moto X Style: Which is The Better Flagship?

Two big industry names have announced their newest flagship phones within the … more

Making Your Own Xposed Modules Is Easier Than You Think

Close to the heart of XDA is the Xposed Framework by Rovo89. Most of … more

Network / IMEI Problem

568 posts
Thanks Meter: 51
 
By thiagodark, Senior Member on 29th April 2012, 09:37 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
hi guys, i have a gsm gnex and everything was just fine until last week when i reboot my phone and it came back with no signal i tried several reboots with no luck, so i made a factory reset and still no fix at all... and then i saw that IMEI and Baseband was shown as "unknown" in status. Like image below.



So i was reading a thread in HTC Sensation forum and someone said that removing the battery and waiting like 20 minutes solve the problem for him... i tried and yes, everything was back, my imei, baseband, etc... BUT, the problem was not fixed.

- i can't reboot or shutdown the phone, if so, it uses to turn on with unknown imei, unknown baseband, etc (sometimes it turns on okay, with everything there, i don't know why, it's just random), but if i wait, it magically appears and i get my signal back or i could do what use to be faster: let the phone off for five minutes and turn it on, and then it comes with my imei, my baseband... all okay!

- i also need to disable 3G network because it drops my signal, what makes me need to turn off the phone, or just wait the signal magically come back again......


i tried to change radio, rom, back to stock, restore nandroid backup that i made in the day one after root the phone, etc...

anyone ever seen anything like this? in any devide?

i would appreciate any help...
Last edited by thiagodark; 21st May 2012 at 01:58 PM.
 
 
29th April 2012, 10:05 PM |#2  
JUSMEJOSE's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 229
 
More
I can help you restore your original imei but I have to have your phone with me

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA
30th April 2012, 12:20 AM |#3  
thiagodark's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Old City-ES
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
i don't believe i need to restore the imei, because after some reboots and sometime with my battery pulled off, the imei just come back like magic. Like the screenshot i took right now:

30th April 2012, 12:27 AM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Oh lord, you'd better hope I don't get the bright idea to drunk dial tonight. My Portuguese is even worse than my Spanish.
30th April 2012, 12:30 AM |#5  
CMNein's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 1,489
 
More
I'd probably go ahead and b/u your IMEI just in case.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ht=restore+efs
Last edited by CMNein; 8th May 2012 at 09:25 PM.
30th April 2012, 12:37 AM |#6  
thiagodark's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Old City-ES
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bloodydamnhell

Oh lord, you'd better hope I don't get the bright idea to drunk dial tonight. My Portuguese is even worse than my Spanish.


just forgot... hope you have not saved the original image! =o)
30th April 2012, 12:39 AM |#7  
thiagodark's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Old City-ES
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMNein

I'd probably go ahead and b/u your EFS just in case.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ht=restore+efs

i did.... following this thread and using this app: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1510906

just in case!
30th April 2012, 07:54 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Which ROM did you flash? ...generally your issue occurs when a CDMA ROM is flashed onto a GSM Nexus.
1st May 2012, 09:54 PM |#9  
thiagodark's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Old City-ES
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by theSpam

Which ROM did you flash? ...generally your issue occurs when a CDMA ROM is flashed onto a GSM Nexus.

No, never flashed a cdma rom, in fact i was "stock" when problem began... =o/ i had manually updated to 4.0.4 by downloading stock rom on google source...

I flashed several roms after problem begins and now i'm on aokp, Build 34...
Last edited by thiagodark; 1st May 2012 at 10:25 PM.
8th May 2012, 01:15 PM |#10  
thiagodark's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Old City-ES
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
well, after several research i figured out the problem is well known by galaxy sII users, like described in this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1261948

my problem is exact the same, i can even do the temporary fix proposed there

but solution there doesnt seems to work on gnex... does anyone know a way to 'adjust' it? since gnex doesn't have efs folder...

thanks!

actually, the question is, can i use these codes replacing "/efs" with "/factory" and "/dev/block" with "/dev/block/platform/omap/omap_hsmmc.0"
Last edited by thiagodark; 8th May 2012 at 02:21 PM.
8th May 2012, 07:09 PM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
Yes, /efs is /factory and it's mounted on different device but I don't see while they suggest to recreate whole partition from scratch. You can just do renaming in place. Have you checked that your /factory directory is really corrupted (ie. files there have wierd sizes, dates, or it doesn't even mount)?

Another interesting thing to do is look at messages in /data/radio/log/nv.log (# cat /data/radio/log/nv.log as root). It may contain some clue as to what's happening...

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes