Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] How to restore SPEN Functionality?

15th July 2014, 08:47 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
After rooting, it seems most people (myself included,) have a broken spen.

I've flashed to factory settings, cleared the cache and loaded the latest stock firmware for my model (SM-P607T USA T-Mobile,) and my spen is useless other than detecting when it's detached.

This model has no dialer - even though I've tried dialing *#2663# remotely with AirDroid and by using add-on dialers, nothing happens.

How does one restore SPen functionality?
15th July 2014, 09:16 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by chriscoy

After rooting, it seems most people (myself included,) have a broken spen.

I'd like to know where you're seeing other people that have lost S-Pen functionality after rooting, because this is the first post I've seen about it.

Rooting should not cause you to lose S-Pen functionality unless you've also flashed a custom ROM, in which case that ROM is at fault.

As for the dialer...
For the P600, there is a code that you can enter into the calculator app that brings up a special dialer where you can enter codes. I assume it would work for 3G/4G models that have had the main dialer app removed by the carrier, but I can't remember what the code is.
16th July 2014, 08:37 AM   |  #4  
Razorless's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by law16

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...515656&page=94

Sent from my SM-P605 using XDA Free mobile app

It seems like TWRP has the wrong Wacom Driver Wacom version included. Since he cannot update it without a Dialer this doesn't help.

He could try to install a dialer from the market and enter the code.
16th July 2014, 01:31 PM   |  #5  
Scroll down, and read the fix I posted. Its on that page. Pg94

Sent from my SM-P605 using XDA Free mobile app
Last edited by law16; 16th July 2014 at 02:37 PM.
16th July 2014, 07:11 PM   |  #6  
Razorless's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
OP said there is no dialer on his device so I thought it's the wifi only version. However, if it is the 607 LTE version it should be easily fixable
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes