Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,023 Members 43,252 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Transparent Status Bar--Instructions for DIY

Tip us?
 
jonata
Old
#81  
jonata's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 108
Posts: 1,990
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendo View Post
yeah, here's some help....decompile with apktool, and open res/values/drawables.xml and then set the value for status_bar_background to "cc000000"

**how to convert % to hex value**
Opacity is measured on a scale from 0(invisible) to 255(fully opaque). In this specific case there you need 4 values, 3 for the RGB combination and then a fourth that's for the overal opacity of the combined colors. The follow an ARGB arrangement (Alpha, Red, Green, Blue). Each value is a 2 digit hex, so you'll have 8 total alphanumeric values. So to get 80%--> .8 x 255=204. There's plenty of hex converters available for you to make it easy. Plug in 204 as your decimal number and it will tell you that "cc" is the hex equivalent. So "cc000000" would be black that's 20% transparent or 80% opaque, however you wish to call it.
ok,
downloaded apktools (windows) and exctracted to a folder.
then open terminal, go to folder and digit apktoll ...
but this is what I see : "java is not a internal or esternal command ...." where I?m in wrong ?
Like decompile systemUI but I've this error ...
tks for help Pendo

HTCE ONE M8
Android Revolution HD 3.4
Moto X 16 GB
 
fatsix
Old
(Last edited by fatsix; 14th January 2012 at 04:12 PM.)
#82  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 127
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendo View Post
My bad, you're right I didn't touch drawables.xml, duh. Ok, here's another. As far as the handing pressed image...I'm not sure what's going on there. I don't recall anyone mentioning it before. So it just stays highlighted? Is it otherwise fully functional?
It has a low glow that sticks. Kinda weird, but it goes away. I didnt have this issue on the ones i modified previously, it might be modifications the dev has made to the glow speed. The newest one does not effect the navigation bar at all, i edited the xml as well. Solid black.
Galaxy Nexus CDMA
RootzBoat V4
Faux123 1.35Ghz OC/UV
 
Schoat333
Old
#83  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 211
Join Date: Sep 2010
I was able to get the navigation bar transparent on gummy 5.0, but I get the problem where the wallpapaer doesn't go all the way down, it only goes half way behing the softkeys.

When I was messing around, I had a bad systemUI that FC'd. When that happened, my wallpapaer did the same thing. I tried several differnt pictures, and all had the same result, so its not the res.

I think it may be a setting for max wallpapaer height that needs changed. Anyone have any ideas where that would be?
 
jonata
Old
(Last edited by jonata; 14th January 2012 at 07:07 PM.)
#84  
jonata's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 108
Posts: 1,990
Join Date: Jul 2007
@Pendo :
resolved all my problems !!!
tks very much ...
another question :
I want 100% trasparent statusbar :
decompile systemui and then edit the xml file, set the value for status_bar_background to "ffffffff"
right ?

tks mate

HTCE ONE M8
Android Revolution HD 3.4
Moto X 16 GB
 
fatsix
Old
(Last edited by fatsix; 14th January 2012 at 07:15 PM.)
#85  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 127
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonata View Post
@Pendo :
resolved all my problems !!!
tks very much ...
another question :
I want 100% trasparent statusbar :
decompile systemui and then edit the xml file, set the value for status_bar_background to "ffffffff"
right ?

tks mate
smali edits to enable. XML to set the color. ffffffff will be solid white.. you need to change the first two digits.



Sent from my GalaxyNexus using XDA App
Galaxy Nexus CDMA
RootzBoat V4
Faux123 1.35Ghz OC/UV
 
jonata
Old
#86  
jonata's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 108
Posts: 1,990
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatsix View Post
smali edits to enable. XML to set the color. ffffffff will be solid white.. you need to change the first two digits.



Sent from my GalaxyNexus using XDA App
sorry but don't understand ....
I edit this :
res/values/drawables.xml
and then set the value for status_bar_background to "ff000000" (orignal value was "00000000")
also in this way trasparent no 100%
there are other files to edit ?
tks

HTCE ONE M8
Android Revolution HD 3.4
Moto X 16 GB
 
ciscogee
Old
#87  
ciscogee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 192
Posts: 879
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Wa State

 
DONATE TO ME
Hi all. Looking good on mod. I want to try and port the softkey mods on my froyo leaked sch i400. We don't have a systemui. Apks. So I'm sure they would be in framework/twframework. Any ideas on if i can get it to port.

Sent from my SCH-I400 using xda premium
posted via esp with help from fingers
 
fatsix
Old
#88  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 127
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonata View Post
sorry but don't understand ....
I edit this :
res/values/drawables.xml
and then set the value for status_bar_background to "ff000000" (orignal value was "00000000")
also in this way trasparent no 100%
there are other files to edit ?
tks
ff is 100% opaque. 00 is 0% opaque. 31 is 20% opaque. CC is 80% opaque.
You hushed edited it from being completely transparent to completely solid black.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA App
Galaxy Nexus CDMA
RootzBoat V4
Faux123 1.35Ghz OC/UV
 
b33zu
Old
#89  
b33zu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 414
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Missoula
Come on people let's get this mod flash able already.
b33zu~
 
jgrimberg1979
Old
#90  
jgrimberg1979's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 214
Posts: 969
Join Date: May 2010
Location: D.C
Can someone please shed some light on my issue. I can't seem to make the navigationbar transparent for the life of me. I have got the transparent statusbar up and running but I don't know how to change the nav bar to transparent. I have already made the edits for the navbar in navigationbar.XML for transparency but I still have the black bar no matter what launcher I use. Help would be great thanks



Galaxy Nexus
twitter = @jtgr6

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes