Turn Your Camera Into a Live Puzzle Game

The classic sliding puzzle game hasnt changed much, if at all, over the years. Dating all the way … more

Samsung Begins Production of 8 Gb RAM Chips

With the release of Android 5.0, our favorite mobile operating system has become 64-bit ready. … more

CM, Micromax and OnePlus – Sales Ban Lifted

It’s less than a week since our recent in-depth analysis of the legal battle over the … more

The History of Flagships: Part I – Sony

Every OEM aspiring to conquer the mobile world undoubtedly releases its take on the so-called … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

GN3 Ac3 support mod by pako7 - update : found & working !

OP kursk

4th September 2014, 11:49 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 68
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Hi everbody,

pako777 of 4pda.ru (pako7 on xda) was kind enough to send me his patch.

The original patch (as in this topic http://4pda.ru/forum/index.php?showt...#entry25623750) is attached to this thread.

As i found too many difference between my original media_codecs.xml and the one in the archive i've juste added these lines to /etc/media_codecs.xml (tagged by <!-- added AC3 support -->, other lines are fyi)
HTML Code:
        <MediaCodec name="OMX.SEC.flac.dec" type="audio/flac" >
            <Quirk name="needs-flush-before-disable" />
            <Quirk name="decoder-ignores-streamcorrupt-error" />
        </MediaCodec>
        <!-- added AC3 support -->
        <MediaCodec name="OMX.SEC.ac3.dec" type="audio/ac3" >
            <Quirk name="needs-flush-before-disable" />
            <Quirk name="decoder-ignores-streamcorrupt-error" />
        </MediaCodec>
        <!-- added AC3 support -->
        <MediaCodec name="OMX.SEC.wma.dec" type="audio/x-ms-wma" >
            <Quirk name="needs-flush-before-disable" />
            <Quirk name="decoder-ignores-streamcorrupt-error" />
        </MediaCodec>
Also copied the to .so files to /system/lib

I'm on rooted stock 4.4.2 XXUENB1

Cheers !
Attached Files
File Type: rar Patch_AC3_N900.rar - [Click for QR Code] (29.4 KB, 199 views)
Last edited by kursk; 9th September 2014 at 05:11 PM. Reason: found
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to kursk For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th September 2014, 02:52 PM   |  #2  
NHS2008's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 221
 
906 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
So this will add AC3 support to Note 3? got it!
Last edited by NHS2008; 11th September 2014 at 06:51 PM.
11th September 2014, 05:48 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
460 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Just a reminder, if you use ES file explorer (not sure about other file managers, don't use anything else), you need to change back file permissions for xml file and both lib files and reboot the phone for it to work.
11th September 2014, 07:30 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 525
 
492 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pete4k

Just a reminder, if you use ES file explorer (not sure about other file managers, don't use anything else), you need to change back file permissions for xml file and both lib files and reboot the phone for it to work.

I just have to copy and paste these lines <MediaCodec name="OMX.SEC.ac3.dec" type="audio/ac3" > <Quirk name="needs-flush-before-disable" /> <Quirk name="decoder-ignores-streamcorrupt-error" /> </MediaCodec> bc all the other ones are already there so I just want to make sure.
11th September 2014, 08:16 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
460 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
copy the lines between "added AC3 Support" to mediacodecs.xml, copy 2 files to /system/lib, fix permissions for all 3 files, reboot
11th September 2014, 09:36 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 525
 
492 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pete4k

copy the lines between "added AC3 Support" to mediacodecs.xml, copy 2 files to /system/lib, fix permissions for all 3 files, reboot

OK that's what I did but I didn't have to fix the permissions I had use rom toolbox with browser within that app. It works I didn't reboot but after I did that all is well.
17th September 2014, 05:40 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
I did this fix and now my youtube, watchESPN soundcloud, netflix, hangouts apps force close. The AC3 audio does work though. Any thoughts?

Factory reset did not fix the issue and AC3 audio is still playing. I guess the reset didn't undo the 'fix' .
Last edited by AppleJuice3; 17th September 2014 at 05:54 AM.
17th September 2014, 05:08 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
460 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleJuice3

I did this fix and now my youtube, watchESPN soundcloud, netflix, hangouts apps force close. The AC3 audio does work though. Any thoughts?

Factory reset did not fix the issue and AC3 audio is still playing. I guess the reset didn't undo the 'fix' .

Youtube works fine on mine, I don't use other programs,
Double check permissions on the files you accessed, verify you didn't accidentally change anything else in xml file, restore original xml file, if all fails reload original firmware, after factory reset it shouldn't be that much more work.
The Following User Says Thank You to pete4k For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th September 2014, 05:18 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
I fixed it by reflashing. Didn't have the time to really get into it. Might experiment more this weekend.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes