Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Clean Your Recent Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

In this day and age, you have quite a few apps installed and running on your Android … more

Android Studio Reaches Release Candidate Status

Android app developers have a few options when comes to Android IDEs. One of the most … more

Connect ALL THE THINGS with Xender

Smartphones, with all of their all connectivity options courtesy of OEMs, can easily connect themselves … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Solved] Unable to install OTA updates after rooting

OP DanAdamKOF

2nd August 2012, 07:07 PM   |  #11  
phazerorg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 137
 
222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
rooted = no effect on OTA updates (assuming you haven't messed around with anything in /system - if you have, all bets are off)
unlocked bootloader = no effect on OTA updates
CWM = will not install OTA updates automatically, but will install them manually by flashing the zip
stock ROM = required for OTA updates, and must be the build that the OTA update is meant for
radio = must be the version the OTA update expects
bootloader = must be the version the OTA update expects (actually not 100% sure on that, but it doesn't hurt...)

If everything is right and it still won't go, I'm not sure. Flashing with CWM might actually give you more of an error message indicating what's wrong. I think the stock recovery just gives you the exclamation mark and nothing more.
The Following User Says Thank You to phazerorg For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd August 2012, 07:31 PM   |  #12  
beekay201's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,132
 
4,675 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
P
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanAdamKOF

LOL. I said Sprint in the OP I think the Sprint Galaxy Nexus is called "Toro Plus" or "Toroplus" in this context.

Anyway, the problem I had before with CWM was that I could start the FD02 OTA update within CWM, and I'd get, as I recall, the red exclamation mark screen, instead of a successful install. I had the same issue when I tried the FG01 OTA update outright, it rebooted, went to CWM, and gave me a red exclamation mark. From searching around on google, it seemed that this was due to my current non-bone-stock setup (rooted/CWM recovery/unlocked/stock ROM), so is it actually unusual for this setup to not install OTA updates properly?

Thanks for the help so far, this is my first Android phone after a long line of WinCE/PPC/WM6 devices, and there's a lot that I'm unfamiliar with

Yeah, I was unsure about toroplus being the sprint version.
Not sure whats going on, although i wouldn't think much about it and go full stock. Have you tried the updates thread on dev section? Have you tried TWRP?
Since i'm on maguro, i flashed yakju factory image, booted twrp with fastboot, flashed a supersu zip, reboot. Full stock achieved, with root. Nothing to it. Backup your root if you want with OTA root keeper or whatever people use (i would just repeat the first steps i mentioned after the ota installed, except reflash factory image, of course), then accept the ota.

Sent from my i9250
Last edited by beekay201; 2nd August 2012 at 07:43 PM.
2nd August 2012, 08:05 PM   |  #13  
OP Junior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 3
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
So you're saying, return the GNex to full stock, unlock and root again (perhaps using a different "toolkit" type utility, or just using adb commands), and see what happens? And I haven't visited any update threads other than when I installed the FD02 radio + other updates.
2nd August 2012, 10:03 PM   |  #14  
jesusice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,038
 
3,022 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
I'll ask the same thing I asked other dude with the same question, why?? Who wants an ICS OTA with borked search? For the love of all things butter, just flash JB!!
2nd August 2012, 10:14 PM   |  #15  
OP Junior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 3
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Seriously, should I have to explain myself? I want Sprint TV since I'm paying for it anyway. I want things to "just work" and not mess with JB ROMs using a hacked ICS radio. I don't want to put on ROMs with broken stuff in it (there's one ROM whose OP just says "Broken: you tell me." for crying out loud). I'm not going to argue this any further. Obviously if I wanted to put on a community ROM, I would just do so.
2nd August 2012, 10:27 PM   |  #16  
jesusice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,038
 
3,022 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanAdamKOF

Seriously, should I have to explain myself? I want Sprint TV since I'm paying for it anyway. I want things to "just work" and not mess with JB ROMs using a hacked ICS radio. I don't want to put on ROMs with broken stuff in it (there's one ROM whose OP just says "Broken: you tell me." for crying out loud). I'm not going to argue this any further. Obviously if I wanted to put on a community ROM, I would just do so.

I'm sorry if I came off confrontational, I was sincerely trying to help. I've been using JB ROMs since they were released and nothing is broken and I would never even consider going back to ICS now. But, of course, it's your phone and you'll do what you want with it.
3rd August 2012, 12:29 PM   |  #17  
efrant's Avatar
Senior Moderator
Flag Montreal Bow2DaCow
Thanks Meter: 8,187
 
9,593 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanAdamKOF

LOL. I said Sprint in the OP I think the Sprint Galaxy Nexus is called "Toro Plus" or "Toroplus" in this context.

Anyway, the problem I had before with CWM was that I could start the FD02 OTA update within CWM, and I'd get, as I recall, the red exclamation mark screen, instead of a successful install. I had the same issue when I tried the FG01 OTA update outright, it rebooted, went to CWM, and gave me a red exclamation mark. From searching around on google, it seemed that this was due to my current non-bone-stock setup (rooted/CWM recovery/unlocked/stock ROM), so is it actually unusual for this setup to not install OTA updates properly?

Rooting has nothing to do with it.

As was mentioned earlier, CWM will install an OTA update file but it will NOT install it over-the-air. What I mean is, if you download the update yourself ( from the "update" link in my signature), you can use CWM. If you get the notification that there is an OTA update and you click accept and try to have it install while CWM is installed , it will fail. See the difference?


Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
4th August 2012, 05:11 AM   |  #18  
OP Junior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 3
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
I am so so sorry for this but I can't figure out how to take a screenshot in recovery mode.
When I install the OTA update in CWM (flashed it back), this happens:

This is what happened last time with FD02, more or less.
4th August 2012, 05:20 AM   |  #19  
efrant's Avatar
Senior Moderator
Flag Montreal Bow2DaCow
Thanks Meter: 8,187
 
9,593 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanAdamKOF

I am so so sorry for this but I can't figure out how to take a screenshot in recovery mode.
When I install the OTA update in CWM (flashed it back), this happens:

This is what happened last time with FD02, more or less.

You are getting that error because you are using a custom kernel. You need to be running the stock kernel for the build you are running.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
4th August 2012, 05:23 AM   |  #20  
OP Junior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 3
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by efrant

You are getting that error because you are using a custom kernel. You need to be running the stock kernel for the build you are running.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Thank you so much. That's news to me. How do I shove a stock kernel into it?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
ota, rooted, stock recovery
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes