Sony Encouraging SmartWatch 2 Development

Mobile device companies like selling devices–it’s how they make their money and … more

Easily Toggles Your Lollipop Mobile Data Network Type

Android Lollipop is by good margin the most advanced and refinedversion of … more

Unofficial CM12 for Android One, Disabling Encryption on Nexus 6 – XDA TV

Android One devices have received an Unofficial CyanogenMod … more

Pushbullet Universal Copy/Paste Availabe for Linux, Mac OS X

Pushbullet is one of those useful utilities that once installed, permanently … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Volume button pads unsoldered from motherboard

OP krneki10

18th June 2014, 05:42 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Volume button on my Nexus stopped working after I dropped it on ground, so I disassembled it and found out, that volume button cable is actually soldered to motherboard in normal condition. In my case, it has detached with pads, so motherboard circuit is now broken to the point that volume button cable cannot be soldered again to motherboard (metals won't stick anymore).

Consequently, now I cannot get into recovery or download mode in case something goes wrong. Any ideas what to do? Is replacing a motherboard the only option?
19th June 2014, 11:13 AM   |  #2  
KingWickedd's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hyderabad
Thanks Meter: 50
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by krneki10

Volume button on my Nexus stopped working after I dropped it on ground, so I disassembled it and found out, that volume button cable is actually soldered to motherboard in normal condition. In my case, it has detached with pads, so motherboard circuit is now broken to the point that volume button cable cannot be soldered again to motherboard (metals won't stick anymore).

Consequently, now I cannot get into recovery or download mode in case something goes wrong. Any ideas what to do? Is replacing a motherboard the only option?

probably, you can go to recovery using adb and better flash twrp because it has touch controls rather than hardware button controls.
19th June 2014, 11:21 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingWickedd

probably, you can go to recovery using adb and better flash twrp because it has touch controls rather than hardware button controls.

Would you mind telling me how, perhaps with a link to tutorial?
19th June 2014, 11:33 AM   |  #4  
KingWickedd's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hyderabad
Thanks Meter: 50
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by krneki10

Would you mind telling me how, perhaps with a link to tutorial?

Connect your device to ur pc with usb debugging "on" and open adb and type the following

adb reboot boot loader ---> for bootloader

adb reboot recovery ----> for recovery

adb reboot ---> simple reboot


Or you could go to developer options and enable "advanced reboot" option. using this, you probably can reboot into recover/bootloader directly from the phone.
just longpress the power button, click reboot and then it should ask you to select between recovery/bootloader/simple reboot
19th June 2014, 01:49 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingWickedd

Connect your device to ur pc with usb debugging "on" and open adb and type the following

adb reboot boot loader ---> for bootloader

adb reboot recovery ----> for recovery

adb reboot ---> simple reboot


Or you could go to developer options and enable "advanced reboot" option. using this, you probably can reboot into recover/bootloader directly from the phone.
just longpress the power button, click reboot and then it should ask you to select between recovery/bootloader/simple reboot

But what about in case if I get bootloop by flashing faulty kernel or ROM? In that case, there is no way getting in download mode or recovery to reflash it.
20th June 2014, 07:04 AM   |  #6  
KingWickedd's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hyderabad
Thanks Meter: 50
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by krneki10

But what about in case if I get bootloop by flashing faulty kernel or ROM? In that case, there is no way getting in download mode or recovery to reflash it.

exactly...
what i replied is just a workaround, its not a full solution.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes