FORUMS

[Q] ramdisk

347 posts
Thanks Meter: 26
 
By LiquidXed, Senior Member on 6th June 2014, 04:52 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
What is the deal with ramdisk? How do i switch between kernels to test out¿ do i have to flash a rom everytime?

Ex: i was runnin stock rom/kernal 4.3 for awhile, then just flashed fancy.. Do i have to reflash stock rom to clean the ramdisk?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
 
 
8th June 2014, 09:29 AM |#2  
mrgnex's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vlaardingen
Thanks Meter: 311
 
More
If fancy has its own ramdisk it is reccomended to dirty flash your rom.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to mrgnex For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th June 2014, 04:15 PM |#3  
LiquidXed's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
Thanks man.. Yeh he uses universal ramdisk via anykernel2.. So i gues im alright. What does the ramdisk hold and y isnt there a way to -rm or format via cust recovery?
I tried to google it to find more info on it.. I guess i need to dig deeper

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
8th June 2014, 09:25 PM |#4  
ashclepdia's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag under philadelphia above Delaware, beer heaven
Thanks Meter: 1,543
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LiquidXed

Thanks man.. Yeh he uses universal ramdisk via anykernel2.. So i gues im alright. What does the ramdisk hold and y isnt there a way to -rm or format via cust recovery?
I tried to google it to find more info on it.. I guess i need to dig deeper

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk

the way I've always assumed for ramdisk was specific stock settings, symlink setups, init files and such
sorry I can't explain much further.
maybe to try to get more useful info for your question, try Google "zimage vs boot.img, what does kernels ramdisk do/contains"
you will probably get many Linux.results, but they translate very easily into android since android kernel is Linux based
The Following User Says Thank You to ashclepdia For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th June 2014, 02:44 AM |#5  
LiquidXed's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
Lol.. Thanks

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
12th June 2014, 05:10 PM |#6  
hp13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 177
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LiquidXed

What is the deal with ramdisk? How do i switch between kernels to test out¿ do i have to flash a rom everytime?

Ex: i was runnin stock rom/kernal 4.3 for awhile, then just flashed fancy.. Do i have to reflash stock rom to clean the ramdisk?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

basically certain kernels have its own ramdisk (. i.e franco )so its not recommended to flash different kernel without flashing the rom first.

wipe cache
flash rom
flash gapps
flash supersu if needed
flash kernel
The Following User Says Thank You to hp13 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes