FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

Transparent Status Bar--Instructions for DIY

1,970 posts
Thanks Meter: 762
 
By pendo, Senior Member on 24th December 2011, 09:15 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
20th January 2012, 01:11 AM |#101  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoat333

I found this in Gummy launcher as well, wich makes sense because it is based on Trebuchet.

I believe I found the lines in smali that resize the wallpapaer, but I'm not sure what will happen if I just add them in and compile. I will test and post back.

1 of 4 things will happen.
1. It will **** out errors on compile
2. Everything will be wonky if it loads and doesnt FC.
3. Nothing will change.
4. It works.


Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA App
 
 
20th January 2012, 02:24 AM |#102  
pendo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Tulsa, OK
Thanks Meter: 762
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatsix

The problem with the half black, half transparent navigation bar is the launcher. The stock launcher, CND Launcher, and Trebuchet do not modify the wallpaper or screen size. However Nova Launcher does. SO this Full transparent status bar and navigation bar only works with Nova Launcher. I have not had time to look into this. If someone knows what Nova Launcher does to modify the screen/wallpaper size, this would be an easy mod to the other launchers.

Good find. I couldn't think of why my original edits would cause any issues. Similar to how certain launchers would "override" transparency in gingerbread.
20th January 2012, 03:27 AM |#103  
kgbrown247's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Okc, OK
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
I can't remember as I took a break, does sytemui need to be signed when recompiling?

Edit: nope

Sent from a full AOSP GNex via Tap
Last edited by kgbrown247; 20th January 2012 at 05:00 PM.
20th January 2012, 04:31 AM |#104  
Senior Member
Flag NE Ohio
Thanks Meter: 95
 
More
I gave up on the gummynex launcher, and just went with nova. Transparent nav bar works now!

Nova has so many options that I'll just stick with it. (had to make a few of my own modifications of course)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2012-01-19-23-20-01.jpg
Views:	350
Size:	91.6 KB
ID:	864159  
20th January 2012, 11:16 AM |#105  
PhilPan's Avatar
Senior Member
Central NJ
Thanks Meter: 95
 
Donate to Me
More
I followed the directions below and when I go into the res/values/colors.xml; the only two option i have to change are;

<color name="status_bar_recents_app_label_color">#a600000 0</color>
<color name="notification_list_shadow_top">#80000000</color>

Would I change one of these? I am on AOKP 19....Thanks in advance.

"From the root of the SystemUI directory, open res/values/colors.xml. Find the entry for “status_bar_background” and change it’s value to whatever you want. In mine I’ve set it to “a6000000” which black but 35% translucent. The first 2 characters control the opacity on a scale from 0-255 where 0 is completely transparent and 255 is fully opaque. That value is then stated in hexadecimal format; e.g. 0=00, 255=ff."
20th January 2012, 05:03 PM |#106  
kgbrown247's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Okc, OK
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Did the edits. Transparent show at the bottom when curtain is pulled. When nav buttons are pressed, background stays as if still pressed, no transparancy at top. Any one making progress? Still using nova with tranquil v6

the only change i did not make in reference to the diy instructions was in phonestatus.smali

Quote:
Originally Posted by pendo

Code:
const v4, 0x4800068

replace
the 2 lines underneath with this:
Code:
const/4 v5, -0x3

move v2, v1

[B]my phonestatus.smali[\B]
const v4, 0x4800068

move v2, v1

move v5, v1

because it keeps force closing systemui when booting up. any help would be appreciated.





disregard, got it.


Sent from a full AOSP GNex via Tap
Last edited by kgbrown247; 20th January 2012 at 10:28 PM.
21st January 2012, 01:02 AM |#107  
PhilPan's Avatar
Senior Member
Central NJ
Thanks Meter: 95
 
Donate to Me
More
I have been trying to get this to work to no avail on AOKP 19. Can someone please post some clear instructions on what to do for AOKP 19?

Thanks
21st January 2012, 03:24 AM |#108  
xxxdc5's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendo

Here is a SystemUI that I built that has a translucent statusbar. It also has a circle battery mod I recently made in ics blue. This was built on 4.0.3 sources.

Here's a flashable zip:

TransStatusbar-SmoothCircleMod_4.0.3.maguro-signed.zip

At risk of asking a question that has been asked 57 times.... can I flash this on stock rooted 4.0.2 ROM? Thanks


I'll edit if after I scan a few pages I don't see the answer
21st January 2012, 03:48 AM |#109  
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 400
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendo

This is very interesting....thank you. The reason I say this is that it is the exact same result that happened when I attempted to help another rom dev recently.

I have not ever heard back if he found the issue but one of my guesses was that the wallpaper image itself wasn't large enough. Could you try a different sized background please and report back?


The smali edit should be the same for you on 4.0.1. Actually this one that I did in the other thread should work. *note it also has my circle battery mod.

Sorry it took so long but i finally had time to load clockwork. Just flashed this systemUI and it works, but nothing is transparent. Loaded on stock 4.0.1. Ahh i just thought, i wonder if i should delete the odex file. Duh, let me try.

Yes now it works, silly me. Thanks mang!

Not only does it work, but both bars are transparent with no weird issues.
Last edited by RogerPodacter; 21st January 2012 at 04:08 AM.
21st January 2012, 07:26 AM |#110  
jonata's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Casette d'Ete
Thanks Meter: 115
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgbrown247

Did the edits. Transparent show at the bottom when curtain is pulled. When nav buttons are pressed, background stays as if still pressed, no transparancy at top. Any one making progress? Still using nova with tranquil v6

the only change i did not make in reference to the diy instructions was in phonestatus.smali



[B]my phonestatus.smali[\B]
const v4, 0x4800068

move v2, v1

move v5, v1

because it keeps force closing systemui when booting up. any help would be appreciated.





disregard, got it.


Sent from a full AOSP GNex via Tap

good morning ...
compliments for your work !
can you upload your file ? I like very very much
tks mate

PS : it is for 4.02 rom or 4.03 ?
tks again
21st January 2012, 04:01 PM |#111  
Shaelz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Oh poo. Not any new features but 1.2 here I come !

For all hundreds of people complaining about App2sd probs - do you really need it ? since switching to from gingerbread I left it behind me and my phone is faster and smoother than ever.. have tons of apps with no worries yet..

worth the fuss?

Anyone know when new CM9 features will show up? I browsed the nexus galaxy android dev forum and they've got toons of cool new tricks..
Hopefully it'll trickle down our way or I can figure out how to copy some over

If anyone out there has made a mod to SytemUI.apk that can give a transparent taskbar to our CM9 ICS, please message me !

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes