5,606,588 Members 36,156 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HD Netflix App

Tip us?
 
altimax98
Old
(Last edited by altimax98; 20th December 2011 at 09:48 PM.)
#1  
altimax98's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 417
Posts: 1,636
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mulberry, Florida
Default HD Netflix App

****4.0.3 users - it is not currently working on most 4.0.3 builds. I will look into it****


I take 0 credit for this file, but I have rehosted and used it myself. Here is the 1080P Version of the Netflix app.
*im sorry about the first file. Mediafire seems to have botched the original file on upload. Ive triple checked the MD5. Confirmed working on a LTE Nexus on 4.0.2

NEW FILE!
http://www.mediafire.com/?i7j7mdqsgypm9cs
MD5 4CD35DA0E4D392538462BDC390544561

Dont be Tricked!

The app does NOT go full screen like the market version of the Netflix app, but the quality is 10x better. For a test I watched both Tron and Toy Story 3 for 5 minutes each on both apps to allow enough time to buffer. There is no graininess on the HD app and it just pops more. Test both out and see the difference!

* I believe this is from the RAZR but dont quote me on that

I did some HD and Non-HD testing. Now Im running a LTE Nexus on 4.0.2 w/Revolutionary 2.1.0. Ive seen issues with the GSM Nexus not being able to install, but it works perfect on mine. No issues, which is weird. But heres some HD and Non HD photos for comparison:
HD above NON HD below



2



I attempted to get the same shot in each frame, but it was a little tough lol.
Phones:
  • Motorola Q, Motorola Q9C, Samsung Omnia, Motorola Droid,
  • HTC Incredible, HTC Thunderbolt, Droid RAZR, Toro, Maguro, HTC One, Note 3
  • Nexus 5, Galaxy S5, HTC One (M8)
Tablets/Other:
  • B&N Nook Color, HP Touchpad, iPad(2012),Nexus7 (12 & 13), Nexus 10, Toshiba Chromebook
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to altimax98 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
nbeebe24
Old
#2  
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 857
Posts: 2,297
Join Date: Jun 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by altimax98 View Post
I take 0 credit for this file, but I have rehosted and used it myself. Here is the 1080P Version of the Netflix app.

http://www.mediafire...hwtaojgc9be718l

Dont be Tricked!

The app does NOT go full screen like the market version of the Netflix app, but the quality is 10x better. For a test I watched both Tron and Toy Story 3 for 5 minutes each on both apps to allow enough time to buffer. There is no graininess on the HD app and it just pops more. Test both out and see the difference!

* I believe this is from the RAZR but dont quote me on that
What's the actual url?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
 
zephiK
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3268
Posts: 10,203
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New York, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
OP link is messed up: http://www.mediafire.com/?hwtaojgc9be718l/
Twitter -- If you actually need to get in contact with me just tweet me rather than PMs its more efficient and I can get back to you faster.

Nexus 5 (D820): Purity | Franco Kernel
Nexus 4 (E960): Purity | Franco Kernel
Older devices: Galaxy Nexus, ASUS TF101, Nexus S, Samsung Vibrant, G1
 
altimax98
Old
#4  
altimax98's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 417
Posts: 1,636
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mulberry, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by nbeebe24 View Post
What's the actual url?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
lol sorry, copied my post from rootz and they have a different editor

Fixed the link
Phones:
  • Motorola Q, Motorola Q9C, Samsung Omnia, Motorola Droid,
  • HTC Incredible, HTC Thunderbolt, Droid RAZR, Toro, Maguro, HTC One, Note 3
  • Nexus 5, Galaxy S5, HTC One (M8)
Tablets/Other:
  • B&N Nook Color, HP Touchpad, iPad(2012),Nexus7 (12 & 13), Nexus 10, Toshiba Chromebook
 
frigorific
Old
#5  
frigorific's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jan 2011
Didn't work on my gsm sgn. Installed, but would not start. No login screen.

Would love to see a hd version without the buttons
__________________________________
Samsung Galaxy Nexus - MCR JR9 - 4.2.1
Motorola Xoom Wifi - 4.1.1 + tiamat @1,4
 
nbeebe24
Old
#6  
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 857
Posts: 2,297
Join Date: Jun 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Didn't work for me either

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
 
altimax98
Old
#7  
altimax98's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 417
Posts: 1,636
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mulberry, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by frigorific View Post
Didn't work on my gsm sgn. Installed, but would not start. No login screen.

Would love to see a hd version without the buttons
Strange.. I'll get some screenshots later tonight. It works great on my LTE

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
Phones:
  • Motorola Q, Motorola Q9C, Samsung Omnia, Motorola Droid,
  • HTC Incredible, HTC Thunderbolt, Droid RAZR, Toro, Maguro, HTC One, Note 3
  • Nexus 5, Galaxy S5, HTC One (M8)
Tablets/Other:
  • B&N Nook Color, HP Touchpad, iPad(2012),Nexus7 (12 & 13), Nexus 10, Toshiba Chromebook
The Following User Says Thank You to altimax98 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
godsfshrmn
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 114
Join Date: Oct 2007
Not to troll, but why would you want a 1080p source on a 720p screen?
The Following User Says Thank You to godsfshrmn For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
frigorific
Old
#9  
frigorific's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jan 2011
I would want a 720p stream
the current one is just okay resolution wise, and has the buttons active instead of going full screen...

I don't understand why there are so many versions of the app... And why us international customers need to download the app from random links in forums. Instead of blocking in market they should (if they have to) block only in app, and people wouldn't risk malicious apps that steal login details. This only creates trouble for themselves.

Offtopic kind of, but since market enabler isn't working anymore (right?) how do people get apps from other regions without relying on someone to upload to the forum? Is there a trick?
__________________________________
Samsung Galaxy Nexus - MCR JR9 - 4.2.1
Motorola Xoom Wifi - 4.1.1 + tiamat @1,4
 
CaucasianAsian
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 31
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Jackson, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by godsfshrmn View Post
Not to troll, but why would you want a 1080p source on a 720p screen?
I would think it is better to downscale 1080p to 720p than upscale 480p to 720p.

THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes