5,599,539 Members 41,201 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD] JellyBean Carrier Name Change

Tip us?
 
spunks3
Old
(Last edited by spunks3; 29th June 2012 at 05:13 AM.)
#1  
spunks3's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 164
Posts: 540
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Rochester, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [MOD] JellyBean Carrier Name Change

HOW TOO: Change Carrier Name Using Root Explorer (or similar app)


For those who wanted to know here is a nice and easy way to change carrier name for the time being until custom ROMS come out with the option built in.

-Must Have Root
-Must have a file explorer such as Root Explorer to have access to System Files

PLEASE NOTE: I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY DAMAGE DONE TO YOUR PHONE, MAKE A NANDROID BACKUP BEFORE ATTEMPTING ANY MODS SUCH AS THIS!

also note: i am not taking credit for this mod as it is the same mod that was used on ICS to change carrier name for ROMs such as CM9.
credit goes to belair56 for letting me know how to get this done on this original post. I have just simplified instructions a bit.

STEPS For people who already have "Verizon Wireless" showing up:
1) Download Carrier.zip file i have attached and extract "spn-conf.xml" onto your desktop or some folder you will remember where it has been placed.
2) Open "spn-conf.xml" with something such as NotePad or WordPad and edit the words that you see below in red to whatever you want to display instead of Verizon Wireless.
3) Save "spn-conf.xml" and copy it to the root of your SD Card.
4) Open Root Explorer or an app similar, copy "spn-conf.xml" from your SD card to "System/etc" directory.
5) Reboot, and Enjoy!

STEPS For people with "T-CDMA 64" showing up:
1) Download T-CDMA 64.zip file i have attached and extract "eri.xml" onto your desktop or some folder you will remember where it has been placed.
2) Open "eri.xml" with something such as NotePad or WordPad and edit the words that you see below in red to whatever you want to display instead of Verizon Wireless.
3) Save "eri.xml" and copy it to the root of your SD Card.
4) Open Root Explorer or an app similar, copy "eri.xml" from your SD card to "/data" directory.
5) Reboot, and Enjoy!

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<spnOverrides>
<spnOverride numeric="310004" spn="Verizon Wireless" />
<spnOverride numeric="310005" spn="Verizon Wireless" />
<spnOverride numeric="310012" spn="Verizon Wireless" />
<spnOverride numeric="311480" spn="Verizon Wireless" />
</spnOverrides>



as you can see i chose to use my Twitter name "@StarvingMarc" - examples below:




Attached Files
File Type: zip Carrier.zip - [Click for QR Code] (237 Bytes, 3129 views)
File Type: zip T-CDMA 64.zip - [Click for QR Code] (227 Bytes, 2717 views)
|

PHONE: Google Nexus 5 | 4.4.1 Stock Rooted | Stock Kernel
TABLET: Nexus 7 (Original) | 4.4
TWITTER: @StarvingMarc
WEB: http://www.starvingmarc.com
The Following 30 Users Say Thank You to spunks3 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
NexusNero
Old
#2  
NexusNero's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 75
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brevard County
Thanks a trillion for this!!!!!

BRING ON ALL THE COOL MODS FOR JB!!!!

However, before a slew more MODS start pouring out....I'm quite sure MODS should be posted in the Themes and Apps forum.
 
spunks3
Old
#3  
spunks3's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 164
Posts: 540
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Rochester, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by NexusNero View Post
Thanks a trillion for this!!!!!

BRING ON ALL THE COOL MODS FOR JB!!!!

However, before a slew more MODS start pouring out....I'm quite sure MODS should be posted in the Themes and Apps forum.
your absolutely right! would a moderator be kind enough to move this to its respective forum (themes/mods)... Thanks in advance!!!
|

PHONE: Google Nexus 5 | 4.4.1 Stock Rooted | Stock Kernel
TABLET: Nexus 7 (Original) | 4.4
TWITTER: @StarvingMarc
WEB: http://www.starvingmarc.com
 
sing1gnis
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 84
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WR
Didn't seem to work for me. After a reboot, it sat at the Google screen for a while. I pulled the battery, booted back up and now I'm still at CDMA 64. Any suggestions?
 
john9
Old
#5  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 267
Posts: 1,588
Join Date: Oct 2011
Thanks for sharing.
 
kxs783kms
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 376
Join Date: Sep 2009
Any special permissions to set? Not working on mine. I just left as is (Verizon Wireless). Moved to system/etc via Root Explorer ....rebooted and still the same.
 
spunks3
Old
#7  
spunks3's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 164
Posts: 540
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Rochester, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by sing1gnis View Post
Didn't seem to work for me. After a reboot, it sat at the Google screen for a while. I pulled the battery, booted back up and now I'm still at CDMA 64. Any suggestions?
unfortunately not...
|

PHONE: Google Nexus 5 | 4.4.1 Stock Rooted | Stock Kernel
TABLET: Nexus 7 (Original) | 4.4
TWITTER: @StarvingMarc
WEB: http://www.starvingmarc.com
 
lcinstall
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 84
Join Date: Jan 2011
Didn't work for me either.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
 
NexusNero
Old
#9  
NexusNero's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 75
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brevard County
Quote:
Originally Posted by kxs783kms View Post
Any special permissions to set? Not working on mine. I just left as is (Verizon Wireless). Moved to system/etc via Root Explorer ....rebooted and still the same.
How is yours saying Verizon Wireless? Mine says....T-CDMA64

I would love it it say anything but T-CDMA64, LOL.
 
kxs783kms
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 376
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by NexusNero View Post
How is yours saying Verizon Wireless? Mine says....T-CDMA64

I would love it it say anything but T-CDMA64, LOL.
No, I left Verizon Wireless in the spn.xml file. I didn't change the writing. But when I add it to system/etc and then reboot, my phone still says T-CDMA64.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes