FORUMS

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

WiFi really poor?

1,588 posts
Thanks Meter: 174
 
By jameslfc5, Senior Member on 22nd July 2011, 08:48 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Is it just me or do you find the wifi strength to be really poor?

My friend was at my house last night and his htc incredible said full signal and mine said 1 bar

Does software affect anything?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA Premium App
 
 
22nd July 2011, 09:10 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,486
 
More
Nope but the signal strength is poorly indicated bars mean little if you have no bars and full strength signal .
Use speedtest.net to measure .

jje
22nd July 2011, 09:58 AM |#3  
Daniele150cv's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Yes I also noticed that when the signal is poor but the device is connected, the connection is blend but solid..
But the GS2 receiver is 1/3 than the receiver of the desire HD
I noticed some improvement with KF2 baseband imho the best receiver and the minor battery drainer for the device
22nd July 2011, 10:11 AM |#4  
crush's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 148
 
More
for me its working fine. No issues
22nd July 2011, 10:23 AM |#5  
Daniele150cv's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaplu

for me its working fine. No issues

I didn't say "issue" but that i've noticed that the power of the GS2 wifi receiver is minor in confront of the DesireHD receiver
Imho it is the only sin of this fanstastic, strongest device
Last edited by Daniele150cv; 22nd July 2011 at 10:29 AM.
22nd July 2011, 10:30 AM |#6  
Member
Flag Prizren
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Yeah, I also have poor wi-fi signal, regularly 1 or 2 bars less than iphone 4 or even my old htc desire. Sometimes this will happen even if I stand barely 2 feet away from the router. But the connection is always solid, when it's there.
22nd July 2011, 10:36 AM |#7  
Daniele150cv's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adem_7

Yeah, I also have poor wi-fi signal, regularly 1 or 2 bars less than iphone 4 or even my old htc desire. Sometimes this will happen even if I stand barely 2 feet away from the router. But the connection is always solid, when it's there.

Right....if the connection start, don't worry is will be rock solid
But, often the problem is catch the connection when the signal is poor
22nd July 2011, 10:55 AM |#8  
LuffyPSP's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 169
 
More
Agree on this. Mine showing 2 bars but i cant browse or it is slow as hell. On desire no problem at all.

Nuked from Galaxy S II conquered by VillainROM v2.1.0
22nd July 2011, 12:47 PM |#9  
Isadora's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 166
 
More
Well as long as it works (mine does, flawlessly), I really couldn't care less about how many bars are displayed.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA Premium App
22nd July 2011, 01:13 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
The wifi strenght sucks on my SGII too..

I was used to surf from my room , even with my iPod touch 3g (only B/G), but the SGII takes just one bar of signal and doesen't work, and that's strange considering that it supports B/G/N...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes