Lenovo Officially Owns Motorola, Following ~$3 Billion Deal

Google is now officially no longer the owner American phone manufacturer … more

Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker Announced, Available

The wearable market has been around for a few years, with Pebble and Samsung smartwatches … more

Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more

How to Play Music From Android Wear – XDA TV

Yesterday, we showed you how to do some advanced things with your Moto 360 quite easily … more
Post Reply

Can I take 4.3 back to 4.1.1 just to unlock?

OP flaystus

18th August 2014, 12:40 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
141 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Is there a way to go from the latest version back to 4.1.1 just long enough to unlock? Or did I miss the chance?

BTW at one point I know I had the official update installed but currently am running a 4.3 rom.
Last edited by flaystus; 18th August 2014 at 12:42 AM.
18th August 2014, 11:42 AM   |  #2  
terpin32's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 152
 
856 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Just download the 4.1.1 on sam mobile and try to unlock can't hurt nothing if it doesn't boot do a factory reset and it should boot
18th August 2014, 06:39 PM   |  #3  
Darkshado's Avatar
Senior Member
Montréal
Thanks Meter: 464
 
994 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
IMHO the smart way to go about doing this is to make a TWRP or Nandroid backup of whatever you're running right now, pull a copy off the phone just in case, downgrade to the 4.1.1 stock TouchWiz ROM (the modem alone is enough if you're on TW 4.1.2+, in any case you might have to skip the bootloaders as those won't downgrade. Assuming you're flashing the "whole" ROM you must factory reset, hence the backups) do the unlock then restore the backup.
Last edited by Darkshado; 18th August 2014 at 09:54 PM. Reason: Made things more accurate.
18th August 2014, 08:10 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Baltimore
Thanks Meter: 660
 
1,803 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Its radio dependant. Not rom / bootloader dependant. Just download a 4.1 radio and the menu options will be available. I was on 4.3 JediX and only downgraded the radio. Worked well for me. If you need the radio let me know and I'll upload it when I get home.


Also Darkshado is correct. You can't downgrade the bootloader. You're better off on the 4.3 loader anyway. Much less hassle as far as WiFi / signal issues go ( flashing different kernels....patching bootloaders... using using selinuxmode changer etc ).
Last edited by pyraxiate; 18th August 2014 at 08:12 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to pyraxiate For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th August 2014, 03:54 AM   |  #5  
rangercaptain's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag West Coast of California
Thanks Meter: 1,683
 
4,446 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Like ^^^^^ said just flash the J2 modem only. It's the modem that has the unlock menu not the rom.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rangercaptain For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd August 2014, 02:56 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
141 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Thumbs up
Everyone on this thread rocks thanks.
27th August 2014, 04:26 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Awesome info, thanx!
1st September 2014, 03:56 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
Lightbulb SGH-i317m with telcel mexico was root lost after after JB 4.3
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyraxiate

Its radio dependant. Not rom / bootloader dependant. Just download a 4.1 radio and the menu options will be available. I was on 4.3 JediX and only downgraded the radio. Worked well for me. If you need the radio let me know and I'll upload it when I get home.


Also Darkshado is correct. You can't downgrade the bootloader. You're better off on the 4.3 loader anyway. Much less hassle as far as WiFi / signal issues go ( flashing different kernels....patching bootloaders... using using selinuxmode changer etc ).

I want to unlock the phone and recover my root access, can you help me?

Thanks in advance.
3rd September 2014, 05:08 PM   |  #9  
rangercaptain's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag West Coast of California
Thanks Meter: 1,683
 
4,446 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjmontes

I want to unlock the phone and recover my root access, can you help me?

Thanks in advance.

Follow the steps to unlock.

Follow the steps to root.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes