Easily Toggles Your Lollipop Mobile Data Network Type

Android Lollipop is by good margin the most advanced and refinedversion of … more

Unofficial CM12 for Android One, Disabling Encryption on Nexus 6 – XDA TV

Android One devices have received an Unofficial CyanogenMod … more

Pushbullet Universal Copy/Paste Availabe for Linux, Mac OS X

Pushbullet is one of those useful utilities that once installed, permanently … more

Enable the Hidden Notification LED on the Google Nexus 6!

LED notification lights have existed on Android devices since the very beginnings … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Nexus won't see GPS satellites

OP thespot84

19th December 2011, 11:45 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
I've had the nexus toro (LTE) for 5 days now and have had issues with the GPS since the start. It simply says 'searching' all the time and will not lock. I've installed GPS status, and it shows that it rarely if every sees a satellite (one might pop up, be gray for a second, then disappear).

Here's a pic comparing my OG droid to the nexus right next to each other:
imgur.com/VFc3s
(sorry i'm not allowed to post links yet)

Anyone have any ideas? I've turned GPS on/off, reset the gps cache using GPS Status, and can't think of anything else.
19th December 2011, 11:50 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
I have the same problem gps locks less than 50% of the time.
Galaxy nexus s LTE.
20th December 2011, 12:39 AM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Its the same on the GSM version. Not much you can do about it unfortunately.
20th December 2011, 01:04 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
I feel like a dolt because I chatted with Samsung support and they had me soft-restart which fixed the issue.
22nd December 2011, 07:47 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Flag NY
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thespot84

I feel like a dolt because I chatted with Samsung support and they had me soft-restart which fixed the issue.

Don't; that is not a solution. On my Samsung Fascinate soft restarts would help get a lock on, but shortly after the GPS would lose connection to satellites.

Having to restart your phone every time you need to use GPS is a ridiculous inconvenience. This seems to be a major flaw in the chips / radios that Samsung chooses for GPS.
22nd December 2011, 07:53 PM   |  #7  
psycho2097's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Raleigh
Thanks Meter: 155
 
928 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
i get gps locks in 2-3 seconds.works fine.
23rd December 2011, 09:39 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
I'm glad to see others are noticing this problem. I posted a thread in another forum complaining about this:

http://www.droidforums.net/forum/gal...ating-gps.html

Does anyone know if this is definitely a hardware issue? Is it possible that it's a bug in Google Maps that's causing the problem with ICS?
24th December 2011, 08:17 PM   |  #9  
Ves's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 15
 
267 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
It doesn't have to be Google Maps it self. I have it in other apps as well which use the GPS.
Might be hardware, might not.
24th December 2011, 09:30 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
One of the main reasons I upgraded from the Galaxy S (fassy) was that it's GPS chip went from working not very well to not working at all. If I'm paying for a smart phone, I would like a to have GPS and maps.

So far I have not been disappointed with the GNex's GPS at all. Maybe I lucked out. Try downloading GPSfix from the market and see if that helps.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
galaxy nexus, gps, ics, lte, satellite
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes