Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,027 Members 49,536 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

trouble flashing ROM

Tip us?
 
j_hansen
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 46
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default trouble flashing ROM

Hi Guys

I suspect this might be quite simple but I seem to be missing something, I rooted using towelroot but when wanting to flash new RON ( Assassin )
when I boot into recovery the little android dude is lying down with a red warning triangle on top and it says ...no command...
I can select the file from SD but it doesn't start flashing.
I'm no wiz at this but did mange on my note 2 with the dittonote3 ROM
Have I missed a step somewhere ????
 
Rosli59564
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 140
Posts: 386
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by j_hansen View Post
Hi Guys

I suspect this might be quite simple but I seem to be missing something, I rooted using towelroot but when wanting to flash new RON ( Assassin )
when I boot into recovery the little android dude is lying down with a red warning triangle on top and it says ...no command...
I can select the file from SD but it doesn't start flashing.
I'm no wiz at this but did mange on my note 2 with the dittonote3 ROM
Have I missed a step somewhere ????
It needs custom recovery[emoji12]

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Rosli59564 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Dejan Sathanas
Old
#3  
Dejan Sathanas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2598
Posts: 1,212
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hell
You should really do some more reading...

Sent from my N9005
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N7piTcDllnY
The Following User Says Thank You to Dejan Sathanas For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
j_hansen
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 46
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosli59564 View Post
It needs custom recovery[emoji12]

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
I did install CWM
The Following User Says Thank You to j_hansen For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Rosli59564
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 140
Posts: 386
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by j_hansen View Post
I did install CWM
That lying down android dude should only be seen in stock recovery. You flashed custom recovery but it was overwritten by stock i guess. Did you see other option such as back up and restore?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
 
j_hansen
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 46
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosli59564 View Post
That lying down android dude should only be seen in stock recovery. You flashed custom recovery but it was overwritten by stock i guess. Did you see other option such as back up and restore?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
Cheers man, at least now I know where the problem is, I should be able to figure it out by doing a bit more reading
I just flashed the Assassin rom using mobile odin so I'll try and go from there and see if it is still on stock recovery once rebooted etc..
 
radicalisto
Old
#7  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1389
Posts: 3,431
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: York

 
DONATE TO ME
CWM didn't take the first time. Check you have the right version for your Model/OS - reflash it, then you're good to go
// LG G3 (D855) // Stock // Stock //

S3(White) > M7(Red) > Note 3(Black) > Nexus 5(Black) > M8(Gunmetal) > LG G3 (Titan Grey)
 
j_hansen
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 46
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by radicalisto View Post
CWM didn't take the first time. Check you have the right version for your Model/OS - reflash it, then you're good to go
That was exactly it, downloaded again and seem all good, thanks a million for your help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes