Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,524 Members 42,484 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] First attempt from 4.1.2 to KK = stuck at yellow triangle

Tip us?

newtype_lex
Old
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Default [Q] First attempt from 4.1.2 to KK = stuck at yellow triangle

Hello, as you guys have already figured out, I am new to rooting. In trying to use Odin to flash CWM into the S II, the phone will not boot after logo. Even when attempting to boot into recovery mode the phone just loops back to the logo. I think I messed up big time. Thanks for reading.

cyril279
Old
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,282
Your post tells us that you're trying to get a different recovery onto the device; it would be very helpful to know what you flashed.

Recovery on the i777 is packaged with the kernel, so you will gain a custom recovery by flashing an appropriate kernel. I don't think that the recovery can be installed separately on this device.

using desktop Odin to flash anything other than stock firmware will result in tripping the flash counter, and the phone will display the yellow triangle as the initial boot screen. Flashing custom firmware via desktop ODIN does NOT necessarily mean that the device won't boot, which leaves me wondering what you flashed.

What is your goal? It will be easier to direct you once we are properly aware of where you were, and what you are aiming to achieve.

-Cyril

Quote:
Originally Posted by newtype_lex View Post
Hello, as you guys have already figured out, I am new to rooting. In trying to use Odin to flash CWM into the S II, the phone will not boot after logo. Even when attempting to boot into recovery mode the phone just loops back to the logo. I think I messed up big time. Thanks for reading.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to cyril279 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]

newtype_lex
Old
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Quote: