FORUMS

Which Lockscreen Security Type Do You Use?

From pattern locks to the controversial face unlock, there are a number of different ways you … more

Xposed 3.0 Alpha 3 Released

A new alpha for the Xposed framework is out and brings several bug fixes. You’ll only need to flash … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Custom ROMs vs. Modular Tweaks

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Mods and ROMs. Come with your opinions and feel free to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[MOD] JellyBean Carrier Name Change

29th June 2012, 12:44 AM |#1  
spunks3's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 170
 
Donate to Me
More
HOW TOO: Change Carrier Name Using Root Explorer (or similar app)


For those who wanted to know here is a nice and easy way to change carrier name for the time being until custom ROMS come out with the option built in.

-Must Have Root
-Must have a file explorer such as Root Explorer to have access to System Files

PLEASE NOTE: I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY DAMAGE DONE TO YOUR PHONE, MAKE A NANDROID BACKUP BEFORE ATTEMPTING ANY MODS SUCH AS THIS!

also note: i am not taking credit for this mod as it is the same mod that was used on ICS to change carrier name for ROMs such as CM9.
credit goes to belair56 for letting me know how to get this done on this original post. I have just simplified instructions a bit.

STEPS For people who already have "Verizon Wireless" showing up:
1) Download Carrier.zip file i have attached and extract "spn-conf.xml" onto your desktop or some folder you will remember where it has been placed.
2) Open "spn-conf.xml" with something such as NotePad or WordPad and edit the words that you see below in red to whatever you want to display instead of Verizon Wireless.
3) Save "spn-conf.xml" and copy it to the root of your SD Card.
4) Open Root Explorer or an app similar, copy "spn-conf.xml" from your SD card to "System/etc" directory.
5) Reboot, and Enjoy!

STEPS For people with "T-CDMA 64" showing up:
1) Download T-CDMA 64.zip file i have attached and extract "eri.xml" onto your desktop or some folder you will remember where it has been placed.
2) Open "eri.xml" with something such as NotePad or WordPad and edit the words that you see below in red to whatever you want to display instead of Verizon Wireless.
3) Save "eri.xml" and copy it to the root of your SD Card.
4) Open Root Explorer or an app similar, copy "eri.xml" from your SD card to "/data" directory.
5) Reboot, and Enjoy!

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<spnOverrides>
<spnOverride numeric="310004" spn="Verizon Wireless" />
<spnOverride numeric="310005" spn="Verizon Wireless" />
<spnOverride numeric="310012" spn="Verizon Wireless" />
<spnOverride numeric="311480" spn="Verizon Wireless" />
</spnOverrides>



as you can see i chose to use my Twitter name "@StarvingMarc" - examples below:




Attached Files
File Type: zip Carrier.zip - [Click for QR Code] (237 Bytes, 3396 views)
File Type: zip T-CDMA 64.zip - [Click for QR Code] (227 Bytes, 2834 views)
Last edited by spunks3; 29th June 2012 at 05:13 AM.
The Following 30 Users Say Thank You to spunks3 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
29th June 2012, 12:58 AM |#2  
NexusNero's Avatar
Member
Flag Brevard County
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Thanks a trillion for this!!!!!

BRING ON ALL THE COOL MODS FOR JB!!!!

However, before a slew more MODS start pouring out....I'm quite sure MODS should be posted in the Themes and Apps forum.
29th June 2012, 01:02 AM |#3  
spunks3's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 170
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NexusNero

Thanks a trillion for this!!!!!

BRING ON ALL THE COOL MODS FOR JB!!!!

However, before a slew more MODS start pouring out....I'm quite sure MODS should be posted in the Themes and Apps forum.

your absolutely right! would a moderator be kind enough to move this to its respective forum (themes/mods)... Thanks in advance!!!
29th June 2012, 01:33 AM |#4  
Member
Flag WR
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Didn't seem to work for me. After a reboot, it sat at the Google screen for a while. I pulled the battery, booted back up and now I'm still at CDMA 64. Any suggestions?
29th June 2012, 01:38 AM |#5  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 269
 
More
Thanks for sharing.
29th June 2012, 01:50 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 127
 
More
Any special permissions to set? Not working on mine. I just left as is (Verizon Wireless). Moved to system/etc via Root Explorer ....rebooted and still the same.
29th June 2012, 01:51 AM |#7  
spunks3's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 170
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sing1gnis

Didn't seem to work for me. After a reboot, it sat at the Google screen for a while. I pulled the battery, booted back up and now I'm still at CDMA 64. Any suggestions?

unfortunately not...
29th June 2012, 02:06 AM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Didn't work for me either.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
29th June 2012, 02:30 AM |#9  
NexusNero's Avatar
Member
Flag Brevard County
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kxs783kms

Any special permissions to set? Not working on mine. I just left as is (Verizon Wireless). Moved to system/etc via Root Explorer ....rebooted and still the same.

How is yours saying Verizon Wireless? Mine says....T-CDMA64

I would love it it say anything but T-CDMA64, LOL.
29th June 2012, 03:01 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 127
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NexusNero

How is yours saying Verizon Wireless? Mine says....T-CDMA64

I would love it it say anything but T-CDMA64, LOL.

No, I left Verizon Wireless in the spn.xml file. I didn't change the writing. But when I add it to system/etc and then reboot, my phone still says T-CDMA64.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes