Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,502 Members 42,356 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

External SD stopped working

Tip us?
 
CenturionFive
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 41
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default External SD stopped working

My Note8 is about 3mos old and is rooted running on CM11. My 64gig Kignston was inserted on day 1 and left in, working fine. Yesterday the external SD stopped. My file manger, Xplorer, started running very slowly so I shutdown, took out the card and replaced it and restarted. It came back up slowly, 1.5min instead of 1.05. The SD card is NOT recognized when I look in Stettings:Storage but when I removed the card I received the warning about removing it without stopping it. My Galaxy 8 phone has the same type card in it so I swapped them. I can see and use the card in the phone but the Note 8 does not recognize the phones card.

Any suggestions?

Cen5
 
gooberdude
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 347
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by CenturionFive View Post
My Note8 is about 3mos old and is rooted running on CM11. My 64gig Kignston was inserted on day 1 and left in, working fine. Yesterday the external SD stopped. My file manger, Xplorer, started running very slowly so I shutdown, took out the card and replaced it and restarted. It came back up slowly, 1.5min instead of 1.05. The SD card is NOT recognized when I look in Stettings:Storage but when I removed the card I received the warning about removing it without stopping it. My Galaxy 8 phone has the same type card in it so I swapped them. I can see and use the card in the phone but the Note 8 does not recognize the phones card.

Any suggestions?

Cen5
Do a factory wipe and see if things go back to normal with the SD... if it does not, it could be hardware or a bug in CM11 version you are running.
GT-N5110 - Saferooted Stock 4.2.2
OTA - Kies Enabled
Xposed Framework
Wanam Xposed
Download to SD Xposed
633x 64GB SD
Multi User @ 4 / WIFI JP 14 / DPI @ 213 in build.prop
360 Security
Greenify & Experimental Features
Play Music frozen & Gallery thumbnail caching disabled
8+ hrs run time
12% per hr Netflix streaming with Miracast
3% drain on 12 hrs of standby WIFI on & Sync enabled
1080p 30fps MHL - Native
3D 1080p Miracast - Secondscreen app
500MB Standby / Wake
750MB average
The Following User Says Thank You to gooberdude For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
CenturionFive
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 41
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gooberdude View Post
Do a factory wipe and see if things go back to normal with the SD... if it does not, it could be hardware or a bug in CM11 version you are running.
By "Factory wipe," do you mean re-install stock firmware or just wipe it an re-install the latest cm-11?

Cen5
 
gooberdude
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 347
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by CenturionFive View Post
By "Factory wipe," do you mean re-install stock firmware or just wipe it an re-install the latest cm-11?

Cen5
For a soft reset... http://beforebuyit.com/hard-reset/sa...ata-reset.html

For a hard reset... http://www.tsar3000.com/Joomla/index...-to&Itemid=104
GT-N5110 - Saferooted Stock 4.2.2
OTA - Kies Enabled
Xposed Framework
Wanam Xposed
Download to SD Xposed
633x 64GB SD
Multi User @ 4 / WIFI JP 14 / DPI @ 213 in build.prop
360 Security
Greenify & Experimental Features
Play Music frozen & Gallery thumbnail caching disabled
8+ hrs run time
12% per hr Netflix streaming with Miracast
3% drain on 12 hrs of standby WIFI on & Sync enabled
1080p 30fps MHL - Native
3D 1080p Miracast - Secondscreen app
500MB Standby / Wake
750MB average
 
as-a
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2010
Default overheating sd card

I had the same problem.
The solution was that the card overheaded by use it.
I can read them in a card reader but not in the Notes 8.
I have exchanged the card and now this card is not so hot in use.
The Following User Says Thank You to as-a For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
CenturionFive
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 41
Join Date: Feb 2011
Not sure what solved it but I did a factory reset anf flashed the latest CM11 snapsot. Mine was a couple months old

Cen5
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Jair Player with a Major Update–Here’s What’s New!

Back in May, we talked a bit aboutJair Player, a nice looking music … more

Paid Android App Developers Will Soon Have to Provide Physical Address

Google has now changed its policies regarding paid app developers. … more

Windows Developers Rejoice! Dev Program’s $99 Yearly Fee is No More!

Microsoft rule in the mobile market, much like the giant dinosaurs … more

Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more