What Do You Do with All of Your Old Photos?

Smartphone cameras have advanced so tremendously over the past few years that they have … more

Diving into the April 2015 Material Design Update

Before the release of Android 5.0 Lollipop, the Holo Design guidelines served as the … more

New Cyanogen Partnerships Bring Privacy Concerns

New Privacy concerns have emerged regarding Cyanogen’s latest announcements, … more

PSA: Google Play Services Wakelock Affects Many 5.x ROMs

Wakelocks are the bane of the battery conscious, and this wakelock bug has been … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Leaked Android 5.0 Apps apks Help?

21st October 2014, 11:27 PM |#1  
TeldenW's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Provo, UTAH
Thanks Meter: 13
 
359 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Hey everybody

I found a link this morning for the new Android 5.0 leaked Google apps: http://http://phandroid.com/2014/10/...-5-0-lollipop/

I've simply installed the Messaging apk and it is working really well on my Rooted AT&T Note 3.
I attempted to install the new Gmail app, but I could not get it to work. I was getting FCs and had to jump back to the current Gmail.

Has anyone been able to get the Gmail apk to work?
 
 
22nd October 2014, 12:50 AM |#2  
reesedizan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Holland
Thanks Meter: 53
 
201 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Uninstall Gmail using System App Remover. Boot into recovery, clear cache & davlik, fix permissions, reboot, then install it. Those are the steps I followed.
The Following User Says Thank You to reesedizan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd October 2014, 02:44 AM |#3  
Justinchi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 285
 
1,153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeldenW

Hey everybody

I found a link this morning for the new Android 5.0 leaked Google apps: http://http://phandroid.com/2014/10/...-5-0-lollipop/

I've simply installed the Messaging apk and it is working really well on my Rooted AT&T Note 3.
I attempted to install the new Gmail app, but I could not get it to work. I was getting FCs and had to jump back to the current Gmail.

Has anyone been able to get the Gmail apk to work?

Yeah, what @reesedizan said. It worked for me after simply installing it, trying to open it (it'll force close), clear app cache and data, and rebooting.
22nd October 2014, 03:24 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
This is cool. Going to check out the 5.0 apps.
22nd October 2014, 03:22 PM |#5  
TeldenW's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Provo, UTAH
Thanks Meter: 13
 
359 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by reesedizan

Uninstall Gmail using System App Remover. Boot into recovery, clear cache & davlik, fix permissions, reboot, then install it. Those are the steps I followed.

I have tried both your, and @Justinchi 's method. I'm still getting force closes. Do I need to do something to the apk in root explorer?
22nd October 2014, 03:26 PM |#6  
Justinchi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 285
 
1,153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeldenW

I have tried both your, and @Justinchi 's method. I'm still getting force closes. Do I need to do something to the apk in root explorer?

Which apps aren't working for you?
22nd October 2014, 03:37 PM |#7  
TeldenW's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Provo, UTAH
Thanks Meter: 13
 
359 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justinchi

Which apps aren't working for you?

I've got Messaging working like a charm.

The only app that I'm working on is Gmail. I can't get it to work for the life of me.
22nd October 2014, 03:41 PM |#8  
Justinchi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 285
 
1,153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeldenW

I've got Messaging working like a charm.

The only app that I'm working on is Gmail. I can't get it to work for the life of me.

It may be due to your version of Android or ROM type then. Idk what the problem is. =(
22nd October 2014, 03:43 PM |#9  
TeldenW's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Provo, UTAH
Thanks Meter: 13
 
359 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justinchi

It may be due to your version of Android or ROM type then. Idk what the problem is. =(

I'm running a stock Rooted AT&T sm-n900A. That has probably got a lot to do with it. What are you running?
22nd October 2014, 03:48 PM |#10  
Justinchi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 285
 
1,153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeldenW

I'm running a stock Rooted AT&T sm-n900A. That has probably got a lot to do with it. What are you running?

I'm running a stock-based ROM called Tweaked. Android 4.4.2 on MetroPCS.

Hmm... Maybe you should send a logcat to a dev on here.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes