Nova Launcher Update Brings Lollipop Functionality and Feel

One of the most popular third party launcher on Android, Nova Launcher, has just … more

Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more
Thread Closed

Rooted and using CM9 but adb shell su doesn't work?

OP Theshawty

20th April 2012, 11:25 PM   |  #1  
Theshawty's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,478
 
1010
15,422 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
I triy to type "adb shell" in cmd which works but upon typing "su", it throws me a: "permission denied" and on the screen it says: "shell has been denied Superuser permissions.

In the superuser app, there is no record of ever accepting or denying "shell" and clearing Superuser's apk data doesn't help. Everything else related to root works besides giving adb root permissions.

What to do? In some other forum, someone said it was kernel related?
21st April 2012, 12:24 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag SF Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 173
 
1,819 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
You need to go to settings then developers options and enable root access to adb.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jhernand1102 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st April 2012, 06:40 PM   |  #3  
Theshawty's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,478
 
1010
15,422 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhernand1102

You need to go to settings then developers options and enable root access to adb.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium

Not running CM9 anymore, though, but I have no such option? I'm running stock.
21st April 2012, 08:10 PM   |  #4  
beekay201's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,128
 
4,647 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theshawty


Not running CM9 anymore, though, but I have no such option? I'm running stock.

*facepalm*

Stock rom does not come rooted, so having that option under stock settings menu wouldnt make any sense.
And you still remember that you opened this because of a feature of cm9, that you were not familiar with at the time?

Sent from my i9250 using Forum Runner
21st April 2012, 09:57 PM   |  #5  
Theshawty's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,478
 
1010
15,422 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bk201doesntexist

*facepalm*

Stock rom does not come rooted, so having that option under stock settings menu wouldnt make any sense.
And you still remember that you opened this because of a feature of cm9, that you were not familiar with at the time?

Sent from my i9250 using Forum Runner

Well obviously I have rooted my phone and now when I tried that command again (for like the 30th time) it magically worked.

I don't know why, though. "Shell" couldn't seem to get superuser permissions when everything else that required root worked perfectly?
21st April 2012, 10:10 PM   |  #6  
beekay201's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,128
 
4,647 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
If youre talking about stock, Kernel/boot.img is secure

But it should work.

Sent from my i9250 using Forum Runner
Last edited by beekay201; 21st April 2012 at 10:13 PM.
21st April 2012, 11:23 PM   |  #7  
Theshawty's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,478
 
1010
15,422 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bk201doesntexist

If youre talking about stock, Kernel/boot.img is secure

But it should work.

Sent from my i9250 using Forum Runner

I've never understood what the difference between "secure" and "insecure" boot.img is.

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes