5,596,700 Members 46,183 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Is Qik preinstalled on SII ?

Tip us?
 
Sp1tfire
Old
#1  
Sp1tfire's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 119
Posts: 922
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bucharest
Default Is Qik preinstalled on SII ?

Today Samsung Apps prompted me to update Qik. Is Qik preinstalled on SII cause i certainly didn't install it and i don't have it in my apps. The annoying thing is i can't get rid of the message unless i update/install it
 
BarryH_GEG
Old
#2  
BarryH_GEG's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3774
Posts: 8,197
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Spokane, Washington
Qik comes pre-installed on a lot of phones in the U.S. Whoever you're video-calling has to have Qik also. I'm guessing in Europe Qik would be a waste. It doesn't do anything that Skype (with video) doesn't do too. Microsoft also just bought them so I'd imagine it'll get absorbed in to Skype anyway.
 
Sp1tfire
Old
#3  
Sp1tfire's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 119
Posts: 922
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bucharest
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryH_GEG View Post
Qik comes pre-installed on a lot of phones in the U.S. Whoever you're video-calling has to have Qik also. I'm guessing in Europe Qik would be a waste. It doesn't do anything that Skype (with video) doesn't do too. Microsoft also just bought them so I'd imagine it'll get absorbed in to Skype anyway.
Well, if it's preinstalled, it is very well hidden. I can't seem to find any app that could be Qik on my device, besides Android Market doesn't see it as installed either. I use Tango or Viber for wi-fi calls anyway. I just wanna get rid of the annoying message
 
rodeo_calling
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 81
Posts: 361
Join Date: Mar 2005
I got a message to update it as well. Any ideas where it is located on the phone.

Sent from my galaxy S2
 
Sp1tfire
Old
#5  
Sp1tfire's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 119
Posts: 922
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bucharest
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodeo_calling View Post
I got a message to update it as well. Any ideas where it is located on the phone.

Sent from my galaxy S2
I couldn' t find it, hopefully someone figures it out.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA Premium App
 
Idan73
Old
(Last edited by Idan73; 24th July 2011 at 02:52 AM.)
#6  
Idan73's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 439
Posts: 1,889
Join Date: Jul 2010
It is not in the phone.

Samsung lies it is not update but rather new install that samsung wants to push onto phones prolly cause some backroom deal.

I don't even know why it bothers you guys it is only in samsung app who even goes there for trialware crapware. Not like its on notification bar.

Sent from my GT-I9100
"Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever!!!"
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes