Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,235 Members 51,942 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] soft brick..no os detected.. help?

Tip us?

kombobreaker
Old
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Default [Q] soft brick..no os detected.. help?

First off, I am completely new to rooting so my apologies if I don't catch on to some of the terms being used.

So the other night, I attempted in starting the process in rooting my n5110 using the Unified Android Toolkit. I got through installing necessary drivers, flashing rom, installing twrp and then when i installed supersu, it had mentioned something about no binaries found. after some searching, I came to the conclusion that it might be the fact that I was on 4.4.2 and it was an incompatibility issue. I then tried cf-auto-root but after the flashing step, I was expecting supersu to work then but it wouldn't even load, just giving me the "supersu has stopped" message every time. So I instead tried a factory reset to try cf-aut-boot again but supersu just wouldn't work. At that point I tried uninstalling supersu but there wasn't even a option available. From reading around, I concluded that my device had to be rooted in order to do that but since I wasn't even able to do that, I got desperate and wiped my whole entire system with twrp which resulted in my os being deleted also...

That being said, I would really like to learn the in's and out's of rooting an android device but before that, if someone could give me a step-by-step process in restoring my device so that I could try rooting it again, that would be greatly appreciated. Then if someone could point me to a guide or site in learning about rooting since I'm such a "newb", that would be wonderful also.

CCallahan
Old
Thanks Meter 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by kombobreaker View Post
First off, I am completely new to rooting so my apologies if I don't catch on to some of the terms being used.