Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,053 Members 46,116 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

No 4G on non-stock roms

Tip us?
 
fukanigaup
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 33
Join Date: Nov 2011
Default No 4G on non-stock roms

I have a GT- i9100 with a 4G plan (HSPA+). The problem is that I cannot get it to work on any non-stock rom. I have tried at least six stock roms and it has worked on each one. But whether aosp/aokp/miui, I can not use my data connection for internet. I have manually entered and double checked apn settings many times. I have enabled hsdpa etc under Galaxy/ Advanced settings and restarted many times. I have tried numerous modems to no avail. My phone is rooted but not unlocked. I am not sure if that is relevant. Help would be greatly appreciated.
 
Jokesy
Old
#2  
Jokesy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1147
Posts: 3,388
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lagos
Quote:
Originally Posted by fukanigaup View Post
I have a GT- i9100 with a 4G plan (HSPA+). The problem is that I cannot get it to work on any non-stock rom. I have tried at least six stock roms and it has worked on each one. But whether aosp/aokp/miui, I can not use my data connection for internet. I have manually entered and double checked apn settings many times. I have enabled hsdpa etc under Galaxy/ Advanced settings and restarted many times. I have tried numerous modems to no avail. My phone is rooted but not unlocked. I am not sure if that is relevant. Help would be greatly appreciated.
dial *#*#4636*#*# to enter device mode.
Change your radio to LTE.
Tell me if it works


Swyped from my Samsung Galaxy SII





I will no longer be as active as before on XDA. So please don't send me any PM. Thanks
 
fukanigaup
Old
(Last edited by fukanigaup; 18th August 2012 at 11:14 PM.)
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 33
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jokesy View Post
dial *#*#4636*#*# to enter device mode.
Change your radio to LTE.
Tell me if it works


Swyped from my Samsung Galaxy SII
Tried to enter four times. Every time got the following message
"Connection problem or invalid MMI code."
 
oinkylicious
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 713
Posts: 1,847
Join Date: May 2011
HSPA+ isn't 4G.
 
fukanigaup
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 33
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by oinkylicious View Post
HSPA+ isn't 4G.
This is not a HSPA+ vs LTE debate. I am just trying to get my data connection working on non samsung roms.
 
Jokesy
Old
(Last edited by Jokesy; 18th August 2012 at 11:56 PM.)
#6  
Jokesy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1147
Posts: 3,388
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lagos
Quote:
Originally Posted by fukanigaup View Post
Tried to enter four times. Every time got the following message
"Connection problem or invalid MMI code."
Sorry, I made mistake while typing the code the other time.
-Dial *#*#4636#*#*
-open phone information
-set radio to the band of your choice.

Good luck

Swyped from my Samsung Galaxy SII





I will no longer be as active as before on XDA. So please don't send me any PM. Thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to Jokesy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fukanigaup
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 33
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jokesy View Post
Sorry, I made mistake while typing the code the other time.
-Dial *#*#4636#*#*
-open phone information
-set radio to the band of your choice.

Good luck

Swyped from my Samsung Galaxy SII
Tried different bands to no avail. most just reverted to default of WCDMA preferred
 
boki9999
Old
#8  
boki9999's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 490
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Zagreb
I'm also interested on activating H+ on non-stock roms. I really hope you'll find a solution.

Sent from my Galaxy S2 GT i9100
 
fukanigaup
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 33
Join Date: Nov 2011
I am hopeful.
 
Jokesy
Old
#10  
Jokesy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1147
Posts: 3,388
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lagos
Quote:
Originally Posted by fukanigaup View Post
I am hopeful.
Let me know if you have solved for problem or not.


Swyped from my Samsung Galaxy SII





I will no longer be as active as before on XDA. So please don't send me any PM. Thanks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Blast Those Flags with Knock the Flags

Lately, we have seen a rather drastic shift in the world of mobile device gaming. The infamous Angry … more

Hide Numbers on Your SMS and Call Logs with Reflection

How many times have you given your device to someone else in order to show them a … more

Implement Split View in Your LG G2 KitKat Rom with Automated Installer

Some of you may have remembered a story on the Portal a few weeks back … more