Post Reply

[SOLVED] *backup* android system wakelock

OP TjPhysicist

4th April 2012, 02:57 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 25
 
332 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Using AOKP b29, faux123's kernel.
I have unchecked "backup" (to google servers) under settings, i have frozen every app that has "backup" in its name (1 of them the google's backup transport service the other 2 are rom related).

But no matter what I do, my phone NEVER goes into deep sleep, and a closer look shows that its always awake since something called "*backup* android system" keeps waking it up...HOW, what backup? I unchecked the setting and froze the backup transport service in TB..please help.

ETA: For anyone who cares, I solved this by reinstalling after a full wipe, no TB restores, and making sure i did not check auto backup in google set up.
Last edited by TjPhysicist; 11th April 2012 at 03:02 AM.
4th April 2012, 03:23 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 71
 
374 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
Sometimes a good wipe and reflash does the trick. Since you've done everything else, I'd say it's worth a try.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
4th April 2012, 03:25 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 25
 
332 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by samizad

Sometimes a good wipe and reflash does the trick. Since you've done everything else, I'd say it's worth a try.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium

I literally JUST installed a new version of the rom after wipe . O well.
11th April 2012, 02:56 AM   |  #4  
mobilehavoc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 300
 
2,059 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
Just had this happen on stock 4.0.4. looking at the logs it seems to think there's a backup job underway so not sure what's going on. I'm going to live with it for a few days and see if maybe it'll clear up by itself. Its hurting battery but I think I can make it. Let's see.
11th April 2012, 03:01 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 25
 
332 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilehavoc

Just had this happen on stock 4.0.4. looking at the logs it seems to think there's a backup job underway so not sure what's going on. I'm going to live with it for a few days and see if maybe it'll clear up by itself. Its hurting battery but I think I can make it. Let's see.

Finally figured it out by accident. I reflashed the rom, and DID NOT select auto backup at setup this time, and now it all works fine. Somehow me unticking the backup thing did not work the first time.
11th April 2012, 03:04 AM   |  #6  
mobilehavoc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 300
 
2,059 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjPhysicist

Finally figured it out by accident. I reflashed the rom, and DID NOT select auto backup at setup this time, and now it all works fine. Somehow me unticking the backup thing did not work the first time.

I'm completely stock and I'm not about to wipe the phone. I'll let it go for a few days and then try a restart. If that doesn't fix it then I'll have to evaluate my options. I really really don't want to wipe the phone. Apart from this issue starting out of nowhere today the phone is running perfectly.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
11th April 2012, 03:05 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 25
 
332 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilehavoc

I'm completely stock and I'm not about to wipe the phone. I'll let it go for a few days and then try a restart. If that doesn't fix it then I'll have to evaluate my options. I really really don't want to wipe the phone. Apart from this issue starting out of nowhere today the phone is running perfectly.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Try unchecking backup and rebooting, that MIGHT help, iff on 4.0.4 that is.
11th April 2012, 04:41 AM   |  #8  
mobilehavoc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 300
 
2,059 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
Doesn't that wipe your backup data on Google? Not sure I want to mess with that just yet. Even though I have 100% wake time my phone still gave me 15hrs of battery life with 4+hrs of screen time so its not killing me too badly.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
11th April 2012, 08:51 PM   |  #9  
mobilehavoc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 300
 
2,059 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilehavoc

Doesn't that wipe your backup data on Google? Not sure I want to mess with that just yet. Even though I have 100% wake time my phone still gave me 15hrs of battery life with 4+hrs of screen time so its not killing me too badly.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Fyi all I did was reboot the phone without unchecking anything and it fixed the issue. Thank god. :)

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes