Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Want LTE on your Korean Note 2 sgh-i317

OP billb23ok

15th September 2014, 04:06 AM   |  #1  
billb23ok's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag ontario
Thanks Meter: 70
 
242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
This may work on other devices and carriers having this same issue. And know were your phone was made to help others. Look under your battery to find were it was made

I started this thread cause over the past 2 years their has been speculation that it's the sgh-i317 made in Korea that's not getting LTE out of the box. I tried everything. Changing my imei, nv items, roms, modems, etc...
Turns out that I successfully was able to get LTE a 1 1/2 - 2 years ago but really didn't know exactly how I did it. I was helping @Trash213 and rediscovered what I had done. Turns out It's a provisioning error that happens when the sim is placed in that phone for the first time and messes up that line forever. Asking T-Mobile to refresh the provisions does not help but they may give you a free sim.

DO NOT PUT THE SIM CARD IN YOUR PHONE FIRST

The Sim card must first be installed into another
T-Mobile LTE device or registered on one


First thing you need to do, is put your note 2 in LTE all by dialing *#2263# and selecting lte band prefrance then selecting lte all.
Get a new T-Mobile Sim Card.
Or put your Sim card in another t mobile lte device and dial *#2263# select lte band preference and then select lte all. Hit home button got to settings more networks change default operater to manual. Then select t mobile to register it. Don't forget to change the band prefrance back to automatic. It's the first choice in *#2263# menu. If you are successful at fixing your Sim card you may skip the next step.



Once the T-Mobile phone boots go to
settings, about, status.
When you see your phone number ( you may have to reboot or make a phone call ) you can then power off the device and remove the sim card.


Put the sim card in the Korean made sgh-i317 and if you are in a strong LTE area it should come up first next to your signal bars.
If still no lte then hit home button go to settings more networks change default operater to manual. Then select t mobile to register it.
Check that you are getting LTE either by looking at the signal bars or by going to settings, about, status.

Once you see that you are getting LTE go back to phone dialer and type *#2263# and select automatic.
For more information on this service mode code see
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...48805580753833

Hope this helps all those phones that couldn't get lte out of the box.
Last edited by billb23ok; 29th October 2014 at 08:46 PM.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to billb23ok For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2014, 05:37 AM   |  #2  
psycho4us4's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Yorba Linda, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,407
 
1,750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
Lookin good, lookin good. Thanks for this, for those that are having this issue. Really made things quite simple.
The Following User Says Thank You to psycho4us4 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2014, 05:46 AM   |  #3  
xBkKx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 267
 
532 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Damn now if only I had a phone to put the new SIM inside. I've been trying forever to get LTE on this phone 😡
15th September 2014, 05:50 AM   |  #4  
billb23ok's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag ontario
Thanks Meter: 70
 
242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xBkKx

Damn now if only I had a phone to put the new SIM inside. I've been trying forever to get LTE on this phone 😡

Go get the sim find a friend only takes a couple minutes

Make the t mobile rep put in their phone
Last edited by billb23ok; 15th September 2014 at 05:55 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to billb23ok For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2014, 05:53 AM   |  #5  
xBkKx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 267
 
532 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by billb23ok

Go get the sim find a friend only takes a couple minutes

I know literally no one with t-mobile. It's all Sprint, AT&T, and Verizon lol
15th September 2014, 05:55 AM   |  #6  
psycho4us4's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Yorba Linda, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,407
 
1,750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xBkKx

Damn now if only I had a phone to put the new SIM inside. I've been trying forever to get LTE on this phone 😡

Literally only take a few seconds. Once the phone number registers on the network it can come right out of the other persons phone and back into your phone. Bam LTE forever as long as you don't screw it up lol.
The Following User Says Thank You to psycho4us4 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2014, 05:56 AM   |  #7  
billb23ok's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag ontario
Thanks Meter: 70
 
242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xBkKx

I know literally no one with t-mobile. It's all Sprint, AT&T, and Verizon lol

Make the t mobile rep put it in their phone
Last edited by billb23ok; 15th September 2014 at 07:30 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to billb23ok For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2014, 05:58 AM   |  #8  
psycho4us4's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Yorba Linda, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,407
 
1,750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xBkKx

I know literally no one with t-mobile. It's all Sprint, AT&T, and Verizon lol

It can be a total stranger. Or a cool tmobile worker. Or a cheap tmobile gsm lte compatible phone you can purchase (cracked screen or something as long as it comes on) if worse come to worse lol

---------- Post added at 08:58 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:58 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by billb23ok

Make the t mobile rep put in their phone

Lmfao. If he's cool he might just do that
The Following User Says Thank You to psycho4us4 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2014, 06:05 AM   |  #9  
DutchDogg54's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Des Moines, IA
Thanks Meter: 2,070
 
2,106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
While this may be great information, this is certainly not development since you didn't "make this" - moved to general where it belonged in the first place. @billb23ok - Take this as your warning - Please do not create threads in development sections without knowing if it's appropriate. Thanks.
The Following User Says Thank You to DutchDogg54 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2014, 06:07 AM   |  #10  
psycho4us4's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Yorba Linda, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,407
 
1,750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DutchDogg54

While this may be great information, this is certainly not development since you didn't "make this" - moved to general where it belonged in the first place. @billb23ok - Take this as your warning - Please do not create threads in development sections without knowing if it's appropriate. Thanks.

Kinda harsh don't ya think? Just saying this is great info and might be the first time he ever posted a thread. Maybe he didn't know the RULES. Just saying you could have had a bit nicer approach to the situation. Sorry for his approach @billb23ok

The Following User Says Thank You to psycho4us4 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes