FORUMS

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

[CMW ZIP] Orange UK ICS Signal Boost

1,256 posts
Thanks Meter: 181
 
By alcurtis93, Senior Member on 20th May 2012, 02:02 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I thought i would create a new CMW flashable zip for people on orange uk moving to Custom Roms, or even those who are on generic firmware but don't have this capibilty.
It basically enables Signal boost technology (UMA) for our Galaxy S II when in low signal areas.
This CMW zip works perfectly. This zip is tried and tested on AOKP (Hydrog3n ICS) using Siyah Kernel.
However Give me and others feedback on if this works for you on other Rom's.
Remember this is Orange Network only!

Find the zip attached.
Just flash in recovery.

Here's an emergency link in case the xda one becomes unresponsive....
https://www.box.com/s/404ac0aba2a144a5355d
Attached Files
File Type: zip OrangeSignalBoost_Signed_working.zip - [Click for QR Code] (3.31 MB, 2048 views)
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to alcurtis93 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
20th May 2012, 02:31 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Can I just confirm this is only for the orange branded S2 that contains nfc? The reason I ask is I have an unbranded S2 on the orange network (through phones4u)

I'm guessing this is no good for me?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
20th May 2012, 02:59 PM |#3  
Member
Flag Forest Of Dean
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Thanks
This is working a treat many thanks
I am on omega ics rom
dxlp9 and xwlp8 kernel

---------- Post added at 02:59 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:58 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Currykiev

Can I just confirm this is only for the orange branded S2 that contains nfc? The reason I ask is I have an unbranded S2 on the orange network (through phones4u)

I'm guessing this is no good for me?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

It should work for anyone using orange uk sim
The Following User Says Thank You to stubradley1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th May 2012, 05:11 PM |#4  
alcurtis93's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 181
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Currykiev

Can I just confirm this is only for the orange branded S2 that contains nfc? The reason I ask is I have an unbranded S2 on the orange network (through phones4u)

I'm guessing this is no good for me?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

This will work fine. My s2 is the unbranded non nfc version. Glad to hear its working for others.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to alcurtis93 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st May 2012, 10:36 AM |#5  
mario999's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
I have a t mobile sim which falls back onto the orange signal. Will this do anything?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
21st May 2012, 12:38 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 164
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mario999

I have a t mobile sim which falls back onto the orange signal. Will this do anything?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

wondering that too. Im on t-mobile but in my flat it defaults to orange most of the time due to bad signal.
21st May 2012, 01:00 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
The older GB version never worked on T-mobile so i doubt the ICS version will either
The Following User Says Thank You to Joey2o11 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st May 2012, 01:09 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 146
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by skimminstones

wondering that too. Im on t-mobile but in my flat it defaults to orange most of the time due to bad signal.

I'm also the same. As you guys. Maybe it will work only when the signal goes to Orange?
21st May 2012, 04:35 PM |#9  
Toxic17's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Belfast
Thanks Meter: 66
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by imlgl

I'm also the same. As you guys. Maybe it will work only when the signal goes to Orange?

Signal boost works omly on wifi not on the reception of GSM/GPRS/UTMS/etc

If TMobile support UMA then it should work

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
21st May 2012, 05:22 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 146
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toxic17

Signal boost works omly on wifi not on the reception of GSM/GPRS/UTMS/etc

If TMobile support UMA then it should work

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

Just flashed it. Now to see if there is any difference.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
galaxy s 2, orange, sgs2, signal boost, uma tech
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes