FORUMS

T-Mobile Galaxy S6 Battery Woes

I’ve been using a T-Mobile Galaxy S6 since the device launched with T-mobile’s … more

Earthquake Early Warning in Your Pocket

Probably all of us reading this have a smartphone in our pocket. For many of us, the … more

Sony: The OEM You Want To Save

In our recent Discuss article, we asked you readers on which OEM you would like to help. While the … more

How to Lock and Protect Your Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

The smartphone revolution has passed. Everybody has mobile apps. Some of … more

[Q] Nexus won't see GPS satellites

15 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By thespot84, Junior Member on 19th December 2011, 10:45 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I've had the nexus toro (LTE) for 5 days now and have had issues with the GPS since the start. It simply says 'searching' all the time and will not lock. I've installed GPS status, and it shows that it rarely if every sees a satellite (one might pop up, be gray for a second, then disappear).

Here's a pic comparing my OG droid to the nexus right next to each other:
imgur.com/VFc3s
(sorry i'm not allowed to post links yet)

Anyone have any ideas? I've turned GPS on/off, reset the gps cache using GPS Status, and can't think of anything else.
 
 
19th December 2011, 10:50 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I have the same problem gps locks less than 50% of the time.
Galaxy nexus s LTE.
19th December 2011, 11:39 PM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Its the same on the GSM version. Not much you can do about it unfortunately.
20th December 2011, 12:04 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I feel like a dolt because I chatted with Samsung support and they had me soft-restart which fixed the issue.
22nd December 2011, 06:47 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Flag NY
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thespot84

I feel like a dolt because I chatted with Samsung support and they had me soft-restart which fixed the issue.

Don't; that is not a solution. On my Samsung Fascinate soft restarts would help get a lock on, but shortly after the GPS would lose connection to satellites.

Having to restart your phone every time you need to use GPS is a ridiculous inconvenience. This seems to be a major flaw in the chips / radios that Samsung chooses for GPS.
22nd December 2011, 06:53 PM |#7  
psycho2097's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Raleigh
Thanks Meter: 156
 
Donate to Me
More
i get gps locks in 2-3 seconds.works fine.
23rd December 2011, 08:39 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I'm glad to see others are noticing this problem. I posted a thread in another forum complaining about this:

http://www.droidforums.net/forum/gal...ating-gps.html

Does anyone know if this is definitely a hardware issue? Is it possible that it's a bug in Google Maps that's causing the problem with ICS?
24th December 2011, 07:17 PM |#9  
Ves's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
It doesn't have to be Google Maps it self. I have it in other apps as well which use the GPS.
Might be hardware, might not.
24th December 2011, 08:30 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
One of the main reasons I upgraded from the Galaxy S (fassy) was that it's GPS chip went from working not very well to not working at all. If I'm paying for a smart phone, I would like a to have GPS and maps.

So far I have not been disappointed with the GNex's GPS at all. Maybe I lucked out. Try downloading GPSfix from the market and see if that helps.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
galaxy nexus, gps, ics, lte, satellite
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes