Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Possible to repartition a Galaxy Nexus?

OP crfrank

3rd March 2014, 09:51 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Sorry if this has been asked before (did a search but couldn't find anything) but is it possible to repartition a GN? I understand this would probably involve a custom loader (which is how I did it on an old HTC a few years ago) and was wondering if there were any out there? The reason I'm asking is that like quite a few other Nexus owners it's getting to the point with some ROMs (like CM 11.1) with GApps packages (like PA GApps) the /system partition is now too small to accommodate both. Or should I just bite the bullet and buy a Nexus 5 - something I'm loathe to do as my Galaxy Nexus is still going strong and been a damn good phone...

Thanks for your time,

Charles.
3rd March 2014, 09:53 AM   |  #2  
pattyboi:)'s Avatar
Senior Member
charleroi PA
Thanks Meter: 1,866
 
1,432 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by crfrank

Sorry if this has been asked before (did a search but couldn't find anything) but is it possible to repartition a GN? I understand this would probably involve a custom loader (which is how I did it on an old HTC a few years ago) and was wondering if there were any out there? The reason I'm asking is that like quite a few other Nexus owners it's getting to the point with some ROMs (like CM 11.1) with GApps packages (like PA GApps) the /system partition is now too small to accommodate both. Or should I just bite the bullet and buy a Nexus 5 - something I'm loathe to do as my Galaxy Nexus is still going strong and been a damn good phone...

Thanks for your time,

Charles.

use a different gapps package man,i use the famigo gapps,aroma installer so you can pick whats installed and save alot of space
3rd March 2014, 10:08 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pattyboi:)

use a different gapps package man,i use the famigo gapps,aroma installer so you can pick whats installed and save alot of space

Yeah, in the end I went to AOKP and their KK GApps package - still, it shows the phone it getting a bit old now Hence the comment about maybe upgrading...
3rd March 2014, 10:10 AM   |  #4  
pattyboi:)'s Avatar
Senior Member
charleroi PA
Thanks Meter: 1,866
 
1,432 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by crfrank

Yeah, in the end I went to AOKP and their KK GApps package - still, it shows the phone it getting a bit old now Hence the comment about maybe upgrading...

Yeah man I know how you feel :/ I wouldn't mind a upgrade myself,I can't personally say my storage is limited tho,on vanir I still have around 300mb free in /system ,I mean a upgrade might be all around better,but the gnex is still honestly a decent phone,especially compared to some phones I've used lol
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes