FORUMS

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (June 27 – July 4)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

HTC One M9 Developer Edition Android 5.1 OTA

The Developer Edition of the HTC One M9 is receiving an over-the-air update to Android 5.1. … more

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

GN3 Ac3 support mod by pako7 - update : found & working !

24 posts
Thanks Meter: 72
 
By kursk, Junior Member on 4th September 2014, 10:49 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi everbody,

pako777 of 4pda.ru (pako7 on xda) was kind enough to send me his patch.

The original patch (as in this topic http://4pda.ru/forum/index.php?showt...#entry25623750) is attached to this thread.

As i found too many difference between my original media_codecs.xml and the one in the archive i've juste added these lines to /etc/media_codecs.xml (tagged by <!-- added AC3 support -->, other lines are fyi)
HTML Code:
        <MediaCodec name="OMX.SEC.flac.dec" type="audio/flac" >
            <Quirk name="needs-flush-before-disable" />
            <Quirk name="decoder-ignores-streamcorrupt-error" />
        </MediaCodec>
        <!-- added AC3 support -->
        <MediaCodec name="OMX.SEC.ac3.dec" type="audio/ac3" >
            <Quirk name="needs-flush-before-disable" />
            <Quirk name="decoder-ignores-streamcorrupt-error" />
        </MediaCodec>
        <!-- added AC3 support -->
        <MediaCodec name="OMX.SEC.wma.dec" type="audio/x-ms-wma" >
            <Quirk name="needs-flush-before-disable" />
            <Quirk name="decoder-ignores-streamcorrupt-error" />
        </MediaCodec>
Also copied the to .so files to /system/lib

I'm on rooted stock 4.4.2 XXUENB1

Cheers !
Attached Files
File Type: rar Patch_AC3_N900.rar - [Click for QR Code] (29.4 KB, 873 views)
Last edited by kursk; 9th September 2014 at 04:11 PM. Reason: found
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to kursk For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
11th September 2014, 01:52 PM |#2  
NHS2008's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 224
 
More
So this will add AC3 support to Note 3? got it!
Last edited by NHS2008; 11th September 2014 at 05:51 PM.
11th September 2014, 04:48 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
Just a reminder, if you use ES file explorer (not sure about other file managers, don't use anything else), you need to change back file permissions for xml file and both lib files and reboot the phone for it to work.
11th September 2014, 06:30 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 532
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pete4k

Just a reminder, if you use ES file explorer (not sure about other file managers, don't use anything else), you need to change back file permissions for xml file and both lib files and reboot the phone for it to work.

I just have to copy and paste these lines <MediaCodec name="OMX.SEC.ac3.dec" type="audio/ac3" > <Quirk name="needs-flush-before-disable" /> <Quirk name="decoder-ignores-streamcorrupt-error" /> </MediaCodec> bc all the other ones are already there so I just want to make sure.
11th September 2014, 07:16 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
copy the lines between "added AC3 Support" to mediacodecs.xml, copy 2 files to /system/lib, fix permissions for all 3 files, reboot
11th September 2014, 08:36 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 532
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pete4k

copy the lines between "added AC3 Support" to mediacodecs.xml, copy 2 files to /system/lib, fix permissions for all 3 files, reboot

OK that's what I did but I didn't have to fix the permissions I had use rom toolbox with browser within that app. It works I didn't reboot but after I did that all is well.
17th September 2014, 04:40 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I did this fix and now my youtube, watchESPN soundcloud, netflix, hangouts apps force close. The AC3 audio does work though. Any thoughts?

Factory reset did not fix the issue and AC3 audio is still playing. I guess the reset didn't undo the 'fix' .
Last edited by AppleJuice3; 17th September 2014 at 04:54 AM.
17th September 2014, 04:08 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleJuice3

I did this fix and now my youtube, watchESPN soundcloud, netflix, hangouts apps force close. The AC3 audio does work though. Any thoughts?

Factory reset did not fix the issue and AC3 audio is still playing. I guess the reset didn't undo the 'fix' .

Youtube works fine on mine, I don't use other programs,
Double check permissions on the files you accessed, verify you didn't accidentally change anything else in xml file, restore original xml file, if all fails reload original firmware, after factory reset it shouldn't be that much more work.
The Following User Says Thank You to pete4k For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th September 2014, 04:18 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I fixed it by reflashing. Didn't have the time to really get into it. Might experiment more this weekend.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes