5,605,835 Members 47,755 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[KERNEL][GPL][11 OCT - Milestone 6][r196-ICS r283-JB] franco.Kernel | 4.0/4.1 |

Tip us?
 
mike216
Old
#4091  
mike216's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1069
Posts: 5,043
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: cleveland
hi Franco, you have any good suggestions for Iva and core UV settings?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
 
patmw123
Old
#4092  
patmw123's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 52
Join Date: Oct 2010
Thanks guys.
 
OneNutShort
Old
#4093  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 93
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Huntington Beach
The new kernel (141) feels super snappy! Totally in love.
 
houzuoguo
Old
#4094  
houzuoguo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 578
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Hamburg
first time Franco kernel user here :)
I recently got my Nexus Galaxy and today I flashed Franco kernel. While using the Franco Kernel Updater app, I've got these questions:
- If I manually undervolt in "OC/UV" tab, do the voltage settings apply on boot? does "Set at boot" affect undervolt settings??
- In "Settings" tab. If I turn on "Generic hotplug", does the "CPU Mode" settings affect generic hotplug when screen is off?
- In "Calibrated voltages" tab. Is there any way to know the current voltages when smartreflex is turned OFF? Also, are my undervolt settings always ineffective when smartreflex is Not disabled?

Thank you very much :)
Google Nexus One
Cyanogen Mod 7 Nightly + IntersectRaven's Customizable AVS kernel
Sandisk 32GB Class 4 MicroSDHC

Follow me on Twitter http://twitter.com/hzguo
 
darrendm
Old
#4095  
darrendm's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 423
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: London/Leeds
Quote:
Originally Posted by houzuoguo View Post
first time Franco kernel user here :)
I recently got my Nexus Galaxy and today I flashed Franco kernel. While using the Franco Kernel Updater app, I've got these questions:
- If I manually undervolt in "OC/UV" tab, do the voltage settings apply on boot? does "Set at boot" affect undervolt settings??
- In "Settings" tab. If I turn on "Generic hotplug", does the "CPU Mode" settings affect generic hotplug when screen is off?
- In "Calibrated voltages" tab. Is there any way to know the current voltages when smartreflex is turned OFF? Also, are my undervolt settings always ineffective when smartreflex is Not disabled?

Thank you very much :)
Undervolt settings do not set on boot (This will always be the case because undervolting can lead to freezes on boot if voltages are too low)

Generic hotplug shuts down cpu1 when screen is off, so I assume if you are using single core mode, cpu1 is already off thus no cpu is turned off by the generic hotplug (my assumption)

Your undervolt settings are not ineffective when SF is enabled. Your settings will act as the maximum voltage which the SF will hit, so they will be at your set value or lower.

There is no way to check your current voltages (directly) using the calibrated voltages tab (when SF is off), however in the tab it tells you the MHz at which the phone is running at, and then you can go to the UV settings tab and see what you've set that speed to. (as SF is off your phone will always use this value at this clock speed)

With SF off, the phone will use your applied voltage for each frequency
With SF on, the phone will use your applied voltage OR LOWER at each frequency
The Following User Says Thank You to darrendm For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cokm4n
Old
#4096  
cokm4n's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 165
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston
Just curious, anyone else experiencing GPS issues? The last three times I went for a run I have been unable to get a signal. I keep up with the nighties and use the on demand governor. No UV and using.cm9. I don't know what other information is helpful/relevant.

And of course, thanks for all the hard work Francisco, it's absolutely appreciated by all!

Sent from my Limited Edition Galaxy Nexus, using Tapatalk 2.
 
sway40
Old
#4097  
sway40's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 192
Posts: 875
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Houston Tx
Quote:
Originally Posted by cokm4n View Post
Just curious, anyone else experiencing GPS issues? The last three times I went for a run I have been unable to get a signal. I keep up with the nighties and use the on demand governor. No UV and using.cm9. I don't know what other information is helpful/relevant.

And of course, thanks for all the hard work Francisco, it's absolutely appreciated by all!

Sent from my Limited Edition Galaxy Nexus, using Tapatalk 2.
Mine works... you sure it's not the rom?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
Galaxy Note II
Jelly Bean's Rom // Perseus Kernel // Nova Prime

Galaxy Nexus LTE

Nexus 7
Nova prime // Franco kernel

Nexus 10 (Stock)

Nexus 4
Carbon Rom // Franco kernel // Nova prime // 4g enabled
 
cokm4n
Old
#4098  
cokm4n's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 165
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by sway40 View Post
Mine works... you sure it's not the rom?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
I'll try a new one next time I run. thanks for the suggestion-never had any issues with cm though, but certainly worth trying.

Sent from my Limited Edition Galaxy Nexus, using Tapatalk 2.
 
sway40
Old
#4099  
sway40's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 192
Posts: 875
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Houston Tx
Cm9 is a good rom, but not done by any means so there's chance something somewhere is not working. Try aokp, I was always loyal to cm until I tried aokp and haven't looked back since.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
Galaxy Note II
Jelly Bean's Rom // Perseus Kernel // Nova Prime

Galaxy Nexus LTE

Nexus 7
Nova prime // Franco kernel

Nexus 10 (Stock)

Nexus 4
Carbon Rom // Franco kernel // Nova prime // 4g enabled
 
aliensquale
Old
#4100  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 200
Join Date: May 2011
Do people recommend using "generic hotplug" does it save a lot of battery?


How about using the "sqlite" setting?

Tags
franco kernel, samsung
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes