FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[FIX] S Voice App "Network Error"

1,096 posts
Thanks Meter: 165
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
After installing the S Voice app, use a root explorer app to edit your build.prop to mimic that of the SGSIII. SEE POST #5 FOR PIC GUIDE.

Change...
ro.product.model=(Your Device)

To...
ro.product.model=GT-I9300

Do the same with line ro.product.device

Save changes and exit app. Reboot device and enjoy.

EDIT: Its been reported that this may cause GWallet not to function!!

Modified APK Courtesy of pHaez. Thanks B.

GDrive Mirror Courtesy of Waldos

Quote:

For the purpose of disclosure on what was modified, and for those that wish to make the changes manually, you can use apktool to decode the apk, then edit smali/com/vlingo/sdk/internal/deviceinfo/PhoneInfo.smali and modify:
"method public getModel()" and "method public getDeviceID()". Right before the return at the bottom of each function, put: const-string v1, "GT-I9300" (replace v1 with the value the return uses, v0 for getModel, v1 for getDeviceID.

~pHaez



Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by BlackElvis79; 22nd June 2012 at 04:40 AM.
The Following 60 Users Say Thank You to BlackElvis79 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
21st May 2012, 02:45 AM |#2  
Think420's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
thanks a lot man, but for the noobs like me, would you mind posting the file path to get to the build.prop?
The Following User Says Thank You to Think420 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st May 2012, 02:50 AM |#3  
W3BSurfer's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag T.DoT
Thanks Meter: 41
 
More
/system/build.prop
21st May 2012, 02:52 AM |#4  
BlackElvis79's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 165
 
Donate to Me
More
What he^^^ said.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
21st May 2012, 02:58 AM |#5  
BlackElvis79's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 165
 
Donate to Me
More
Here's a visual step by step...









Reboot...

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
The Following 16 Users Say Thank You to BlackElvis79 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st May 2012, 03:10 AM |#6  
Ahmato27's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
I can't edit.. Running miui 2.5.18

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
21st May 2012, 03:16 AM |#7  
kentamayo's Avatar
Member
Flag Balut County
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Hey it works, but mine seems to have lost voice feedback
21st May 2012, 03:17 AM |#8  
BlackElvis79's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 165
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kentamayo

Hey it works, but mine seems to have lost voice feedback

Tap the icon in the lower left corner.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
21st May 2012, 03:18 AM |#9  
BlackElvis79's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 165
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ahmato27

I can't edit.. Running miui 2.5.18

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Make sure you set /system/ as RW

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
21st May 2012, 03:25 AM |#10  
Ahmato27's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
It worked

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
21st May 2012, 03:26 AM |#11  
jonstrong's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 677
 
More
Thanks for posting this... I'm wondering a couple of things:

- why did it work for a good 13 or 14 hours with no problem, through a few reboots, and never once give a network error -- and then suddenly start showing this, to me and to several other folks round the same time?

- if I modify build.prop as described, what's the potential impact on other operations on my Galaxy Nexus? Will other software get screwed up, thinking it's on a phone that's different than what it's really on?

Thinking about the first question brings me back to my earlier speculation that perhaps Samsung or Vlingo was filtering communication based on the S Voice unique ID -- but that was pretty much disproved. Now I'm wondering whether Vlingo is filtering traffic for this app based on device type, and is restricting it - for the moment - to S3 devices...

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes