ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Can NE3 be flashed over NF4?

OP uf21

10th July 2014, 12:41 AM   |  #1  
uf21's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
I flashed the stock UK NF4 rom and then tried flashing the Australian NE3 rom over it but it won't go past the Samsung logo after flashing it.
10th July 2014, 01:48 AM   |  #2  
muhamet's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Skopje
Thanks Meter: 191
 
916 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Nope

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
10th July 2014, 03:52 AM   |  #3  
uf21's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
My understanding was that you could flash and kk over each other but not downgrade to jellybean.
10th July 2014, 12:46 PM   |  #4  
antique_sonic's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Corner of the earth
Thanks Meter: 1,096
 
2,100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by uf21

My understanding was that you could flash and kk over each other but not downgrade to jellybean.

NF can't be downgraded to NE. AFAIK.
Once the letter upgraded u can't gi back to previous letter series. It will be considered downgraded.
The bootloader is different, and it is the ome which lock the downgrading process.
10th July 2014, 01:07 PM   |  #5  
uf21's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by antique_sonic

NF can't be downgraded to NE. AFAIK.
Once the letter upgraded u can't gi back to previous letter series. It will be considered downgraded.
The bootloader is different, and it is the ome which lock the downgrading process.

When did Samsung start doing this? When I had my s3 I was able to downgrade to any version but now I can't even downgrade at all. This is really frustrating. Now I'm stuck on a firmware that cripples my GPS.
11th July 2014, 01:50 AM   |  #6  
ShadowLea's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Enschede, The Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 1,037
 
4,155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by uf21

When did Samsung start doing this? When I had my s3 I was able to downgrade to any version but now I can't even downgrade at all. This is really frustrating. Now I'm stuck on a firmware that cripples my GPS.

With the introduction of JB.

You shouls really research these things beforehand. Mainly because it's mentioned i n pretty much every flash thread.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to ShadowLea For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th July 2014, 05:49 AM   |  #7  
antique_sonic's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Corner of the earth
Thanks Meter: 1,096
 
2,100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by uf21

When did Samsung start doing this? When I had my s3 I was able to downgrade to any version but now I can't even downgrade at all. This is really frustrating. Now I'm stuck on a firmware that cripples my GPS.

samsung started this stuff when they started to use KNOX.
They agressively update the bootloader for any patches useful to protect their system evironment. Therefore, in KK, AFAIK, any changes of the firmware letter, means new bootloader.
what most of users do normally (if they have a rooted device), is just flash a newer custom ROM, and stay with their old bootloader (KK). By doing this way, you still can jump any older custom ROM base without any problem.
But once you flash a new original firmware, it will flash the new bootloader as well. And it is non-downgradable.

cheers.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes