ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Power up GNEX from PC?

OP denogginizer

29th June 2014, 04:51 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Hello all, long-time lurker first post.
I bought my Verizon GNEX on the day it came out and have loved it since.
Yesterday the power button stopped working.
I tried the method of removing the battery, plugging into PC, then putting the battery back in but no dice.
So, now the phone is powered down and I can't turn it on with the bad power button.

Is there a way to power up the GNEX from a PC?

The phone is on 4.4.3 with an older Vanir ROM that has been running stable for a few months at least.
Any help you can give is appreciated.
Thanks!
29th June 2014, 07:03 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
concerned about that.
mine is not so reliable either...
1st July 2014, 04:02 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
If you have already enable developper option, yes, you can power up it by pc, using adb, for detail, you can search adb at this forum,
1st July 2014, 01:57 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Thumbs up Thanks!
Quote:
Originally Posted by cqloveqc

If you have already enable developper option, yes, you can power up it by pc, using adb, for detail, you can search adb at this forum,

Thank you. That points me in the right direction. I will try that.
1st July 2014, 02:42 PM   |  #5  
runandhide05's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,470
 
2,826 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
There is a thread for this. Saw it the other day. It's an older one but in said thread several people have reported ways that work for some.
In short plug the charger in. Wait for the lightning battery icon then pull the charger. It takes several attempts but it's worth a try and a search.

Also haveing debugging on isn't going to make a difference because it's off... And there are no adb commands to turn on your device


http://forum.xda-developers.com/gala...ve-to-t1731128

sent from(:::::
Last edited by runandhide05; 1st July 2014 at 02:45 PM.
1st July 2014, 02:52 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Thank you
Quote:
Originally Posted by runandhide05

There is a thread for this. Saw it the other day. It's an older one but in said thread several people have reported ways that work for some.
In short plug the charger in. Wait for the lightning battery icon then pull the charger. It takes several attempts but it's worth a try and a search.

Also haveing debugging on isn't going to make a difference because it's off... And there are no adb commands to turn on your device


http://forum.xda-developers.com/gala...ve-to-t1731128

sent from(:::::

Thank you.
I have searched and tried that technique and another where you take the battery out of the phone. plug it into your USB (without battery) wait for computer to beep. Put the battery back into your phone.
I have also disassembled the phone and checked the contacts for the power button (they looked good).
So far , no dice.
Thanks again
1st July 2014, 03:38 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 256
 
432 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by denogginizer

Thank you.
I have searched and tried that technique and another where you take the battery out of the phone. plug it into your USB (without battery) wait for computer to beep. Put the battery back into your phone.
I have also disassembled the phone and checked the contacts for the power button (they looked good).
So far , no dice.
Thanks again

Hey Buddy check this out

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00EPB...&robot_redir=1

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes