FORUMS

Android Pay Announced, Further Simplifies Mobile Pyments

The mobile payment space has heated up recently, with multiple companies like … more

Android M Adds Fingerprint Support

Along with other features, Android M has brought along Fingerprint Support to the OS.This comes in … more

Webview Update on Android M Dev Preview

Google has announced an update to the Webview implementations on the upcoming Android M … more

Android M Brings Granular Permission Controls

Google I/O 2015 is underway,  and Sundar Pichai opened the event with the usual … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Rogers CNAP (Name Display) on Galaxy Nexus

30th December 2011, 03:41 PM |#1  
efrant's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator
Flag Montreal Bow2DaCow
Thanks Meter: 8,680
 
Donate to Me
More
Does anyone on Rogers have name display (not caller ID, but name display) working on a Galaxy Nexus?

If so, what build are you on?

Thanks.

EDIT: Call forwarding works fine -- it was a user error on my part. Original post modified.
Last edited by efrant; 16th April 2012 at 04:30 PM.
 
 
17th January 2012, 08:58 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Did you end up figuring it out on how to make it work? I really need this feature?
17th January 2012, 09:03 PM |#3  
efrant's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator
Flag Montreal Bow2DaCow
Thanks Meter: 8,680
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by svmagnum

Did you end up figuring it out on how to make it work? I really need this feature?

Neither CNAP nor call-forwarding seem to work on my device, and no one has answered my post. I will try asking in this thread.

EDIT: Figured out the call-forwarding issue. It was related to Rogers One Number. If you use One Number, you cannot use the phone's forwarding menu.
Last edited by efrant; 21st February 2012 at 08:03 PM.
17th January 2012, 09:19 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Here is what i was able to figure out But im a noob.
Cyanogenmod has an ICS update review.cyanogenmod.com/#change,11168 (im new user it doesnt let me post link) that enables the name display.

I beleive name display was incorporated into the Nexus S rom *Ultimate ICS v 3.0" so i was trying to figure out how to make that just an update to add a name display on the stock rom. Maybe you can help?
The Following User Says Thank You to svmagnum For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th January 2012, 09:57 PM |#5  
efrant's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator
Flag Montreal Bow2DaCow
Thanks Meter: 8,680
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by svmagnum

Here is what i was able to figure out But im a noob.
Cyanogenmod has an ICS update review.cyanogenmod.com/#change,11168 (im new user it doesnt let me post link) that enables the name display.

I beleive name display was incorporated into the Nexus S rom *Ultimate ICS v 3.0" so i was trying to figure out how to make that just an update to add a name display on the stock rom. Maybe you can help?

Here is your link: http://review.cyanogenmod.com/#change,11168

I'm not much of a coder, but hopefully someone can helps us out!
24th January 2012, 01:31 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I installed and CNAP is working on [ROM][AOSP][4.0.3] Codename Android 1.1.4.
To make sure it saves in call log you have to use dialer one or simillar app from the market.
24th January 2012, 01:38 AM |#7  
efrant's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator
Flag Montreal Bow2DaCow
Thanks Meter: 8,680
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by svmagnum

I installed and CNAP is working on [ROM][AOSP][4.0.3] Codename Android 1.1.4.
To make sure it saves in call log you have to use dialer one or simillar app from the market.

That's great to hear! However, I would still like someone to either explain to me what changes I need to make to a stock ROM to get this to work, or create a flashable zip that I could look at.

Anyone?
24th January 2012, 04:56 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Question for the op. Where did you get your Galaxy Nexus? I know Rogers just received some maybe their model will work with Name display. I also have the service on my account , but still didn't get a call from someone not on my contact list... I will post here with my results!

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus
24th January 2012, 05:05 PM |#9  
efrant's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator
Flag Montreal Bow2DaCow
Thanks Meter: 8,680
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by big samm

Question for the op. Where did you get your Galaxy Nexus? I know Rogers just received some maybe their model will work with Name display. I also have the service on my account , but still didn't get a call from someone not on my contact list... I will post here with my results!

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus

I bought it from Virgin, but all they are all the same (Rogers, Bell, Telus, Virgin), both from a hardware perspective, as well as a software perspective.

I doubt it will work on your device if it is stock.
24th January 2012, 05:08 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I disabled Name Display on my account when I had the ATRIX 4G because it would show every incoming call as PAY PHONE but I re-added it a couple of weeks ago and I haven't had any problems. It doesn't display the name of the caller however, just the number.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
call forwarding, cnap, name display, rogers
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes