Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,290 Members 45,962 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

WiFi really poor?

Tip us?
 
jameslfc5
Old
#1  
jameslfc5's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 172
Posts: 1,570
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default WiFi really poor?

Is it just me or do you find the wifi strength to be really poor?

My friend was at my house last night and his htc incredible said full signal and mine said 1 bar

Does software affect anything?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA Premium App
 
JJEgan
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4,420
Posts: 23,043
Join Date: Oct 2010
Nope but the signal strength is poorly indicated bars mean little if you have no bars and full strength signal .
Use speedtest.net to measure .

jje
 
Daniele150cv
Old
#3  
Daniele150cv's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jul 2011
Yes I also noticed that when the signal is poor but the device is connected, the connection is blend but solid..
But the GS2 receiver is 1/3 than the receiver of the desire HD
I noticed some improvement with KF2 baseband imho the best receiver and the minor battery drainer for the device
 
crush
Old
#4  
crush's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 148
Posts: 1,458
Join Date: Dec 2010
for me its working fine. No issues
 
Daniele150cv
Old
(Last edited by Daniele150cv; 22nd July 2011 at 10:29 AM.)
#5  
Daniele150cv's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaplu View Post
for me its working fine. No issues
I didn't say "issue" but that i've noticed that the power of the GS2 wifi receiver is minor in confront of the DesireHD receiver
Imho it is the only sin of this fanstastic, strongest device
 
adem_7
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 85
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Prizren
Yeah, I also have poor wi-fi signal, regularly 1 or 2 bars less than iphone 4 or even my old htc desire. Sometimes this will happen even if I stand barely 2 feet away from the router. But the connection is always solid, when it's there.
 
Daniele150cv
Old
#7  
Daniele150cv's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by adem_7 View Post
Yeah, I also have poor wi-fi signal, regularly 1 or 2 bars less than iphone 4 or even my old htc desire. Sometimes this will happen even if I stand barely 2 feet away from the router. But the connection is always solid, when it's there.
Right....if the connection start, don't worry is will be rock solid
But, often the problem is catch the connection when the signal is poor
 
LuffyPSP
Old
#8  
LuffyPSP's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 160
Posts: 2,232
Join Date: Aug 2010
Agree on this. Mine showing 2 bars but i cant browse or it is slow as hell. On desire no problem at all.

Nuked from Galaxy S II conquered by VillainROM v2.1.0

Current Active Device : Google Nexus 5 D821 32GB
Previous Device : HTC One M7 64GB, Nexus 7 2013 32GB LTE, Google Nexus 4 16GB, HTC One X 32GB, Google Galaxy Nexus 16GB, Google Nexus S 16GB, Asus Transformer TF101, Samsung Galaxy S2 16GB, HTC Desire
 
Isadora
Old
#9  
Isadora's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 166
Posts: 980
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: London
Well as long as it works (mine does, flawlessly), I really couldn't care less about how many bars are displayed.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA Premium App
 
unixunderground
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2011
The wifi strenght sucks on my SGII too..

I was used to surf from my room , even with my iPod touch 3g (only B/G), but the SGII takes just one bar of signal and doesen't work, and that's strange considering that it supports B/G/N...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes