Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more

LG to Release Octa-Core “Nuclun” SoC in the LG G3 Screen

LG is set to follow the likes of Samsung and other manufacture its own … more

Lockdown Pro 2 Brings Material Design and Media Support

Back in March of this year, we took a look at a rather innovated security application … more

Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more
Post Reply

google maps and gps

OP jean2323

7th July 2014, 09:03 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
hi Guys,

i have strange problem with google maps ... it won't start the gps!
the gps works fine - tested with gps test

how can i fix this? ... i've tried all google location settings, nothing changes ... it will use the network to locate me, but not the gps ...
the gps-location icon in the notification bar won't appear when i start google maps ...

how can i fix this? any ideas? thank you!

i am on nf4
7th July 2014, 11:50 PM   |  #2  
sauron82's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 176
 
597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jean2323

hi Guys,

i have strange problem with google maps ... it won't start the gps!
the gps works fine - tested with gps test

how can i fix this? ... i've tried all google location settings, nothing changes ... it will use the network to locate me, but not the gps ...
the gps-location icon in the notification bar won't appear when i start google maps ...

how can i fix this? any ideas? thank you!

i am on nf4

I'm having the same problem. GPS Status & Toolbox, GPS Status Test & Fix and GPS Test all get a fix, accurate to 10 metres. When I open Google Maps, it just constantly says waiting for location. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling Google Maps, and now the GPS icon doesn't even come up in the status bar (it did show up before the uninstall/reinstall but it still wouldn't get a fix). Does anyone have any ideas?
8th July 2014, 06:40 AM   |  #3  
Murad Ali's Avatar
Member
Flag Sinsheim, Almanya
Thanks Meter: 58
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Donate to Me
More
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ILKM7AbBjICACg
8th July 2014, 10:29 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
i've uninstalled the updates, now gps starts when i open google maps ...
but i only get the location given by the network or wifi.
the gps icon in the notification bar blinks ... finds the location fast enough (the location is accurate if checked in other applications) ... but this location is not shown in google maps:

if in location settings/mode i check 'gps only' ... the gps locks the correct position, but it is not shown on the map ...
if i chose 'high accuracy' .... maps will show the position of given by the network (which is not accurate)

any ideas? thank you!
8th July 2014, 10:41 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
btw google earth too fails to start the gps and to find an accurate position - it will get the position given by the network ... so it's a google thing - i guess!
8th July 2014, 08:18 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
another funny thing:

in maps i get the location using the network (which is not accurate), but if i switch to navigation - i get the location by gps (more accurate)!
so it uses the gps just for navigation .... what is this?
11th July 2014, 08:19 PM   |  #7  
sauron82's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 176
 
597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
I figured out my problem: Google Play Services and Privacy Guard. Google Play Services needs location access as well as Maps.

Click thanks if I helped you
Sent from my SM-N900W8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Note 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank