Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

1080p recording is zoomed :/

OP Chad_Petree

18th February 2011, 03:57 PM   |  #1  
Chad_Petree's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 185
 
2,400 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Check it out , from minute 1:51 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bxeFQ...layer_embedded
18th February 2011, 06:35 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
The iPhone 4 does the same,i wonder what is the reason for that...
19th February 2011, 05:22 PM   |  #3  
Chad_Petree's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 185
 
2,400 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by darksaber73

The iPhone 4 does the same,i wonder what is the reason for that...

i read about the iphone doing the same but i have no clue
21st February 2011, 02:16 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag londonderry
Thanks Meter: 173
 
2,149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
ya read that too on gsmarena.. hope they fix it by release time.
22nd February 2011, 01:47 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
It isn't a really terrible issue,but i can't help but keep wondering what's the reason for that zoom.
It wasn't solved on iphone 4 so i guess there's a "deep and technical" reason beyond that.
22nd February 2011, 04:14 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
Maybe the 1080p doesn't divide well into the 8 megapixel camera for easy conversion, so they make the viewable area slightly smaller so it is a nice multiple of the 1080p, because the processor can't handle the load otherwise. Shot in the dark.
The Following User Says Thank You to silverwolf0 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th February 2011, 12:28 PM   |  #7  
MikeyMike01's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 2,462
 
6,414 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Could it be that you can't display a full 1920x1080 video in a 800x480 screen?

Sent from my Captivate.
25th February 2011, 03:34 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag londonderry
Thanks Meter: 173
 
2,149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeyMike01

Could it be that you can't display a full 1920x1080 video in a 800x480 screen?

Sent from my Captivate.

i doubt it because you cannot display full 720p either ie 1280x720 but it doesnt crop/zoom that image when you video record..
25th February 2011, 03:49 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
1,426 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by darksaber73

The iPhone 4 does the same,i wonder what is the reason for that...

No it doesnt. Double tap your screen and it zooms out.
28th February 2011, 11:50 AM   |  #10  
troed's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vienna
Thanks Meter: 122
 
913 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeyMike01

Could it be that you can't display a full 1920x1080 video in a 800x480 screen?

Sent from my Captivate.

Naturally it is so and also logical !

How should a 800 x 480 pixel screen show full resolution of 1080 p ? It is not possible physically. Only via HML on the TV-screen You will have full HD res.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes