Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Recent apps chooses wrong app

OP djexacto

9th October 2012, 07:46 PM   |  #1  
djexacto's Avatar
OP Member
Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 6
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
This happens to me maybe one in 10-20 times I use the task switcher soft key. I press the key, press the task I wish to switch to, and another task launches instead. It's always one that is in the switcher, sometimes a very recent one, like 3rd up the list, but sometimes it's from a while ago, like 10 up the list. Had this issue on multiple roms and kernels.

Anyone else?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
11th October 2012, 04:51 PM   |  #2  
djexacto's Avatar
OP Member
Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 6
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
I'm seriously the only one, or is this already discussed somewhere?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
11th October 2012, 05:19 PM   |  #3  
mark manning's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Denver, CO Likes: Omne absconditur in palam veniat
Thanks Meter: 3,337
 
5,217 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
I haven't seen this discussed before which probably means it isn't a common issue. Have you tried asking in the thread of whatever rom you are using ?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
Last edited by mark manning; 11th October 2012 at 05:31 PM.
11th October 2012, 05:22 PM   |  #4  
95Z28's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 238
 
722 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
I don't know if you're the only one, but its certainly never happened to me. Always opens the app I touch. I'm going to guess if you're not the only one you're definitely one of a rare few, as I've never seen anyone else state such a problem.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
11th October 2012, 05:31 PM   |  #5  
danielsaenz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Abilene, TX
Thanks Meter: 48
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Happens to my on AOKP JB Build 4. Either that or it doesn't switch the app (although the app switcher goes away). Usually happens with YouTube though, whether I'm switching from/to YouTube.
11th October 2012, 11:37 PM   |  #6  
djexacto's Avatar
OP Member
Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 6
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
I'm on affinity right now, but it's also happened to me on liquid smooth. I will ask in appropriate thread, just wanted to see if it was known or not.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
11th October 2012, 11:49 PM   |  #7  
Anthonok's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag St. Cloud
Thanks Meter: 211
 
1,384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I've had it happen on both my N7 and Gnex. Both running different ROMs

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
12th October 2012, 12:08 AM   |  #8  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 355
 
1,561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
It happens to me. I always thought it was because I wasn't allowing enough time for the task switcher list to "refresh". Ok, so lets say you click task switch button.. back out... then open an app... now tap task switch and select one of the apps really quickly - what happens is that it chooses the wrong one because it hasn't had a chance to refresh. It's like the graphical front end is different than the touch event for a split second before it refreshes the list of recent apps.

What I usually do is wait a second or two before choosing the app and this seems to have solved this problem for me... but it seems that the device shouldn't show anything until everything is completely refreshed. I seem to think this is where they were allowed to make the recent apps list open faster than it did in ICS. ICS opened up a refreshed list but JB opens faster and the list isn't totally refreshed behind the scenes.
12th October 2012, 06:18 PM   |  #9  
djexacto's Avatar
OP Member
Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 6
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
That's a good observation. I started waiting a second or two before switching, and now it works good. I noticed I have to wait longer if my phone is lagging a bit or I have a few heavy apps running. Wish it would just work but oh well.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
26th April 2013, 10:13 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Just like to add, I have the same problem... I'll try the patience .

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes