Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,128 Members 40,391 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Monstruous cache size! More than 1 TB!!

Tip us?
 
powersimon
Old
#1  
powersimon's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 84
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default [Q] Monstruous cache size! More than 1 TB!!

Hi all,
I'm experiencing a strange behaviour of my Note 3 (SM-N9005 - stock KK 4.4.2 - XXUFNG2 - not rooted). As you can see in the attached image, the cache size is 1,47 TB!!! Going deeper into this, I found out that it is related to three apps, each with more or less 500 GB of cache.
Two of them are user apps (Office suite and Amazon apps shop) and if I uninstall them the amount of cache is reduced of 1 TB, as expected. The last one is a system app, Google Newsstand, and I obviously can't delete it.

If I clean the cache via usual apps the amount of cache cleaned is "right": about 10-30 MB, no mention of strange TB-sized cache.

Yesterday I did a wipe cache partition, with no results at all.

So the questions are:
- why the amount of the cache is so ridiculously high? Maybe the internal SD card is broken?
- why are there two different values for the cache amount (second image)?

Suggestions are welcome.

Bye, Simon
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-08-04-13-57-54.png
Views:	141
Size:	137.1 KB
ID:	2883709   Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-08-04-17-13-05.png
Views:	132
Size:	204.4 KB
ID:	2883710  
 
goodoane
Old
(Last edited by goodoane; 4th August 2014 at 09:27 PM.)
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 120
Posts: 217
Join Date: Jul 2007
It could be wrong reported cache that is attached to your account. Stop wonder if your device work normally. Have you tried to clean cache with internal setting (just press on cache then clean).
 
powersimon
Old
#3  
powersimon's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 84
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by goodoane View Post
It could be wrong reported cache that is attached to your account. Stop wonder if your device work normally. Have you tried to clean cache with internal setting (just press on cache then clean).
Sure I did. The wiped amount of cache is about 10-30 MB, that huge gigasized cache remains completely untouched. Actually it seems to be invincible.

Inviato dal mio SM-N9005 utilizzando Tapatalk
 
nicholaschum
Old
(Last edited by nicholaschum; 5th August 2014 at 04:38 AM.)
#4  
nicholaschum's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,113
Posts: 1,726
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto, ON (Hong Kong S.A.R.)

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by powersimon View Post
Hi all,
I'm experiencing a strange behaviour of my Note 3 (SM-N9005 - stock KK 4.4.2 - XXUFNG2 - not rooted). As you can see in the attached image, the cache size is 1,47 TB!!! Going deeper into this, I found out that it is related to three apps, each with more or less 500 GB of cache.
Two of them are user apps (Office suite and Amazon apps shop) and if I uninstall them the amount of cache is reduced of 1 TB, as expected. The last one is a system app, Google Newsstand, and I obviously can't delete it.

If I clean the cache via usual apps the amount of cache cleaned is "right": about 10-30 MB, no mention of strange TB-sized cache.

Yesterday I did a wipe cache partition, with no results at all.

So the questions are:
- why the amount of the cache is so ridiculously high? Maybe the internal SD card is broken?
- why are there two different values for the cache amount (second image)?

Suggestions are welcome.

Bye, Simon
It's clearly incorrectly reported cache. No way in hell would our phones have 1TB of memory. If it did then daaaaaaamn.

If after you cleared the cache from Recovery, and used Clean Master to wipe the cache, and it still didn't work, flash stock.
ROM Problem? Try this or ask me on G+!
Root/TWRP/Kernel/ROM and KNOX 0x0 on N900W8? My guide.

Primary Phone: OnePlus One - A0001
Mahdi v2.7 14/09, ak v40b08, MR-TWRP 2.8.0

Secondary Phone: Note 3 - SM-N900W8
Temasek UO v133, Temasek v3.93, TWRP 2.7.2, NA2 BL, NB7 CP, 0x0

Tablet: Nexus 7 (2012)

OnePlus One ◆ Note 3 ◆ Xperia Tab P ◆ Nexus 7 ◆ Note II LTE ◆ S III LTE ◆ One X ◆ Note I ◆ Galaxy Nexus ◆ S II LTE ◆ S II


 
ShadowLea
Old
#5  
ShadowLea's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 873
Posts: 3,641
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands
Seeing as how the device only has a 32GB drive, logic clearly dictates this is just a glitch.

Ignore it. You have 12,44GB free.
SM-N9005 International Galaxy Note 3, DBT NB7 Stock
SM-G900F International Galaxy S5, PHN NCE Stock
SM-P905 NotePro 12.2 LTE Black, DBT NC3 Stock

The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person who is doing it. –Chinese Proverb

Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups.

The simplest solutions are often the cleverest. They are also usually wrong.
 
powersimon
Old
#6  
powersimon's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 84
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowLea View Post
Seeing as how the device only has a 32GB drive, logic clearly dictates this is just a glitch.

Ignore it. You have 12,44GB free.
Yes, this was obvious. I was asking if this issue could be related to a broken internal SD...
 
ShadowLea
Old
#7  
ShadowLea's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 873
Posts: 3,641
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by powersimon View Post
Yes, this was obvious. I was asking if this issue could be related to a broken internal SD...
Doubtful. It displays the original size and free size accurately. Same SD.

Try emptying the cache through Recovery.

(Shut down the device, press and hold volume up, home and power, let go on the Samsung logo, navigate with volume keys to Wipe Cache Partition, hit the home key to confirm, wait and navigate to reboot now. DON'T click home whilst on Factory Reset/Wipe Data.)
SM-N9005 International Galaxy Note 3, DBT NB7 Stock
SM-G900F International Galaxy S5, PHN NCE Stock
SM-P905 NotePro 12.2 LTE Black, DBT NC3 Stock

The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person who is doing it. –Chinese Proverb

Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups.

The simplest solutions are often the cleverest. They are also usually wrong.
 
powersimon
Old
#8  
powersimon's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 84
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowLea View Post
Try emptying the cache through Recovery.
(Shut down the device, press and hold volume up, home and power, let go on the Samsung logo, navigate with volume keys to Wipe Cache Partition, hit the home key to confirm, wait and navigate to reboot now. DON'T click home whilst on Factory Reset/Wipe Data.)
Already done, as I wrote.
Strangely, nothing changed. Now I'm waiting to completely factory-restore the device.
 
ShadowLea
Old
#9  
ShadowLea's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 873
Posts: 3,641
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by powersimon View Post
Already done, as I wrote.
Strangely, nothing changed. Now I'm waiting to completely factory-restore the device.
My mistake, thought you meant cleared the cache through settings.

If a reset doesn't work, you can always try reflashing the firmware.
SM-N9005 International Galaxy Note 3, DBT NB7 Stock
SM-G900F International Galaxy S5, PHN NCE Stock
SM-P905 NotePro 12.2 LTE Black, DBT NC3 Stock

The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person who is doing it. –Chinese Proverb

Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups.

The simplest solutions are often the cleverest. They are also usually wrong.
 
Graffiti Exploit
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 62
Posts: 297
Join Date: Jan 2012
I have experienced this once! It was from changing ROM(Jackaway to Stock or was it the other way around). I was bothered by how I had lesser free space when I had the same apps at that time.

It seems that the emulated path created a copy of everything in my internal memory like the obbs and stuff which were huge. Accidentally discovered it when pressing the back again and again in Solid Explorer. What I did was deleted it there. I lost my files but I had backup so everything was good.

In conclusion, delete the duplicated files in emulated or internal somewhere. Just backup and then manually delete it. And to be even cleaner, factory reset. Hope it helps.

PS. Mine was bigger about 2GB+ lol. Also when restoring, remove the sd card. I hate it when some apps go to sd when restoring. Lol

Samsung Galaxy Note 3
- Rooted | Xposed | Greenified | AEL Kernel 7.8 at 2.8GHz | 10Hrs. Screen-On Time Set-up
Samsung Galaxy Tab Plus - CarbonROM 4.4.2 R2 | Rooted | Greenified
Nokia Lumia 520 - Windows Phone 8.1 Cyan Firmware

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Schedule is up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more

aLogcat Returns Thanks to XDA Love

The developers of Android, that is Google, gave users several great debugging tools that can be used in … more

And the Winners in the XDA Pebble Development Challenge Are…

Almost two months ago, we set out with Pebble to findthree amazing … more

MediaTek Releases Full Kernel Source for First Android One Devices

Those who might have thought that MediaTek wouldnever release working … more