FORUMS

How to Root the LG G4 and Install TWRP Recovery – XDA TV

A rooting method has finally been found for the flagship LG G4. In this … more

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

Download Sony’s new AOSP-like concept for Xperia Z3

Over in our forums, Recognized Contributor Jozinek has posted a very … more

OnePlus 2 vs Moto X Style: Which is The Better Flagship?

Two big industry names have announced their newest flagship phones within the … more

[ROM][RELEASE]BLACKICE kangorade 40.5 (7/08/12)

2,527 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,020
 
By justen7723, Senior Member on 5th May 2012, 02:27 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
25th May 2012, 05:58 PM |#511  
BeerChameleon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tucson,Arizona.
Thanks Meter: 1,206
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jemarent

I've been using TWRP and it's worked flawless. I don't think it's your recovery. I wasn't aware that CWM had a new touch recovery for the gnex.

Damn!! I don't know what it could be, maybe getting hot or something? I don't know cause it has done it when it has been cool and it is a soft reboot not a hard one, I guess I will just start from scratch and use Odin

Sent From My Sprint Black Ice Galaxy Nexus
 
 
25th May 2012, 06:04 PM |#512  
funnief13's Avatar
Senior Member
CITY OF ANGELS
Thanks Meter: 55
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jemarent

I've been using TWRP and it's worked flawless. I don't think it's your recovery. I wasn't aware that CWM had a new touch recovery for the gnex.

Yea u can get it from the CWM app...

Sent from my Sprint Galaxy Nexus CDMA using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
Last edited by funnief13; 25th May 2012 at 06:07 PM.
25th May 2012, 06:32 PM |#513  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
cool, thanks for the link. I donated to the good ole CWM folks again. they have been great over the years. I'll play with it and see how it stacks up against TWRP

UPDATE: CWM Touch seems to work great. The TWRP has a nice UI and i like how things were laid out, but i've been with CWM for way too long to not use it..
Last edited by jemarent; 25th May 2012 at 06:44 PM.
25th May 2012, 07:00 PM |#514  
BeerChameleon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tucson,Arizona.
Thanks Meter: 1,206
 
Donate to Me
More
Hey guys when u flas roms and change roms do u wipe the system? i think that was my problem
25th May 2012, 07:04 PM |#515  
‹BERô's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 8,953
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidrules7778

Hey guys when u flas roms and change roms do u wipe the system? i think that was my problem

I do.. I wrote the way to the cleanest install look back a page.

Sent From My Sprint Galaxy Nexus via XDA Premium
25th May 2012, 07:07 PM |#516  
marcusva79's Avatar
Senior Member
Frisco TX
Thanks Meter: 648
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ‹BERô

Cwm touch
It could also be how you install things. These are my steps of installing new Roms.

1. Wipe data (wipe cache is t necessary because this already formats the cache.)
2. Go into mounts and storage and Format /system.
3. Wipe dalvik cache.
4. Flash rom.

This is probably the cleanest install you can get.

Sent From My Sprint Galaxy Nexus via XDA Premium


CWM? Also there is no way you can use USB via recovery huh?
25th May 2012, 07:10 PM |#517  
bdubs4200's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 266
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcusva79

CWM? Also there is no way you can use USB via recovery huh?

Uhm yeah you can (if I understand correctly) ... like mount PC while in recovery? I do it all the time. Go to mounts and storage>mount USB storage> plug in phone.... I use twrp though but this is for cwm, believe it or not idk mount storage for twrp off hand :P
while we're on the subject, I switched to twrp because while in cwr, the vol and power seemed to like to click multiple times and I'd get so frustrated! Anyone else have that problem using non touch cwm? Also I couldn't get touch cwm to flash via fastboot. Twpr flashed via fast boot no problem

Sent from my Sprint Galaxy Nexus CDMA using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by bdubs4200; 25th May 2012 at 07:15 PM.
25th May 2012, 07:12 PM |#518  
BeerChameleon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tucson,Arizona.
Thanks Meter: 1,206
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ‹BERô

I do.. I wrote the way to the cleanest install look back a page.

Sent From My Sprint Galaxy Nexus via XDA Premium

well i think i found the issue, i bet i still had stock system files on there
25th May 2012, 07:16 PM |#519  
bdubs4200's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 266
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidrules7778

well i think i found the issue, i bet i still had stock system files on there

Yup I wipe data/reset x2 then format system- boot- caches then flash rom, them gapps, then fix perms. Restore apps only, then recover to fix perms again

Sent from my Sprint Galaxy Nexus CDMA using Tapatalk 2
25th May 2012, 07:19 PM |#520  
BeerChameleon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tucson,Arizona.
Thanks Meter: 1,206
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdubs4200

Yup I wipe data/reset x2 then format system- boot- caches then flash rom, them gapps, then fix perms. Restore apps only, then recover to fix perms again

Sent from my Sprint Galaxy Nexus CDMA using Tapatalk 2

i did everything twice,

Do u think i need to fix the permissions too?

I usually on fix them if i have force closes
25th May 2012, 07:29 PM |#521  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Do we really need to keep doing everything two or three times? I remember when CWM 5.x first came out that it said it was no longer useful to wipe more than once.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes