Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,560 Members 53,454 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to set the screenshot resolution?

Tip us?
 
petercohen
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 92
Join Date: Aug 2014
Default How to set the screenshot resolution?

Hello, as we all know, we could capture the screen by pressing the button on the S-Pen while it is touching the screen. Is the resolution the same as the one set in the Camera app? Is there a way to set the resolution of screen capture and possibly screen video recording independently from that in the Camera app?
 
muzzy996
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 178
Posts: 770
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
To get a screen shot at native resolution hold the power and home buttons simultaneously. A white border will be displayed briefly if you are successful. The image will be saved to your gallery.

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to muzzy996 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ShadowLea
Old
#3  
ShadowLea's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 871
Posts: 3,641
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands
The setting for the screen capture by either the Spen or the Power+Home buttons is identical to the native screen resolution. This can not be changed. (Not by any regular means. You'd have to find a way to change the entire screen resolution of the tablet itself.)

That method of taking screenshots is no more or less than pressing Printscreen on a Windows computer. It's build into the firmware. (And like everything Touchwiz, it doesn't have settings).
SM-N9005 International Galaxy Note 3, DBT NB7 Stock
SM-G900F International Galaxy S5, PHN NCE Stock
SM-P905 NotePro 12.2 LTE Black, DBT NC3 Stock

The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person who is doing it. –Chinese Proverb

Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups.

The simplest solutions are often the cleverest. They are also usually wrong.
The Following User Says Thank You to ShadowLea For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
petercohen
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 92
Join Date: Aug 2014
Thanks for the info. I was taking screenshots to post on the forum. The file sizes were so big that they could not be posted. I transferred those files to my Mac and used another application to reduce the resolution/size. Then, posted on this forum. I would be great if this could be done on the same device in less steps.
 
ShadowLea
Old
#5  
ShadowLea's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 871
Posts: 3,641
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by petercohen View Post
Thanks for the info. I was taking screenshots to post on the forum. The file sizes were so big that they could not be posted. I transferred those files to my Mac and used another application to reduce the resolution/size. Then, posted on this forum. I would be great if this could be done on the same device in less steps.
You can do that. Install Quickpic (It's a gallery app, works much better than the stock gallery).

Open it, open the photo, hit the optionskey --> Edit --> Edit (the one with the quickpic logo) --> resize (the icon with the four arrows pointing to the center). Select a size and hit the checkmark at the top right. All done
SM-N9005 International Galaxy Note 3, DBT NB7 Stock
SM-G900F International Galaxy S5, PHN NCE Stock
SM-P905 NotePro 12.2 LTE Black, DBT NC3 Stock

The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person who is doing it. –Chinese Proverb

Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups.

The simplest solutions are often the cleverest. They are also usually wrong.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ShadowLea For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
muzzy996
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 178
Posts: 770
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Yeah ShadowLea is right. Whether you use screen shot via the key combo or screen write using the pen stylus the resolution is the same. The images look different because the image is softened in screen write. One can only speculate why this is, my guess is it's probably too bring focus to the writing you're going to add on top of the capture. It's too bad this blur can't be disabled.

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to muzzy996 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes