Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,384 Members 44,116 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Nexus won't see GPS satellites

Tip us?
 
thespot84
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Denver
Default [Q] Nexus won't see GPS satellites

I've had the nexus toro (LTE) for 5 days now and have had issues with the GPS since the start. It simply says 'searching' all the time and will not lock. I've installed GPS status, and it shows that it rarely if every sees a satellite (one might pop up, be gray for a second, then disappear).

Here's a pic comparing my OG droid to the nexus right next to each other:
imgur.com/VFc3s
(sorry i'm not allowed to post links yet)

Anyone have any ideas? I've turned GPS on/off, reset the gps cache using GPS Status, and can't think of anything else.
 
Gavinator1192
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jul 2011
I have the same problem gps locks less than 50% of the time.
Galaxy nexus s LTE.
 
Brandon3003
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 31
Join Date: Jul 2007
Its the same on the GSM version. Not much you can do about it unfortunately.
 
Ves
Old
#4  
Ves's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 267
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Amsterdam
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1387263

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1393678
Windows 7 Pro 32 Bit
LG Nexus 5 (4.4.2)
Samsung Nexus 10 (4.4.2)
 
thespot84
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Denver
I feel like a dolt because I chatted with Samsung support and they had me soft-restart which fixed the issue.
 
Remedyz
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 18
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by thespot84 View Post
I feel like a dolt because I chatted with Samsung support and they had me soft-restart which fixed the issue.
Don't; that is not a solution. On my Samsung Fascinate soft restarts would help get a lock on, but shortly after the GPS would lose connection to satellites.

Having to restart your phone every time you need to use GPS is a ridiculous inconvenience. This seems to be a major flaw in the chips / radios that Samsung chooses for GPS.
 
psycho2097
Old
#7  
psycho2097's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 155
Posts: 928
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh

 
DONATE TO ME
i get gps locks in 2-3 seconds.works fine.
HOX 32gb, Note 10.1 2014, Nexus 7 16GB
History-Note 2, Galaxy Nexus i9250, Captivate, TF101,HTC HD2,Nook Color,

This is my Nexus. There are many others like it, but this one is mine. My Nexus is my best friend. It is my life. I must master it as I must master my life. Without me, my Nexus is useless. Without my Nexus, I am useless.
 
samiusmc
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2010
I'm glad to see others are noticing this problem. I posted a thread in another forum complaining about this:

http://www.droidforums.net/forum/gal...ating-gps.html

Does anyone know if this is definitely a hardware issue? Is it possible that it's a bug in Google Maps that's causing the problem with ICS?
 
Ves
Old
#9  
Ves's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 267
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Amsterdam
It doesn't have to be Google Maps it self. I have it in other apps as well which use the GPS.
Might be hardware, might not.
Windows 7 Pro 32 Bit
LG Nexus 5 (4.4.2)
Samsung Nexus 10 (4.4.2)
 
P-bot
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 43
Join Date: Oct 2010
One of the main reasons I upgraded from the Galaxy S (fassy) was that it's GPS chip went from working not very well to not working at all. If I'm paying for a smart phone, I would like a to have GPS and maps.

So far I have not been disappointed with the GNex's GPS at all. Maybe I lucked out. Try downloading GPSfix from the market and see if that helps.

Tags
galaxy nexus, gps, ics, lte, satellite
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...