Sunday Debate: Better to Buy Older or Newer Hardware?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on New vs. Old. Come with your opinions and feel … more

HTC Sense Camera & Gallery for M8 GPE Lollipop

If you are running a GPE ROM and miss the sense gallery and camera, this flashable zip by … more

XenonHD Unofficial AOSP-based ROM for Find 7a

XDA Recognized Contributor uppon2 & Team Horizon are bringing the Oppo … more

Sunshine Compatible with HTC One M9

Two Senior Recognized Developers jcase and beaups officially released a new version of Sunshine. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] 2g 3g 4g Speeds in the US with European SGS2

9th January 2012, 05:04 AM |#1  
deadcookie's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 7
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Hi folks
I just moved to the US (about a week ago) and was wondering why my mobile internet connection is so slow.
I have a SGS2 factory unlocked and i was fine with it in Germany (no problems with 2g or 3g speed)
Now I'm in the US with a t-mobile prepaid card which should give me 3g speeds , if not 3g at least EDGE Speed. But the only thing i get is the E-sign with 2 arrows which is friggin slow.
As far as i know t-mobile's 2g & 3g frequencies should be the same as in Europe.
So my question: Is my phone the problem or is it just that the 2g/3g coverage in San Diego is so bad ?
thx in advance
 
 
9th January 2012, 06:35 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 33
 
338 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
its normal...coz sgs2 does not support t-mobile 3g bands....but it does support at&t 3g bands....i am also using t-mobile prepaid plan...and dont use data that much...coz everywhere i go i have wifi....

Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda premium
9th January 2012, 06:39 AM |#3  
deadcookie's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 7
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
ah ok thx for the reply
do you happen to know if an factory unlocked iphone (without sim lock bought directly from apple) will be able to use the US-3g bands as well as the European ones ?
9th January 2012, 07:02 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 33
 
338 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
as far as i know....it will be same as sgs2....only supports at&t 3g bands.....no t-mobile.....
9th January 2012, 09:57 PM |#5  
deadcookie's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 7
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Ok thx man.. Guess I gotta ask them directly then

Swyped from my SGS 2 using Tapatalk
9th January 2012, 10:56 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 906
 
3,572 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadcookie

Ok thx man.. Guess I gotta ask them directly then

Swyped from my SGS 2 using Tapatalk

Asking who directly? T-Mobile USA? You can ask, won't change the answer. If you want 3/4g in the US with either a European Galaxy S2 (GT-I9100) or an unlocked iPhone, you will need to be on AT&T.

T-Mobile doesn't use the frequencies that those two phones support.

Quote:
Originally Posted by deadcookie

Now I'm in the US with a t-mobile prepaid card which should give me 3g speeds , if not 3g at least EDGE Speed. But the only thing i get is the E-sign with 2 arrows which is friggin slow.

E-sign = EDGE.
18th November 2013, 08:04 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
So if i buy me i9100 s2 and i put at&t sim card, i live in texas USA will i get at least 3g signals?
18th November 2013, 10:18 PM |#8  
Dakura's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Samsun
Thanks Meter: 49
 
240 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadcookie

Hi folks
I just moved to the US (about a week ago) and was wondering why my mobile internet connection is so slow.
I have a SGS2 factory unlocked and i was fine with it in Germany (no problems with 2g or 3g speed)
Now I'm in the US with a t-mobile prepaid card which should give me 3g speeds , if not 3g at least EDGE Speed. But the only thing i get is the E-sign with 2 arrows which is friggin slow.
As far as i know t-mobile's 2g & 3g frequencies should be the same as in Europe.
So my question: Is my phone the problem or is it just that the 2g/3g coverage in San Diego is so bad ?
thx in advance

USA uses different bands from the rest of the world because, well, idk
North America:
GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz
CDMA: Band Class: 0/1/10
WCDMA: Bands: 1/2/4/5/6/8/19
LTE: Bands: 1/2/4/5/17/19/25/26/41

Rest of World:
GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz
WCDMA: Bands: 1/2/4/5/6/8
LTE: Bands: 1/3/5/7/8/20
This might be the case here, i don't think its carriers fault but idk really.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes