Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,290 Members 46,636 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How does Google Navigation work? Does it depend on GPS or cellular network?

Tip us?
 
Neo3D
Old
#1  
Neo3D's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 227
Posts: 1,681
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default [Q] How does Google Navigation work? Does it depend on GPS or cellular network?

How does Google Navigation work? Does it depend on GPS or cellular network or both?

I have a Tmobile Note 3 and sometimes, when my mobile data is showing "E" the Google Maps app can't even get a GPS lock?

Is it the phone? Do I have a lemon?

My friend has a Galaxy Note 3 on Verizon and her Google Maps worked just fine. Her data was showing 4G LTE.

Is anyone here an expert on how Google Maps works? I thought it only needed GPS? I tried all the different GPS settings ("full", power save, GPS only, etc) and none of them made any difference.
 
jdomadia
Old
#2  
jdomadia's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 346
Posts: 922
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dubai

 
DONATE TO ME
I m not an expert, just sharing with you what i know, Google maps can work only on gps but with data pcg locking to gps & loading of maps will be much faster, navigation is a feature now built inside Google maps required internet for navigat to certain destination.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Free mobile app


GIVE ONE THANKS GET ONE FREE
The Following User Says Thank You to jdomadia For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
@SidDev
Old
#3  
@SidDev's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 189
Posts: 376
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Kolkata
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo3D View Post
How does Google Navigation work? Does it depend on GPS or cellular network or both?

I have a Tmobile Note 3 and sometimes, when my mobile data is showing "E" the Google Maps app can't even get a GPS lock?

Is it the phone? Do I have a lemon?

My friend has a Galaxy Note 3 on Verizon and her Google Maps worked just fine. Her data was showing 4G LTE.

Is anyone here an expert on how Google Maps works? I thought it only needed GPS? I tried all the different GPS settings ("full", power save, GPS only, etc) and none of them made any difference.
you can use Google Maps without GPS also, its gets location from the cellular towers around you. but its not always perfect as towers can be near you or far away

So for perfect accuracy GPS is required. GPS lock depends on many reason.
happy to help you .
The Following User Says Thank You to @SidDev For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Neo3D
Old
#4  
Neo3D's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 227
Posts: 1,681
Join Date: Jan 2008
Thanks! Is anyone else using Google Maps/Navigation on a Note 3 with Tmobile?

How good does it do GPS lock?
 
thetitanium
Old
#5  
thetitanium's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 215
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: New Delhi

 
DONATE TO ME
You know one thing? If your maps are cached, you don't even need internet to get a GPS lock......

Sent from my amazing Exynos Note 3.
My Phone: Samsung Galaxy Note 3 SM-900

Quote:
ROM: ALBA UBUENH1 ULTRALITE ODEXED 4.4.2
Baseband: N900UBUENG1
Kernel: STOCK

Hit the thanks button, if I was of some help to you!

HELP ALL, FOLLOW THE RULES, BE PROUD TO BE AN XDAIAN!
The Following User Says Thank You to thetitanium For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
soumen.sam
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 151
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo3D View Post
How does Google Navigation work? Does it depend on GPS or cellular network or both?

I have a Tmobile Note 3 and sometimes, when my mobile data is showing "E" the Google Maps app can't even get a GPS lock?

Is it the phone? Do I have a lemon?

My friend has a Galaxy Note 3 on Verizon and her Google Maps worked just fine. Her data was showing 4G LTE.

Is anyone here an expert on how Google Maps works? I thought it only needed GPS? I tried all the different GPS settings ("full", power save, GPS only, etc) and none of them made any difference.
"E" mean edge which is 2.4g network and slower internet. with "E" the maps slower to download map images, sometime very slower it cant load the full map and it stuck. as the map not loaded the gps doesnt work.

I'm not on Tmobile but whenever I'm traveling on rural areas out of the city, it doesnt work properly until it get a HSPDA network. and for this situation its better to keep it in high accuracy mode, but without gps the navigation doesnt give proper location.
Samsung Note 3: N9000 KitKat 4.4.2

MacSyn InfoTech www.macsyn.com
The Following User Says Thank You to soumen.sam For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dimourinho
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 16
Join Date: Apr 2011
Google maps can work only with gps & data/wifi...But i think if you search on the internet, there is a way to work gMaps and navigate offline!!
The Following User Says Thank You to dimourinho For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MystaMagoo
Old
#8  
MystaMagoo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 76
Posts: 1,059
Join Date: Nov 2008
google maps uses your data and GPS.
you can 'download' areas to make it work without data and only on GPS.
https://support.google.com/gmm/answer/3273567?hl=en-GB

I gave up on GM and tried various data free satnav type aps,I now use navfree
SG Note 3

Stock JB 4.3

The Following User Says Thank You to MystaMagoo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Neo3D
Old
#9  
Neo3D's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 227
Posts: 1,681
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by soumen.sam View Post
"E" mean edge which is 2.4g network and slower internet. with "E" the maps slower to download map images, sometime very slower it cant load the full map and it stuck. as the map not loaded the gps doesnt work.

I'm not on Tmobile but whenever I'm traveling on rural areas out of the city, it doesnt work properly until it get a HSPDA network. and for this situation its better to keep it in high accuracy mode, but without gps the navigation doesnt give proper location.
When I'm on "E," it says "Searching for GPS" like forever and never locks. It's quite frustrating.
 
soumen.sam
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 151
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo3D View Post
When I'm on "E," it says "Searching for GPS" like forever and never locks. It's quite frustrating.
Try do the same thing on a high speed network like wifi, hspds. If that doesnt work go to app, clear all google map app data and cache and then try again.

Please make sure if you have the issue with the GPS hardware then it will does same on highspeed network too. Mine does something same, but i forgot how it does on Edge.

Also what type of cover you're using, if any. magnets of cover sometime malfunction hardware, like compass spen etc, mine effect on spen. So if you're using any cover with magnet the try with removing it.

According to me this phone could malfunction any hardware, its nothing weird, mine vibration doesnt working these days, its a 6month new phone and never dropped.
Samsung Note 3: N9000 KitKat 4.4.2

MacSyn InfoTech www.macsyn.com

The Following User Says Thank You to soumen.sam For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes