XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more
Post Reply

[Q] Rooted: Factory Reset: STUCK

OP poochieturner

19th August 2014, 06:14 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Hello to everyone. This is my first adventure. I've read until my eyes have bleed but still haven't figured out a solution to my problem so I will ask scaringly...

I have a AT&T Samsung Note II SGH-I317 rooted.
My phone is currently stuck on "Samsung GALAXY Note II" screen after I did a factory reset.
Initially this worked but as I was setting everything back up, I received a ota system update. And it gave me a failure to upgrade error, try again in kies. Kies will not recognize my phone because it's stuck. I've done the hold up volume + home then power a hundred times but it won't let me go into recovery. I've read of everyones success but I'm still stuck! I used stock roms from at least 5 different sources but none have fully recovered my phone. It does however PASS in odin 3.07 and 3.09.

What other options have I missed? Please help....
19th August 2014, 07:28 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by poochieturner

Hello to everyone. This is my first adventure. I've read until my eyes have bleed but still haven't figured out a solution to my problem so I will ask scaringly...

I have a AT&T Samsung Note II SGH-I317 rooted.
My phone is currently stuck on "Samsung GALAXY Note II" screen after I did a factory reset.
Initially this worked but as I was setting everything back up, I received a ota system update. And it gave me a failure to upgrade error, try again in kies. Kies will not recognize my phone because it's stuck. I've done the hold up volume + home then power a hundred times but it won't let me go into recovery. I've read of everyones success but I'm still stuck! I used stock roms from at least 5 different sources but none have fully recovered my phone. It does however PASS in odin 3.07 and 3.09.

What other options have I missed? Please help....

Weird, ODIN should usually work without issue. Are you using the custom recovery or a stock recovery? You should be able to flash a new recovery with ODIN I believe.
19th August 2014, 07:48 PM   |  #3  
rangercaptain's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag West Coast of California
Thanks Meter: 1,683
 
4,446 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Are you using the factory USB charging cable? Knock-off cables cause odin and kies errors.
19th August 2014, 07:55 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Reply
They were all stock recovery. As I mentioned before, the first time I done it, it worked fine but once I received the update from at&t I've not been able to duplicate that process without get stuck. I can access download and that's it.
Yes, I'm using the usb that came with my phone. ODIN recognizes my phone immediately.
Last edited by poochieturner; 19th August 2014 at 08:00 PM. Reason: made spelling correction and add for additional comments.
19th August 2014, 09:10 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by poochieturner

They were all stock recovery. As I mentioned before, the first time I done it, it worked fine but once I received the update from at&t I've not been able to duplicate that process without get stuck. I can access download and that's it.
Yes, I'm using the usb that came with my phone. ODIN recognizes my phone immediately.

I'm having this same exact problem under very similar circumstances. Has anyone found a solution?
19th August 2014, 10:35 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Thanks Man
Quote:
Originally Posted by hylander2126

I'm having this same exact problem under very similar circumstances. Has anyone found a solution?


Followed your post and got mine working also.. Bootloader did it! Thanks...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes