Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Dev] boot2gecko for the verizon galaxy nexus

OP jellybellys

3rd September 2012, 08:22 AM   |  #1  
jellybellys's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 129
 
118 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
First off, let me tell you that this is super sketchy right now. If you were looking for something stable, then leave. This is the exact opposite.

I am working to port mozilla's boot2gecko to the galaxy nexus, so before you ask, here's what works & what dosent:
Works:
Touchscreen
ADB
Wi-Fi
Firefox
Lockscreen
homescreen
...well yeah you get the point, but more importantly, what dosen't/partially works:
Cell service (1x, 3g, and 4g)
screenshot
camera only sometimes works
no softkeys
All resources are designed for hdpi, so everything's a bit small

Downloads:
Build 1 (9/3/12) http://goo.im/devs/jellybellys/toro/...n-recovery.zip
Build 1 MD5: d8e70323e56b4568f6c2d504d0cceab0
Build 2 (9/3/12) http://goo.im/devs/jellybellys/toro/...n-recovery.zip
Build 2 MD5: 9a2db2d4d0673b25b8dd01aab8d39e04

To do list:
Implement some sorta softkey thing
Fix cell service
Resize resources to about a 300 dpi
Fix screenshot

Low priority to do list:
Implement android apps and google play store

If you know something about developing android, or html5, pm/reply so you can help contribute.

Oh yeah, don't flash in recovery. Open up the zip and flash the img files in there. Back up your internal memory first because it'll be wiped.
Last edited by jellybellys; 3rd September 2012 at 10:10 PM.
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to jellybellys For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd September 2012, 09:02 AM   |  #2  
letrain02's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
183 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
I was just going to start this as I have lots free time at the moment. And was just going to start setting up my "environment" here in the next week. I'll be more then happy to help. I was thinking something in the way of html5 soft keys. At least a back button. I'm more then happy to hop on this band wagon. I need something to do with my time. And I have always wanted to build something custom for my phone.
Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
3rd September 2012, 09:52 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
170 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Awesome project, excited to try it out!
3rd September 2012, 08:11 PM   |  #4  
jorgonv's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 140
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
It's this even usable without softkeys?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
3rd September 2012, 08:20 PM   |  #5  
jellybellys's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 129
 
118 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgonv

It's this even usable without softkeys?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app

It's pretty unusable. I noticed the easiest way to get to the homescreen for now is to turn the screen off, then swipe to the left for the camera and it usually hotboots.
The Following User Says Thank You to jellybellys For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd September 2012, 08:21 PM   |  #6  
letrain02's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
183 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Rebooting is about the only way to back out of an app.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
3rd September 2012, 08:29 PM   |  #7  
jorgonv's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 140
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jellybellys

It's pretty unusable. I noticed the easiest way to get to the homescreen for now is to turn the screen off, then swipe to the left for the camera and it usually hotboots.

I think I'll hold off for a little while then, but it's looking good

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
3rd September 2012, 09:29 PM   |  #8  
dmeadows013's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag USA
Thanks Meter: 3,784
 
2,415 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Not sure since I've never used this but if you aren't on data or wifi doesn't that basically make the phone useless since everything is a webapp? Or is that wrong?
3rd September 2012, 10:18 PM   |  #9  
jellybellys's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 129
 
118 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Made a new build. All that's different is I attempted to implement a home button in the notification drawer, but failed. It doesn't do anything.
3rd September 2012, 10:26 PM   |  #10  
letrain02's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
183 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmeadows013

Not sure since I've never used this but if you aren't on data or wifi doesn't that basically make the phone useless since everything is a webapp? Or is that wrong?

no it still works without wifi or data, it stores them on your phone.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes