FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

[MODEM] Main modem XX versions flashable through CWM

441 posts
Thanks Meter: 735
 
By bgn9000, Senior Member on 26th September 2011, 08:24 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
26th September 2011, 04:54 PM |#11  
bgn9000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Versailles
Thanks Meter: 735
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by patt2k

I flashed the 2.3.5 KI3 and still get no Mobile Data ... I just came from villian to the 2.3.5 it was working on there just fine. Any ideas which one to flash?

Do you have access to normal GSM connection ?
Could you check your modem version (just to verify there is no unknown) ?
And IMEI ?
 
 
27th September 2011, 01:42 PM |#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by n-zocker

hmm we have that already

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1131950

The front page hasn't been updated since KG3, you have to scroll through 36 pages to find later modems. And for the ones actually on the first page you have to transfer to another website before you can download them, not great for the mobile app.
27th September 2011, 02:08 PM |#13  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
it is said KG2 is the best...just will check this out
27th September 2011, 02:20 PM |#14  
pac213's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
Donate to Me
More
Just flashed KI3 on VillainRom 3.0. Thanks!
27th September 2011, 03:34 PM |#15  
Zanr Zij's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Halong Bay
Thanks Meter: 593
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pac213

Just flashed KI3 on VillainRom 3.0. Thanks!

With me, KI1 is the best modem so far. Better wifi strength!

Sent from my GT-I9100
27th September 2011, 07:03 PM |#16  
bgn9000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Versailles
Thanks Meter: 735
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zanr Zij

With me, KI1 is the best modem so far. Better wifi strength!

Sent from my GT-I9100

Normally, wifi belongs to kernel not modem.
I tried this after a bad modem flash
27th September 2011, 07:06 PM |#17  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 2,549
 
Donate to Me
More
i think you don need to post the zip files for every modem coz i have posted a skeleton zip together with instructions about a year ago in the I9000 forum

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=833861
http://ykkfive.blogspot.com/2010/11/...-anywhere.html

NOTE: the redbend_ua file inside the zip is for I9000 AND NOT FOR I9100, just replace it with I9100's redbend_ua will do
27th September 2011, 07:25 PM |#18  
bgn9000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Versailles
Thanks Meter: 735
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ykk_five

i think you don need to post the zip files for every modem coz i have posted a skeleton zip together with instructions about a year ago in the I9000 forum

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=833861
http://ykkfive.blogspot.com/2010/11/...-anywhere.html

NOTE: the redbend_ua file inside the zip is for I9000 AND NOT FOR I9100, just replace it with I9100's redbend_ua will do

Interesting indeed

Post 2: my personnal results / benchmark about battery usage for each modem... this is the main purpose of this thread.
27th September 2011, 07:31 PM |#19  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 78
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgn9000

This is the same version. I just extracted modem.bin from each stock ROM and put it into a zip file with a small CWM script.



My idea is to give a way to avoid Odin/PC and to decorrelate ROM and modem versions.
Moreover, I am trying to investigate battery usage for each in some situations. I am not paying too much attention on network efficiency.



For the moment, the best one is KG5.

Very useful thread but note that network efficiency has direct and severe impact on battery life...

My scenario is: im on the 3uk network, and the best modem for me is the 3 modified Ke7 (? Not sure, not on phone now, have to double check)... any other modem gives ****ty network coverage and therefore bad battery life...

Ke7 (?) modified by 3 gives the best coverage and battery life for me...

Even if I use the normal ke7 (?) downloaded from here, I have bad network coverage...

I plan on extracting the modem from 3uk stock ROM and posting in a new thread for other 3uk users to test...

I'll make some research on how to extract the radio from the ROM...
27th September 2011, 07:48 PM |#20  
bgn9000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Versailles
Thanks Meter: 735
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by testando

Very useful thread but note that network efficiency has direct and severe impact on battery life...

My scenario is: im on the 3uk network, and the best modem for me is the 3 modified Ke7 (? Not sure, not on phone now, have to double check)... any other modem gives ****ty network coverage and therefore bad battery life...

Ke7 (?) modified by 3 gives the best coverage and battery life for me...

Even if I use the normal ke7 (?) downloaded from here, I have bad network coverage...

I plan on extracting the modem from 3uk stock ROM and posting in a new thread for other 3uk users to test...

I'll make some research on how to extract the radio from the ROM...

I am aware of those different results expected on different networks/providers
Your remark is very interesting and you can post here your modem.bin file you can extract from your 3uk stock ROM. Usually, this is a tar (or tar.md5 : just rename it by removing .md5 at the end) file or and exe file (Exe file is a self extracted exe on PC/windows). Once you will extract (unzip if you like) everything on your PC. Into sub directory, you should find modem.bin file.

Let me know by PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to bgn9000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th September 2011, 08:48 PM |#21  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 78
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgn9000

I am aware of those different results expected on different networks/providers
Your remark is very interesting and you can post here your modem.bin file you can extract from your 3uk stock ROM. Usually, this is a tar (or tar.md5 : just rename it by removing .md5 at the end) file or and exe file (Exe file is a self extracted exe on PC/windows). Once you will extract (unzip if you like) everything on your PC. Into sub directory, you should find modem.bin file.

Let me know by PM.

Thanks, will try when I get home!

Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Teio For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes