FORUMS

Samsung Galaxy Alpha (SM-G850) Gets Android 5.0

An Android 5.0 Lollipop update is finally available to download for the Samsung Galaxy … more

Do You Use 4:3 or 16:9 in the Camera App?

Every person has their own method of taking the best photos on their devices, but which aspect … more

LG G4 XDA Forum Opened

LG’s latest & greatest is just a few hours away from launching, and with so many power users that are … more

Android Wear Close to Running on Samsung Gear 2

Android is an OS that can sometimes be ported to run on devices not designed to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] "4G" in the notification bar!?

29th February 2012, 10:53 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi Guys,

I have been travelling into London working the past couple of weeks and noticed that on certain parts of journeys on hammersmith and city line my S2(GT-I9100) switches from "H" to "4G" and back again.

I had noticed quicker downloading of browser pages at around the same time...

What does the 4G really mean? Surely the i9100 is only hspa/3g?

Using Modaco GR8 rom and Siyah 2.6.4+ kernel, baseband version I9100XXLPH.
 
 
29th February 2012, 11:19 AM |#2  
so_ony's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 416
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andyred

Hi Guys,

I have been travelling into London working the past couple of weeks and noticed that on certain parts of journeys on hammersmith and city line my S2(GT-I9100) switches from "H" to "4G" and back again.

I had noticed quicker downloading of browser pages at around the same time...

What does the 4G really mean? Surely the i9100 is only hspa/3g?

Using Modaco GR8 rom and Siyah 2.6.4+ kernel, baseband version I9100XXLPH.

read it out here
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/4G

Quote:

In telecommunications, 4G is the fourth generation of cellular wireless standards. It is a successor of the 3G and 2G families of standards. In 2009, the ITU-R organization specified the IMT-Advanced (International Mobile Telecommunications Advanced) requirements for 4G standards, setting peak speed requirements for 4G service at 100 Mbit/s for high mobility communication (such as from trains and cars) and 1 Gbit/s for low mobility communication (such as pedestrians and stationary users).[1]

29th February 2012, 11:49 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks for the link, I was aware of what 4G is, and I know that O2 are trialling a 4G network in London, I guess I wasn't specific enough...

Is the i9100 really capable of 4g speeds or do we just get the benefit of the wider bandwidth generally available in a 4G environment?
29th February 2012, 12:54 PM |#4  
runedrune's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lahore
Thanks Meter: 2,296
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andyred

Thanks for the link, I was aware of what 4G is, and I know that O2 are trialling a 4G network in London, I guess I wasn't specific enough...

Is the i9100 really capable of 4g speeds or do we just get the benefit of the wider bandwidth generally available in a 4G environment?

You sure you have an i9100? No it isn't 4G capable.
29th February 2012, 01:08 PM |#5  
marcadam's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 135
 
More
Don't confuse 4G with LTE, three is currently trailing 4G in parts of London and yes the SGS2 is compatible.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to marcadam For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th March 2012, 02:35 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I9100 is not capable 4G.

view http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_i910..._s_ii-3621.php

---------- Post added at 02:35 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:31 AM ----------

I9100 supports HSDPA and HSUPA, it would be as 3.5G.

see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/4G
4th March 2012, 11:26 AM |#7  
Rizur's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nottingham, UK.
Thanks Meter: 215
 
More
http://www.guardian.co.uk/business/2...rial-in-london I would call your provider and say you are mega interested in finding out what the deal is :)

Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda premium
6th March 2012, 11:19 AM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
So it looks like it was HSDPA and more available bandwidth that caused it to feel faster.

Thanks everyone.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
you should not own a smart phone
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes