FORUMS

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more

Cyngn Explained: Who’s Cyanogen, What’s Cyanogen OS?

While Cyanogen, Inc has been the source of many headlines lately, there … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

KF3 Firmware out on KIES

29th June 2011, 09:27 AM |#1  
ajayjohn's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 446
 
More
I am not sure if there is a thread already out for this as i couldn't find one on search.

I am a SGS II user in India and i just got a KIES notice that a firmware upgrade is available to KF3.

Is this the same one as what was release on samfirware?
 
 
29th June 2011, 09:29 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,459
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajayjohn

I am not sure if there is a thread already out for this as i couldn't find one on search.

I am a SGS II user in India and i just got a KIES notice that a firmware upgrade is available to KF3.

Is this the same one as what was release on samfirware?



Yes .

jje
The Following User Says Thank You to JJEgan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th June 2011, 09:44 AM |#3  
Sp1tfire's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 130
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajayjohn

I am not sure if there is a thread already out for this as i couldn't find one on search.

I am a SGS II user in India and i just got a KIES notice that a firmware upgrade is available to KF3.

Is this the same one as what was release on samfirware?

Is your phone Vodafone branded ? Wonder if Vodafone Romania released this firmware ?
29th June 2011, 09:55 AM |#4  
Intratech's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 4,509
 
Donate to Me
More
Firmware had already been posted in the firmware thread in the dev forum.
The Following User Says Thank You to Intratech For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th June 2011, 10:35 AM |#5  
ajayjohn's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 446
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sp1tfire

Is your phone Vodafone branded ? Wonder if Vodafone Romania released this firmware ?

No, its an unbranded unit from India...
29th June 2011, 06:53 PM |#6  
Account currently disabled
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 1,385
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajayjohn

I am not sure if there is a thread already out for this as i couldn't find one on search.

I am a SGS II user in India and i just got a KIES notice that a firmware upgrade is available to KF3.

Is this the same one as what was release on samfirware?

Wow, thanks fyi. Can't wait to upgrade it. Gonna do it as soon as my PC is ok.
What changes are you noticing btw? Both positives and negatives.
Regards.


Sent from GT-I9100
30th June 2011, 12:32 PM |#7  
ajayjohn's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 446
 
More
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by ithehappy

Wow, thanks fyi. Can't wait to upgrade it. Gonna do it as soon as my PC is ok.
What changes are you noticing btw? Both positives and negatives.
Regards.


Sent from GT-I9100


As for changes, I have noticed the following till now...
1) The image for background effect, in the display settings has changed
2) The battery life seems to have improved significantly
3) Lock screen display wake lag seems to have come in now
4) Background themes in messaging is no longer there

Will keep you posted as soon as i notice more changes.
Do share anything you guys find too...
30th June 2011, 12:41 PM |#8  
darkmessiah's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag chennai
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
i jus tried updating my SGS II to KF3 via KIES it downloaded the update and after decryption of binary data the mobile display is staying on the green android logo and below it downloading ...

WHt do i do .. pls help
30th June 2011, 12:49 PM |#9  
ajayjohn's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 446
 
More
Lightbulb
The update process gets stuck if KIES is not able to connect to your phone properly. Usually this ends with a popup message saying Update mode couldn't be activated or something like that.
If you do find a blue progress bar increasing slowly below the green android then all is fine, just wait. But if The process is stuck at 0% or an error comes up. Then you can try again by doing a hard reset of your phone and trying to run the update process again. Do not use the recover firmware option in Kies at this moment. The hard reset is necessary as third party launchers and other apps sometimes interfere in the connection to Kies.
To, get out of the green Android download screen and do whatever is stated above, simply remove the battery briefly and start your phone again.
Hope this was helpful. The information i provided is just based on my experience, correct me if i am wrong...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ajayjohn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2011, 01:03 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajayjohn

The update process gets stuck if KIES is not able to connect to your phone properly. Usually this ends with a popup message saying Update mode couldn't be activated or something like that.
If you do find a blue progress bar increasing slowly below the green android then all is fine, just wait. But if The process is stuck at 0% or an error comes up. Then you can try again by doing a hard reset of your phone and trying to run the update process again. Do not use the recover firmware option in Kies at this moment. The hard reset is necessary as third party launchers and other apps sometimes interfere in the connection to Kies.
To, get out of the green Android download screen and do whatever is stated above, simply remove the battery briefly and start your phone again.
Hope this was helpful. The information i provided is just based on my experience, correct me if i am wrong...

What network/country/ branded or unbranded/ previous firmware? If u don't mind me asking ;)

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA Premium App
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
new firmware kf3
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes