Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Is Qik preinstalled on SII ?

OP Sp1tfire

22nd July 2011, 11:03 PM   |  #1  
Sp1tfire's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 127
 
932 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Today Samsung Apps prompted me to update Qik. Is Qik preinstalled on SII cause i certainly didn't install it and i don't have it in my apps. The annoying thing is i can't get rid of the message unless i update/install it
22nd July 2011, 11:11 PM   |  #2  
BarryH_GEG's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Spokane, Washington
Thanks Meter: 4,400
 
8,972 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Qik comes pre-installed on a lot of phones in the U.S. Whoever you're video-calling has to have Qik also. I'm guessing in Europe Qik would be a waste. It doesn't do anything that Skype (with video) doesn't do too. Microsoft also just bought them so I'd imagine it'll get absorbed in to Skype anyway.
22nd July 2011, 11:17 PM   |  #3  
Sp1tfire's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 127
 
932 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryH_GEG

Qik comes pre-installed on a lot of phones in the U.S. Whoever you're video-calling has to have Qik also. I'm guessing in Europe Qik would be a waste. It doesn't do anything that Skype (with video) doesn't do too. Microsoft also just bought them so I'd imagine it'll get absorbed in to Skype anyway.

Well, if it's preinstalled, it is very well hidden. I can't seem to find any app that could be Qik on my device, besides Android Market doesn't see it as installed either. I use Tango or Viber for wi-fi calls anyway. I just wanna get rid of the annoying message
23rd July 2011, 06:42 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
361 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
I got a message to update it as well. Any ideas where it is located on the phone.

Sent from my galaxy S2
23rd July 2011, 02:47 PM   |  #5  
Sp1tfire's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 127
 
932 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodeo_calling

I got a message to update it as well. Any ideas where it is located on the phone.

Sent from my galaxy S2

I couldn' t find it, hopefully someone figures it out.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA Premium App
24th July 2011, 03:49 AM   |  #6  
Idan73's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 471
 
2,027 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
It is not in the phone.

Samsung lies it is not update but rather new install that samsung wants to push onto phones prolly cause some backroom deal.

I don't even know why it bothers you guys it is only in samsung app who even goes there for trialware crapware. Not like its on notification bar.

Sent from my GT-I9100
Last edited by Idan73; 24th July 2011 at 03:52 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes