Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Accessing internal memory.

OP Xtri

25th March 2014, 10:39 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
I have a loop error problem with my Galaxy S2.

I need to access the internal memory because I have some pictures there I really want to save (no SD card on it).

I cannot get the phone into safe mode, I think I've tried about every way (Volume down after power up, menu after powerup, home after powerup ect)

I also cannot access the phone through Kies, it just stands on connecting 24/7. It would probably be possible if I could access the settings menu on the phone but it's impossible, no way to get through the loop errors.

So.. I am wonder if there is any way I can get access to the internal memory? I don't really care if I brick the phone aslong as I can get access to the pictures.
25th March 2014, 11:03 PM   |  #2  
keithross39's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxford
Thanks Meter: 1,209
 
1,995 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
If you can enter recovery (power, vol up and home key combo) you can go to "mounts and storage" and you should see something like this....
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1395781215571.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	148.8 KB
ID:	2649957
If you do, select
"mount /storage/sdcard0"
and then connect your phone to your PC via USB cable......you should be able to access those files you want.....

Sent from my Markox powered KitKatted S2
25th March 2014, 11:10 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by keithross39

If you can enter recovery (power, vol up and home key combo) you can go to "mounts and storage" and you should see something like this....
Attachment 2649957
If you do, select
"mount /storage/sdcard0"
and then connect your phone to your PC via USB cable......you should be able to access those files you want.....

Sent from my Markox powered KitKatted S2

I managed to get into safe mode now still errors come up, so that's a no go.

I can get into recovery but it's stock rom/everything and I only have the 4 normal options:

reboot system now
apply update from sdcard
wipe data/factory reset
wipe cache partition
25th March 2014, 11:16 PM   |  #4  
keithross39's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxford
Thanks Meter: 1,209
 
1,995 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Try to flash a custom kernel (it will have CWM included)....
Once you have that, you can enter CWM and try what I originally suggested......if you are running JB, PhilZ kernels are a good choice as you can use your existing recovery to flash them.......

Sent from my Markox powered KitKatted S2
25th March 2014, 11:20 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by keithross39

Try to flash a custom kernel (it will have CWM included)....
Once you have that, you can enter CWM and try what I originally suggested......if you are running JB, PhilZ kernels are a good choice as you can use your existing recovery to flash them.......

Sent from my Markox powered KitKatted S2

Everything is stock, don't I need to wipe the whole phone to flash to CWM?
25th March 2014, 11:38 PM   |  #6  
keithross39's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxford
Thanks Meter: 1,209
 
1,995 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
No.....that is why I suggested PhilZ.....his kernels are stock kernels with added root and CWM......
But most of the kernels he has modified are JB kernels.....though there are a *few* ICS........

Sent from my Markox powered KitKatted S2
25th March 2014, 11:39 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by keithross39

No.....that is why I suggested PhilZ.....his kernels are stock kernels with added root and CWM......
But most of the kernels he has modified are JB kernels.....though there are a *few* ICS........

Sent from my Markox powered KitKatted S2

Mind giving me a quick guide and maybe a link how to get it together quick with PhilZ? Would really appriciate it, I've been sitting here for hours like a retard trying to find a solution.
25th March 2014, 11:41 PM   |  #8  
keithross39's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxford
Thanks Meter: 1,209
 
1,995 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Here is the link to the thread......
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1877270

Sent from my Markox powered KitKatted S2

---------- Post added at 10:41 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:40 PM ----------

BTW..... What OS are you running
Gingerbread, Icecream Sandwich or Jellybean?

Sent from my Markox powered KitKatted S2
25th March 2014, 11:49 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by keithross39

Here is the link to the thread......
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1877270

Sent from my Markox powered KitKatted S2

---------- Post added at 10:41 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:40 PM ----------

BTW..... What OS are you running
Gingerbread, Icecream Sandwich or Jellybean?

Sent from my Markox powered KitKatted S2

No clue, It's not my phone.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2201860

Is that the same?
25th March 2014, 11:57 PM   |  #10  
keithross39's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxford
Thanks Meter: 1,209
 
1,995 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
The link you posted is for the main thread......there are "device specific" links that will redirect you back to the link I provided.......
And DON'T attempt to flash anything until you can find out what version of android the phone is running, and what "build" of the OS it is.......
If you can boot back into safe mode and get to "settings -- about device" all the info you need is there......

Sent from my Markox powered KitKatted S2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes