Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

trouble flashing ROM

OP j_hansen

9th July 2014, 11:44 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Hi Guys

I suspect this might be quite simple but I seem to be missing something, I rooted using towelroot but when wanting to flash new RON ( Assassin )
when I boot into recovery the little android dude is lying down with a red warning triangle on top and it says ...no command...
I can select the file from SD but it doesn't start flashing.
I'm no wiz at this but did mange on my note 2 with the dittonote3 ROM
Have I missed a step somewhere ????
9th July 2014, 12:12 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 166
 
452 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by j_hansen

Hi Guys

I suspect this might be quite simple but I seem to be missing something, I rooted using towelroot but when wanting to flash new RON ( Assassin )
when I boot into recovery the little android dude is lying down with a red warning triangle on top and it says ...no command...
I can select the file from SD but it doesn't start flashing.
I'm no wiz at this but did mange on my note 2 with the dittonote3 ROM
Have I missed a step somewhere ????

It needs custom recovery[emoji12]

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Rosli59564 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th July 2014, 12:25 PM   |  #3  
Dejan Sathanas's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hell
Thanks Meter: 2,677
 
1,428 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
You should really do some more reading...

Sent from my N9005
The Following User Says Thank You to Dejan Sathanas For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th July 2014, 12:31 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosli59564

It needs custom recovery[emoji12]

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

I did install CWM
The Following User Says Thank You to j_hansen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th July 2014, 12:50 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 166
 
452 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by j_hansen

I did install CWM

That lying down android dude should only be seen in stock recovery. You flashed custom recovery but it was overwritten by stock i guess. Did you see other option such as back up and restore?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
9th July 2014, 12:56 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosli59564

That lying down android dude should only be seen in stock recovery. You flashed custom recovery but it was overwritten by stock i guess. Did you see other option such as back up and restore?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Cheers man, at least now I know where the problem is, I should be able to figure it out by doing a bit more reading
I just flashed the Assassin rom using mobile odin so I'll try and go from there and see if it is still on stock recovery once rebooted etc..
9th July 2014, 01:53 PM   |  #7  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,511
 
3,701 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
CWM didn't take the first time. Check you have the right version for your Model/OS - reflash it, then you're good to go
9th July 2014, 02:52 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by radicalisto

CWM didn't take the first time. Check you have the right version for your Model/OS - reflash it, then you're good to go

That was exactly it, downloaded again and seem all good, thanks a million for your help

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes