FORUMS

I/O Summary: App Permissions

Rumors regarding the new app permissions system have been floating about the internet for weeks now. … more

NVIDIA Launches SHIELD Android TV at Google I/O

Since Android TV was announced at Google I/O 2014, there has been very little activity … more

Devs Beware – Automatic Backup Privacy Risks

One new feature of “Android M” (speculation on potential names welcomed … more

Android M to Bring New App Drawer

It has now been seen that Android M will receive a new app drawer as part of the stock … more

Can I take 4.3 back to 4.1.1 just to unlock?

Thanks Meter: 12
 
By flaystus, Senior Member on 18th August 2014, 12:40 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Is there a way to go from the latest version back to 4.1.1 just long enough to unlock? Or did I miss the chance?

BTW at one point I know I had the official update installed but currently am running a 4.3 rom.
Last edited by flaystus; 18th August 2014 at 12:42 AM.
 
 
18th August 2014, 11:42 AM |#2  
terpin32's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 171
 
More
Just download the 4.1.1 on sam mobile and try to unlock can't hurt nothing if it doesn't boot do a factory reset and it should boot
18th August 2014, 06:39 PM |#3  
Darkshado's Avatar
Senior Member
Montréal
Thanks Meter: 482
 
Donate to Me
More
IMHO the smart way to go about doing this is to make a TWRP or Nandroid backup of whatever you're running right now, pull a copy off the phone just in case, downgrade to the 4.1.1 stock TouchWiz ROM (the modem alone is enough if you're on TW 4.1.2+, in any case you might have to skip the bootloaders as those won't downgrade. Assuming you're flashing the "whole" ROM you must factory reset, hence the backups) do the unlock then restore the backup.
Last edited by Darkshado; 18th August 2014 at 09:54 PM. Reason: Made things more accurate.
18th August 2014, 08:10 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Baltimore
Thanks Meter: 689
 
More
Its radio dependant. Not rom / bootloader dependant. Just download a 4.1 radio and the menu options will be available. I was on 4.3 JediX and only downgraded the radio. Worked well for me. If you need the radio let me know and I'll upload it when I get home.


Also Darkshado is correct. You can't downgrade the bootloader. You're better off on the 4.3 loader anyway. Much less hassle as far as WiFi / signal issues go ( flashing different kernels....patching bootloaders... using using selinuxmode changer etc ).
Last edited by pyraxiate; 18th August 2014 at 08:12 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to pyraxiate For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th August 2014, 03:54 AM |#5  
rangercaptain's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag West Coast of California
Thanks Meter: 1,686
 
More
Like ^^^^^ said just flash the J2 modem only. It's the modem that has the unlock menu not the rom.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rangercaptain For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd August 2014, 02:56 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Thumbs up
Everyone on this thread rocks thanks.
27th August 2014, 04:26 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Awesome info, thanx!
1st September 2014, 03:56 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Lightbulb SGH-i317m with telcel mexico was root lost after after JB 4.3
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyraxiate

Its radio dependant. Not rom / bootloader dependant. Just download a 4.1 radio and the menu options will be available. I was on 4.3 JediX and only downgraded the radio. Worked well for me. If you need the radio let me know and I'll upload it when I get home.


Also Darkshado is correct. You can't downgrade the bootloader. You're better off on the 4.3 loader anyway. Much less hassle as far as WiFi / signal issues go ( flashing different kernels....patching bootloaders... using using selinuxmode changer etc ).

I want to unlock the phone and recover my root access, can you help me?

Thanks in advance.
3rd September 2014, 05:08 PM |#9  
rangercaptain's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag West Coast of California
Thanks Meter: 1,686
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjmontes

I want to unlock the phone and recover my root access, can you help me?

Thanks in advance.

Follow the steps to unlock.

Follow the steps to root.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes