Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,756 Members 42,222 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Vol Down doesnt work, need to hard reset!

Tip us?
 
AndrewJohn814
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Feb 2014
Question [Q] Vol Down doesnt work, need to hard reset!

running CM 10.1.3
Clockworkmod installed.

My Vol. Down is broken, so I cant boot into recovery the normal way.

Any ideas? I need to hard reset asap.
 
AndyYan
Old
#2  
AndyYan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 841
Posts: 1,966
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Beijing
CM has "advanced reboot" built in, enable this feature in Developer Options, hold POWER key, choose Reboot and you'll see the option to reboot into recovery.
If you're not using a touch recovery, you might still have to flash one, in case some actions require both volume keys.

Sent from Google Nexus 4 @ CM11


Current devices:
Google Nexus 4 (CM11 Nightly)
Sony Xperia SP (CM11 Nightly)
Google Nexus 7 (2013, WiFi) (CM11 Nightly)
Samsung Galaxy Gear (Null_ Build 23)
Samsung Epic 4G Touch (CM10.2 Nightly + GS3 Addon)
Samsung Galaxy S WiFi 4.0 (CM10.2 Nightly)
HTC Incredible S (CM11 Unofficial)
Nokia N97-1 (RM-505 22.0.110 Pre-Hacked)

Quote:
Multi-core smartphones are like M&Ms:
They don't melt on the store shelf... Just in your hands.
 
curtvan
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jun 2011
You may have to enable the advanced reboot menu by doing this:


1enable developer options. These used to be in the normal settings screen for the phone but they are hidden now.
1go to about phone
2scroll to the bottom
3find the “build number” field
4click on it seven times and it will turn on developer options.
2go back one level to the main settings screen and you’ll see developer options now. Open that
3Enable advanced reboot options by clicking on the relevant checkbox
4go back to the main settings menu again and then click on “System” under the interface section
5Inside the system menu click on “Power Menu”
6Make sure “reboot menu” is checked.

Credit:code.rawlinson.us/2013/05/enable-advanced-reboot-options-on.html
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes