Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[q] sm-n900 - mt6582

OP VonStarkeGSD

3rd July 2014, 02:20 PM   |  #1  
VonStarkeGSD's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 14
 
160 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
I have root access on the device, i have cwm installed which is version: rual autocwm v5.5.0.4.

The problem I have If I try to install any Rom it either freezes or half way through installlation returns me to cwm. I have tried to upgrade cwm to the newer versions ie touch etc and it completes the install and updates but once phone has rebooted is returns me back to the old cwm v5.5. If I do a battery pull the phone boots back up as normal and runs 4.3 and shows I have root.

Some of you might think well I have root access I should be happy however I don't just want to run apps, I wish to play with mods and custom roms so I will like some help if possible.

Last edited by VonStarkeGSD; 3rd July 2014 at 02:23 PM.
3rd July 2014, 02:32 PM   |  #2  
vndnguyen's Avatar
Senior Member
Vinnitsa
Thanks Meter: 968
 
2,654 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonStarkeGSD

I have root access on the device, i have cwm installed which is version: rual autocwm v5.5.0.4.

The problem I have If I try to install any Rom it either freezes or half way through installlation returns me to cwm. I have tried to upgrade cwm to the newer versions ie touch etc and it completes the install and updates but once phone has rebooted is returns me back to the old cwm v5.5. If I do a battery pull the phone boots back up as normal and runs 4.3 and shows I have root.

Some of you might think well I have root access I should be happy however I don't just want to run apps, I wish to play with mods and custom roms so I will like some help if possible.

What do you mean 'mt6582' in the title? Is it MediaTek chipset? If the answer is yes, so you may own a fake device.

You can use Phone INFO ★Samsung★ app to check if it is a original one. Go to the Menu --> 'Refurbishment Check'.
3rd July 2014, 02:39 PM   |  #3  
VonStarkeGSD's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 14
 
160 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vndnguyen

What do you mean 'mt6582' in the title? Is it MediaTek chipset? If the answer is yes, so you may own a fake device.

You can use Phone INFO ★Samsung★ app to check if it is a original one. Go to the Menu --> 'Refurbishment Check'.

Yes it is a MediaTek chipset! I am aware its a like for like clone. My understanding is the clones with MediaTek Chip can still support custom roms?
3rd July 2014, 02:48 PM   |  #4  
vndnguyen's Avatar
Senior Member
Vinnitsa
Thanks Meter: 968
 
2,654 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonStarkeGSD

Yes it is a MediaTek chipset! I am aware its a like for like clone. My understanding is the clones with MediaTek Chip can still support custom roms?

So your device is not a Note 3, you cannot use any Note3's rom obviously.

Please use Phone INFO app to check to make sure.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes